Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 4000 (Swing Dress (as a top)) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1710 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/05 3:40 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slanden99 said...
Looks like the dress could use another 6 inches at the bottom. The shirt was a good idea. They look great. Once you solve the size issue it will be even better.
11/9/05 4:20 PM
sherri2sew said...
Your persistence is admirable. And you did get a good result. Also, that blue is a great color for you.
11/9/05 5:55 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Irene, this is a fabulously flattering top for you! All your trial-and-error was worth it.
11/9/05 6:08 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Thanks for the detailed review!! I picked this up from Peggy in Toronto and have some stash fabric in mind for it. The sizing info is much appreciated! I will have to think hard about what size to cut first ... I liked her knit top, so I hope this dress turns out as well. I have to try this one soon ... I have some black slinky that would be just right for this for a dance coming up with the hubby!
11/9/05 6:12 PM
Liana said...
Great review! Your final version looks great, and the first two are very wearable, and as you say, probably better than most RTW anyway. We only expect perfection, that's all....Great job!
11/9/05 7:04 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this very informative review! I love seeing all the "iterations" of the pattern & the definite improvements as you progressed. I agree that they're all wearable, & the last version is just great!
11/9/05 7:12 PM
bunz said...
Great color, and you've really got the fitting thing down! I'm envious :-)
11/9/05 8:17 PM
Liane M said...
Very nice tops. All three look great on you. Thanks for the very detailed review.
11/9/05 8:31 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Go figure about the dress length - yours v. the pattern photo (short model?) -- but you do have nice legs! :) Good review!
11/9/05 9:54 PM
whit said...
Irene, would that I had the patience with woodworking that you do with pattern fitting. And the ability to determine what needs to be changed to make it happen. Nice job!
11/9/05 11:05 PM
Eli said...
This is a Very good fit on you and the color is sooo gorgeous on you!
11/9/05 11:58 PM
PixieCat said...
I love it! Your final version looks so flattering and the color is lovely.
11/10/05 5:03 AM
Julie Culshaw said...
Thanks for the detailed review. This is a pattern I have been wondering about, and the neckline worried me. It looks rather wide on the pattern cover, but it doesn't look like that on you. Very nice fit, I am going to have to try this pattern now myself. Thanks, Julie
11/10/05 7:47 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very helpful review. You were bound and determined with this pattern. Glad you got the right fit. Like you, I am not a fan of selecting by finished size. Sometimes those finished sizes are not what I want in the first place.
11/13/05 6:34 AM
Mufffet said...
Lovely top! I like the white one too. Your fitting was excellent. As usual, great review.
11/1/06 10:22 AM
CaroleM said...
Best review yet.
4/27/07 11:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Butterick 4077
photo
Review by AquariJenn on 5/31/09
Read Review

New Look 6013 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6013 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8790 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8790 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-135 Bow Shirt
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 2/7/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us