SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 3198 (Skirt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 2140 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews: 192 (patterns: 181)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 286 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/05 12:08 PM
Last Updated:6/5/06 9:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KarmenG said... (6/6/06 9:05 AM) Reply
I agree with Irina - this will fly out the door because of your encouragement and tips. I love this new look. Thanks for all the info!
wvsher said... (6/6/06 8:54 AM) Reply
Lovely skirt. It's so nice to find a pattern that becomes a wardrobe staple.
AndreaP said... (6/5/06 11:41 PM) Reply
What a wonderful skirt! I love the lining concept - can't wait to use it.
Levone said... (6/5/06 10:33 PM) Reply
Your latest version is very cute! I've had this pattern for a while now, but never thought of really using it. Thanks for reviewing it.
CarolynGM said... (6/5/06 9:45 PM) Reply
This pattern will go flying out of the drawers of fabric stores everywhere after your update. Your latest version is sheer perfection in fit and line.
Lorna C. Newman said... (12/12/05 11:26 AM) Reply
Kay, I have signed up for this class in the New Year, he is still using the same pattern, thanks for the review, because I was not happy with the idea of using this pattern due to the length options!
Karla Kizer said... (11/14/05 7:16 PM) Reply
I wonder if placing the darts close to the side seam helps eliminate the puffiness over the tummy that too many skirts have. V-e-r-y interesting....Your version looks perfect - so much better than the catalog picture that I have rejected numerous times. Burda should use your picture instead.
Lee Ann Hawkins said... (11/14/05 7:04 PM) Reply
Nice review! I wear my simplist skirts like this over and over--
hongkongshopper said... (11/12/05 5:40 PM) Reply
What a great basic pattern. Perfect for the office. Thanks for letting us know about the instructions.
KarmenG said... (11/11/05 10:28 PM) Reply
Nice skirt and good review Kay
slanden99 said... (11/11/05 6:51 PM) Reply
Mcalls 4900 is very similar to this skirt. The darts are in normal places and the lengths give are normal. It's one of the 1.99 McCall easy patterns. This is a great looking skirt too.
Mary Stiefer said... (11/11/05 4:56 PM) Reply
Your skirt fits perfectly. What a nice additional to your wardrobe.
Liana said... (11/11/05 2:04 PM) Reply
Great skirt, and as you say, what a rotten picture they have on it. My favorite Burda pants pattern has the darts quite widely set, but they hit right about at the inner edge of my hip bones, and the fit is great. Maybe that's why. Thanks for the review and the heads up on this pattern. You look great!
Kay Y said... (11/11/05 1:53 PM) Reply
Yes Irina - the front darts are quite close to the side seams. It looked odd but it works fine.
CarolynGM said... (11/11/05 1:18 PM) Reply
Great skirt and I never would have noticed this pattern without your review. Are the front darts as close to the side seams as they look in the picture? I used a Burda skirt pattern once that placed the darts much closer to the side seams than I was used to, and it turned out very well.
bunz said... (11/11/05 1:12 PM) Reply
Looks like you got a great fit. Thanks for bringing this pattern to our attention.
Gerri sews said... (11/11/05 12:53 PM) Reply
Wow! Your skirt looks much better than the pattern photo does. You're right, I would never have given this skirt a second glance, but it turned out great. Thanks for the review.
GwenV said... (11/11/05 12:43 PM) Reply
Good review, with helpful information. The length you chose is really nice on this skirt, and your fit looks fabulous. I can see where you would get a lot of use out of this pattern.
Pam Z said... (11/11/05 12:38 PM) Reply
Thanks for taking the time to review this skirt pattern, Kay. It's a great simple skirt in the knee length version you've made. Looks like you got a great fit too.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

StyleArc Twiggy Dress

photo
by: Nicola1968

Review
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details