SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2449 (trench coat)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2582 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/05 2:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
Gattidog, I don't see any reason why you couldn't make this coat unlined. You would just have to finish the edges of the facings etc. But it would not be reversible. I don't think this is a good pattern if you want to take advantage of the two sides of your fabric. For true reversibility you need a garment with simple lines. This pattern is very complicated.
3/19/08 9:29 AM
Kay Y said...
Gattidog, I don't see any reason why you couldn't make this coat unlined. You would just have to finish the edges of the facings etc. But it would not be reversible. I don't think this is a good pattern if you want to take advantage of the two sides of your fabric. For true reversibility you need a garment with simple lines. This pattern is very complicated.
3/19/08 9:29 AM
gattidog said...
I have found a raincoat fabric that is reversible, and really needs to be made in a coat without a lining. How would this coat sew up without a lining? I should probably heed your warning about the microfiber fabric - This fabric is kind of stiff, I think, for easing, etc, even though it is woven. Thanks for your help!
3/18/08 10:01 AM
dreamdesigner said...
It sure looks like it turned out great! VERY nice job!
7/15/06 1:24 AM
angel from oz said...
After reading your review I am happy to attemp this project and thanks for your tips Angel
6/25/06 5:18 AM
Jan B. said...
Looks terrific! Enjoy all the compliments you'll get when you wear it. What a sense of accomplishment to finish it. That reminds me, I have a few pieces. . .
11/6/05 3:27 PM
beth5646 said...
A GREAT looking coat. It really does look fantastic in the picture. I appreciate you writing the review as I have been considering this pattern myself. You have convinced me to make it and not use moleskin......Beth
11/6/05 12:25 PM
Kay Y said...
Thanks everyone for your kind comments. I freely acknowledge being hard on myself! and also from experience I know that even the items that were once UFOs sometimes become wardrobe staples. To respond to some questions - I used a weft-insertion fusible interfacing and it seems to have fused just fine to the smooth inside surface of the microfibre. Time will tell if it delaminates. I sure hope not! As to lining, I used some fairly stiff polyester taffeta originally intended for neckties. Its beefiness helps support the coat so it was a good choice. Surprisingly, the buttonholes gave me no trouble at all. I used normal settings and no additional stabilizing was needed.
11/6/05 8:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very helpful and detailed review. Your trench coat looks great to me. I can see that it would take patience.
11/6/05 7:16 AM
valerie sews said...
Your coat is beautiful, in spite of being a trial to sew. I like your work.
11/6/05 5:43 AM
els said...
The trenchcoat looks beautiful, hope you soon will forget the troubles you had in making this coat and than just wear this one with joy.
11/6/05 5:32 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful coat, and the fabric looks great from here! Very nice job.
11/5/05 10:53 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I think it looks fantastic on you! By the time Spring comes you'll have forgotten how uncooperative the fabric was and will be able to enjoy it.
11/5/05 6:48 PM
luvzdogz said...
Wow! Looks gorgeous to me! The buttons choice really tops it off.
11/5/05 6:38 PM
drsue said...
Very impressive job!
11/5/05 6:01 PM
KarmenG said...
Kay - The coat looks wonderful. From the photo the sleeve caps look very nice. How was the microfiber with buttonholes? Any puckers? What did you use for interfacing? Did it fuse to the microfiber? I like your choice in buttons - a smashing success for a great classic look... but it sounds like you're very glad to move onto something else. Congrats!
11/5/05 5:36 PM
Re Becca said...
Love the coat! I know how easy it is to be hard on yourself, when I get too critical I just go retail shopping and feel much better about my skills. You could spend hundreds on this in a department store and not like it nearly as well. You will probably still be enjoying this years from now and forget about all the problems. BTW, what did you line it with?
11/5/05 5:28 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Congratulations on getting it finished!
11/5/05 5:20 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
The coat looks great. Thank you for the review and warnings for fabric and tips.
11/5/05 4:44 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I agree with the others; the photo looks very impressive. Thanks for all the details in the review!
11/5/05 4:39 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Well, you could have fooled me: I think it looks great. Congratulations on your endurance. I just wish you loved it. (Note to self: get rid of that black sueded microfiber that's been screaming COAT)
11/5/05 4:27 PM
RobynB said...
I admire your persistence in finishing this. It does look really good in the photo.
11/5/05 4:07 PM
stripquilter said...
Bravo! Lovely coat. Congratulatiions on completing this UFO also. A very hepful review. I've been looking at coat patterns but will stay away from this one with all its details. At this stage in my life, I'd prefer very easy and very fast to sew! ggg But as a former sewing instructor, I do greatly admire those who do otherwise! May you get much wear from your wonderful coat! Julia
11/5/05 3:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
The coat looks great despite the trouble you had dealing with uncooperative fabric. I do hope you'll get some wear out of because it is so attractive on you.
11/5/05 3:06 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Your results are impressive in the photo. I suspect you are being a little hard on yourself.
11/5/05 3:03 PM
Georgene said...
Well, it looks great in the photo! Too bad you had to invest all that time and topstitiching in a less than worthy fabric. Probably no one will notice but you. Better keep a lint roller in your purse for this one! Thanks for the pattern and fabric insights.
11/5/05 3:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Jalie 2456

photo
by: TaylorMade...

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now