SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3027(closest to) (Misses Shirts OOP(3067))

Viewed 1497 times 
Reviewed by:Carol Wisman
photo

 
 
About Carol Wismanstar
WA USA
Member since: 8/9/02
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/05 10:02 PM
Last Updated:2/14/14 8:37 PM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Carol Wisman

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
  • Tip: Press as you go
  • Current Tags What is a Tag:
    Fabric:Shirting - Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
    Update 2/14/14 Made from a mystery fabric bought for a song in Mexico. I could be a stretch linen. Anyway its more of a winter/fall weight. Made regular cuffs instead of frenchies.

    (Click on the lavender shirt above to see the red one)

    I also finally gave up on the " turn under a 1/4" and topstitch" for the collar band and front tab. Instead I opted to fell stitch these in place, then top stitch. I turns out much better, IMHO. Click here


    Pattern Description: Misses Shirts Designed for light to Med. Weight woven fabrics. 3067 is OOP,. MIsses semi fitted shirts with front panel seams and darts on back. Front tabs, double yoke, collar with collar stand, shaped hemline, and full length sleeves with fold up cuffs. View A has self fabric ruffles on upper front. View B has tucked upper front. View C has upper front trimmed with lace.
    Pattern Sizing:XS toXL, I used M

    Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes, except for my ommissions.

    Were the instructions easy to follow?Yes, and the drawings are very helpfull also. They also point out which pattern piece to use. i.e "the piece w/o interfacing"

    What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?Clean finishes, fits great out of the enevelope, nice shaping.

    Fabric Used:Cotton shirting from Gorgeous Fabrics, which I absoulty love. Since its now fall, I'll have to put this in the "resort wear" department until spring.
    Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I wanted a classic button up shirt w/ a little flair. My ispiration came from a shop window in downtown Seattle. Then there was an article about the shirt creator in the PI a year or so ago... http://seattlepi.nwsource.com/lifestyle/189945_shirts.html
    (Sorry, can't get it to link, but you can cut and paste)
    The how to fake it part is what caught my eye. Any way, I deleted the front ruffles/pleats, and morphed the 3 front sections into one piece. Added a front waist dart. The closest current pattern in KS also has a bust dart, which would make the shape even nicer.Hemmed AFTER sewing side/arm seam for a clean finish.
    This pattern has great garment design, covered s/a's in the yoke and cuffs. A smaller under collar, collar stand, turn back cuffs,
    Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes! I have made a classis white, black and a light blue wearable muslin.

    ConclusionVery similar in details to 3027, except for ruffles. I will probably wear this with the collar up, (which will remind me to use care in figuring out the inside and outside of the collar when attaching my "Carol Anne" tags. I made a "foe pa" and its on the outside
    << Previous      Next >>
    16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
    Mufffet said...
    Beautiful! Lovely fabric and color an looks so well made!
    11/13/05 11:03 PM
    Lori Sews said...
    Beautiful! Color, fabric, cuffs, collar--all gorgeous!
    11/13/05 11:16 PM
    eleda said...
    Great review and beautiful blouse.
    11/14/05 7:39 AM
    PVA said...
    This is a beautiful shirt, thanks for the review. I appreciate the "slide show" & am very impressed with the result of your working with this pattern.
    11/14/05 9:59 AM
    Elemenopeo said...
    So pretty.
    11/14/05 1:02 PM
    Levone said...
    Very nice shirt. I like your muslin version also. Did you have your tags custom made or embroider them yourself?
    11/14/05 7:15 PM
    Carol Wisman said...
    Thanks for nice your comments , I ordered the tags, usually you can find an order form at your LIFS :)
    11/14/05 8:31 PM
    Charlene McGill said...
    Nice blouse and beautiful color.
    10/8/08 3:09 PM
    Miss Fairchild said...
    Beautiful shirt. Great choice of fabric. I love how you "faked it".
    10/8/08 3:10 PM
    moushka said...
    Gorgeous! What a professional job you did. Great review.
    10/8/08 3:51 PM
    sewtime said...
    Beautiful top. Love the color and style.
    10/8/08 4:06 PM
    Tiner W said...
    What a beautiful shirt!
    10/8/08 4:09 PM
    Annette1 said...
    BEAUTIFUL blouse! Such a CLASSIC, and a lovely shade of lavender. :o)
    10/8/08 5:41 PM
    Lori V said...
    What a beautiful blouse.
    10/8/08 7:32 PM
    lilyofthevalley said...
    Crisp, pristine, and classic shirt. It looks flawless, indeed. And an excellent review, as always. Thanks for sharing this, Carol. Lovely, Lily
    10/8/08 8:50 PM
    Nana27 said...
    pretty blouse
    2/15/14 7:52 AM
     
    adv. search»
    pattern | machine | member
            
    Fit the Tee to a T
    Fit the Tee to a T

    Register

    Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
    Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

    Register

    McCall's 6503

    photo
    by: LBH2010

    Review
    Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

    Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

    Buy Now
    SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

    SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

    Buy Now
    Other That Darn Kat

    photo
    by: wenznz

    Review