SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 4000 (Swing Dress (as a top))

5 more reviews
Viewed 1738 times 
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/05 3:40 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slanden99 said...
Looks like the dress could use another 6 inches at the bottom. The shirt was a good idea. They look great. Once you solve the size issue it will be even better.
11/9/05 4:20 PM
sherri2sew said...
Your persistence is admirable. And you did get a good result. Also, that blue is a great color for you.
11/9/05 5:55 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Irene, this is a fabulously flattering top for you! All your trial-and-error was worth it.
11/9/05 6:08 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Thanks for the detailed review!! I picked this up from Peggy in Toronto and have some stash fabric in mind for it. The sizing info is much appreciated! I will have to think hard about what size to cut first ... I liked her knit top, so I hope this dress turns out as well. I have to try this one soon ... I have some black slinky that would be just right for this for a dance coming up with the hubby!
11/9/05 6:12 PM
Liana said...
Great review! Your final version looks great, and the first two are very wearable, and as you say, probably better than most RTW anyway. We only expect perfection, that's all....Great job!
11/9/05 7:04 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this very informative review! I love seeing all the "iterations" of the pattern & the definite improvements as you progressed. I agree that they're all wearable, & the last version is just great!
11/9/05 7:12 PM
bunz said...
Great color, and you've really got the fitting thing down! I'm envious :-)
11/9/05 8:17 PM
Liane M said...
Very nice tops. All three look great on you. Thanks for the very detailed review.
11/9/05 8:31 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Go figure about the dress length - yours v. the pattern photo (short model?) -- but you do have nice legs! :) Good review!
11/9/05 9:54 PM
whit said...
Irene, would that I had the patience with woodworking that you do with pattern fitting. And the ability to determine what needs to be changed to make it happen. Nice job!
11/9/05 11:05 PM
Eli said...
This is a Very good fit on you and the color is sooo gorgeous on you!
11/9/05 11:58 PM
PixieCat said...
I love it! Your final version looks so flattering and the color is lovely.
11/10/05 5:03 AM
Julie Culshaw said...
Thanks for the detailed review. This is a pattern I have been wondering about, and the neckline worried me. It looks rather wide on the pattern cover, but it doesn't look like that on you. Very nice fit, I am going to have to try this pattern now myself. Thanks, Julie
11/10/05 7:47 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very helpful review. You were bound and determined with this pattern. Glad you got the right fit. Like you, I am not a fan of selecting by finished size. Sometimes those finished sizes are not what I want in the first place.
11/13/05 6:34 AM
Mufffet said...
Lovely top! I like the white one too. Your fitting was excellent. As usual, great review.
11/1/06 10:22 AM
CaroleM said...
Best review yet.
4/27/07 11:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now