SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4698 (Jackets)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1942 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 352
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 192 people
patterns reviewed: 351
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/05 11:46 PM
Last Updated:11/11/05 10:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Beautiful result, thanks for the review. I certainly think your DD should just love it! She's a very lucky girl!
11/9/05 0:07 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - very impressive.
11/9/05 0:09 AM
bunz said...
Love the way you combined the fabrics! Very slimming idea for some of us w a bit o' fluff!
11/9/05 3:19 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Love the jacket and the fabric combination. This sounds like a nice pattern to add to my stash...and I like the idea of the different pieces for different size cups. Please post the result of the fitting test. I'd be very interested. Thanks for a wonderful review.
11/9/05 5:19 AM
jlg said...
Very, very pretty.
11/9/05 5:27 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great jacket. I admire your innovations in dealing with a fabric shortage. Sure hope your DD likes it.
11/9/05 5:51 AM
PegL said...
Really pretty jacket! Your additions to the design are great! Your DD should be thrilled!
11/9/05 6:08 AM
Lisette said...
Stunning looking jacket! Your daughter will love it.
11/9/05 7:32 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lori, Great jacket! I love the constrast accents -- very stylish and unique.
11/9/05 7:42 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow, that is a fantastic jacket. I've seen the pattern before but never invisioned something like this! Great job. I might have to look into trying this one out.
11/9/05 8:01 AM
Patti B said...
What a beautiful jacket. Your solution to not enough fabric is perfect and adds a great design element. If your DD doesn't like it, send it to me for my DD! ;-)
11/9/05 8:27 AM
GwenV said...
Lovely jacket, and I really like the way the fringe shows against the contrasting fabric.
11/9/05 9:31 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very unique, pretty jacket. Much nicer than the pattern envelope picture.
11/9/05 9:44 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Wow - what can I say - this is just gorgeous. I appreciated the tip about the interfacing as I have some boucle I am hoping to sew.
11/9/05 10:22 AM
sew obsessed said...
Beautiful. I'm sure even the pickyest of DD's would love this. Do post the fit test. I also have this pattern that I bought because of the inclusion of cup sizes. I'm anxious to hear how the dd cup size worked out. Michelle
11/9/05 10:35 AM
AndSewOn said...
The black against the boucle is stunning. Necessity may have been the mother of invention, but what a terrific invention!
11/9/05 10:56 AM
Moxie said...
Very nice jacket. I like how you have used the two fabrics together. DD should be pleased.
11/9/05 11:10 AM
jemgirlca said...
I love this pattern, too and think your fabric combination looks fantastic!
11/9/05 12:53 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Very nice!
11/9/05 1:36 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh you made this a and interesting jacket! Your DD should love this -- very nice.
11/9/05 2:22 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous jacket Lori! I have always liked this pattern but I had no idea it came with separate cup-sizes. I'll have to get it now. Thanks for the review.
11/9/05 5:50 PM
gorgeous said...
Your Dd will love it - mine did! I made it out of a light green linen (in July). I agree, the option of cup sizes was a time saver. I have it cut out/interfaced in a boucle for the colder weather. Your combination of the two fabrics is a great idea.
11/9/05 6:36 PM
PixieCat said...
Lovely jacket! The contrast collar is sharp!
11/10/05 4:49 AM
ryan's mom said...
Awesome-looking jacket and I love that fringe detail. I'm making this jacket too in the SNF class and think those different cup-size fronts are fantastic.
11/10/05 5:24 AM
Michelle T said...
I have avoided Simplicity patterns for years. I did not like the fit, found the sizing for children to be way off and generally was unhappy with the results I got from them. However after seeing your review and learning that they now have bust cup sizing I will pick this one up to try. The jacket you made for your dd is wonderful I am sure she will love it.
11/11/05 9:53 AM
mm said...
This is a cut above usual student wear. Lucky daughter.
11/11/05 10:57 PM
potter said...
What a gem! Your use of both fabrics gives a very attractive result. Great review. TFS!
11/12/05 6:17 AM
Peggy L said...
Judging from all the reviews, this pattern must be a winner. I love your fabric combo - what a great idea. Lucky DD - sounds like it passed the DD test!!! Congratulations!
11/12/05 8:52 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful jacket - will definitely check out Simplicity's patterns that have the bust adjustments. Great job and I know dd will just love it!
11/12/05 1:07 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for sharing your version of this incredible and gorgeous jacket! Thank you for a wonderful review. Quick question- did you base the sizing off of the high bust or the full bust? I am hoping for this to become my next project.
11/12/05 2:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like what you did with this jacket and the fabric. Nice idea for me to copy.I am finishing my second jacket from this pattern. I really like the pattern. I know you will love a jacket for yourself.
11/13/05 6:22 AM
Diane E said...
Lori, this is just beautiful!! Lucky for me I have this pattern, and you have pushed me enough to make it. I am so inspired! Lucky dd!
11/13/05 7:29 PM
yarnivore said...
You did a very stylish job piecing those two fabrics -- I love the result! The bust cup sizing in such a fitted jacket sounds like a great idea.
11/16/05 2:46 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love that pattern and I love your treatment of it! Deborah at Simplicity told us on our tour that they are coming out with more cup-sized patterns in the next catalogues. I can't wait! -Ann
11/16/05 2:55 PM
cboots said...
Just beautiful! Although the shape of the jacket is already really flattering, the two fabrics make it so much more interesting. She must love it.
11/16/05 10:28 PM
patsijean said...
If you had not told us that the two-color styling of the jacket was out of necessity, I would never have guessed. The effect is stylish and looks planned. Don't tell anyone else.
1/25/06 1:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Colette Patterns Pastille

photo
by: House of P...

Review
McCall's 6611

photo
by: Hills98

Review
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now