SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 3198 (Skirt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 2136 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/05 12:08 PM
Last Updated:6/5/06 9:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
Thanks for taking the time to review this skirt pattern, Kay. It's a great simple skirt in the knee length version you've made. Looks like you got a great fit too.
11/11/05 12:38 PM
GwenV said...
Good review, with helpful information. The length you chose is really nice on this skirt, and your fit looks fabulous. I can see where you would get a lot of use out of this pattern.
11/11/05 12:43 PM
Gerri sews said...
Wow! Your skirt looks much better than the pattern photo does. You're right, I would never have given this skirt a second glance, but it turned out great. Thanks for the review.
11/11/05 12:53 PM
bunz said...
Looks like you got a great fit. Thanks for bringing this pattern to our attention.
11/11/05 1:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great skirt and I never would have noticed this pattern without your review. Are the front darts as close to the side seams as they look in the picture? I used a Burda skirt pattern once that placed the darts much closer to the side seams than I was used to, and it turned out very well.
11/11/05 1:18 PM
Kay Y said...
Yes Irina - the front darts are quite close to the side seams. It looked odd but it works fine.
11/11/05 1:53 PM
Liana said...
Great skirt, and as you say, what a rotten picture they have on it. My favorite Burda pants pattern has the darts quite widely set, but they hit right about at the inner edge of my hip bones, and the fit is great. Maybe that's why. Thanks for the review and the heads up on this pattern. You look great!
11/11/05 2:04 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your skirt fits perfectly. What a nice additional to your wardrobe.
11/11/05 4:56 PM
slanden99 said...
Mcalls 4900 is very similar to this skirt. The darts are in normal places and the lengths give are normal. It's one of the 1.99 McCall easy patterns. This is a great looking skirt too.
11/11/05 6:51 PM
KarmenG said...
Nice skirt and good review Kay
11/11/05 10:28 PM
hongkongshopper said...
What a great basic pattern. Perfect for the office. Thanks for letting us know about the instructions.
11/12/05 5:40 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Nice review! I wear my simplist skirts like this over and over--
11/14/05 7:04 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I wonder if placing the darts close to the side seam helps eliminate the puffiness over the tummy that too many skirts have. V-e-r-y interesting....Your version looks perfect - so much better than the catalog picture that I have rejected numerous times. Burda should use your picture instead.
11/14/05 7:16 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Kay, I have signed up for this class in the New Year, he is still using the same pattern, thanks for the review, because I was not happy with the idea of using this pattern due to the length options!
12/12/05 11:26 AM
CarolynGM said...
This pattern will go flying out of the drawers of fabric stores everywhere after your update. Your latest version is sheer perfection in fit and line.
6/5/06 9:45 PM
Levone said...
Your latest version is very cute! I've had this pattern for a while now, but never thought of really using it. Thanks for reviewing it.
6/5/06 10:33 PM
AndreaP said...
What a wonderful skirt! I love the lining concept - can't wait to use it.
6/5/06 11:41 PM
wvsher said...
Lovely skirt. It's so nice to find a pattern that becomes a wardrobe staple.
6/6/06 8:54 AM
KarmenG said...
I agree with Irina - this will fly out the door because of your encouragement and tips. I love this new look. Thanks for all the info!
6/6/06 9:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 5581

photo
by: 3strouble

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now