SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> Blouses Skirts and Pants (Split Top)

Viewed 1823 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 292 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:19 AM
Last Updated:11/20/05 8:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
58 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love it! This outfit is even more stunning in person than it is in the photograph! -Ann
11/20/05 8:47 AM
els said...
You and your new top with the matching skirt look gorgeous.
11/20/05 8:58 AM
Sew it seams said...
Wow!!! You look FABULOUS in that outfit Deepika! The fabric and the fit are both perfect. I love it!
11/20/05 8:59 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Wow - you look like a movie star; very glam!
11/20/05 9:02 AM
Peggy L said...
That is gorgeous on you!!! What a great top!
11/20/05 9:08 AM
Sherril Miller said...
It looks like you turned the top into a dress with that matching skirt. I'm sure you could find some sleeves to add for a warmer winter outfit. You look adorable in it. I wish I could have seen it in person.
11/20/05 9:27 AM
Tailypo said...
Deepika, this is a beautiful outfit! It has been really fun watching your sewing progress over the years here on PR, and inspiring to see the results that you have gotten from your devotion to sewing -- while developing and maintaining this site, too -- brava!
11/20/05 9:29 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
I like the rhinestone zipper idea. That's a hot idea and would your make your top a conversation piece. Now exactly what issue of Burda Magazines is this?
11/20/05 9:32 AM
Patti B said...
Soooo gorgeous! Very helpful review too. So many of Burda's tops are a bit more va-va-voom than necessary; glad this was easily altered to cover the lingerie.
11/20/05 9:33 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
This top and matching skirt was especially bee-oooooo--tee-ful in person. Tres sexy.
11/20/05 9:34 AM
Leora said...
What a beautiful top! The details are interesting and it fits perfectly. A gorgeous fall outfit!
11/20/05 9:46 AM
sewlily said...
You look wonderful. I love both the skirt and the top. Such a perfect match.
11/20/05 9:52 AM
PVA said...
Ohmygosh, Deepika, You've really hit a homerun with this outfit! It is beautiful! & that color on you is smashing! Thanks so much for the review!
11/20/05 9:53 AM
bunz said...
Wow! This is so great on you! Glad you had a chance to sew something :-) Do you mean the stitching you changed is 3" above and below the slit?
11/20/05 9:56 AM
ClaireC said...
We saw this outfit Friday night at PR Weekend and it is stunning and perfect for Deepika. Thank you for reviewing.
11/20/05 9:57 AM
Diane E said...
Beyond stunning! I love it! Thanks for all the detail in your review.
11/20/05 10:20 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking pattern. I love the split in the top- it really makes it extra special.
11/20/05 10:29 AM
Maychi said...
Wow, Deepika, you look stunning! I love your whole outfit!
11/20/05 10:33 AM
drsue said...
OuuLaLa! So nice on you! Must have been great meeting Tini in person too.
11/20/05 10:33 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Fantastic outfit - it looks great on you. I also love the skirt. Thanks for the review, I'm usually afraid to work with knits - I just might have to try this one.
11/20/05 10:35 AM
Pam Z said...
WOW! You look lovely in your new outfit. Very flattering haircut too!
11/20/05 10:44 AM
Evatgirl73 said...
Stunning outfit on you Deepika!!
11/20/05 11:24 AM
Elona said...
Dynamite! With long sleeves, as Sherrill suggested, in a black knit, this would be high-drama, 1940s film noir glamour.
11/20/05 11:52 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Very old Hollywood glam! I found the issue, it is the current issue of the Blouse, Skirt and Pant series, E853. It is out now apparently. aren't most of these patterns in regular WOF issues as well?
11/20/05 12:20 PM
mamacita said...
You have certainly tamed the knit beast (can't you tell ? I am still on the learning curve with the new knits!) This is a beautiful creation!
11/20/05 12:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very striking, sophisticated looking top. The style is just wonderful on you.
11/20/05 12:38 PM
gabrielle said...
Wow! I think this is your most gorgeous outfit yet. *Very* glamorous, and thanks for the reminder that knits don't have to be casual.
11/20/05 12:40 PM
Georgene said...
This outfit was truly great in person. I didn't realize that it was a last minute sort of 'uh oh I need something to wear' item.
11/20/05 12:53 PM
eleda said...
Wow! Just gorgeous.
11/20/05 1:18 PM
Tini said...
Wow, it came out great and looks so much better than in the drawing! I'm so glad, that I gave you the mag :) You look absolutly gorgeous. I love the skirt too!
11/20/05 1:39 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Absolutely wonderful!
11/20/05 2:12 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
For those who have back issues of WOF, this ensemble is in the Dec 04 issue.
11/20/05 2:31 PM
Lori Sews said...
Gorgeous!! You have a talent for picking out flattering fabric. This outfit is beautiful on you.
11/20/05 3:31 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely outfit. Looks great!
11/20/05 3:40 PM
Vonnevo said...
WOW !!! Just gorgeous and stunning Deepika.
11/20/05 4:15 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Here is an example of a modest outfit that is absolutely sexy and stunning. I love it.
11/20/05 4:15 PM
PhyllisC said...
Yo Deepika! This is outstanding work and a perfect marriage of fabric and design. Maybe in my next lifetime I can have a figure like yours.
11/20/05 4:37 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Love, love, love it! Truely a marvel on you and what a stupendous design.
11/20/05 4:49 PM
Deepika said...
Nina I meant on either side. Basically the way its constructed is that the top piece is sewn to the bottom (main body) piece and you stitch a little on both sides and leave the center open. Does that make sense? So I stitched a bit more than they recommended for some extra coverage. Stabilizing the seam allowances is also a must.

Lorna Thanks for pointing out that this pattern is in Dec 2004 Burda WOF.

Everyone thanks so much for your nice comments. The skirt in the photo is Kwik Sew 3032, another one of my favorites. Gabrielle Yes, thats how I feel, knit don't have to be casual and with such great quality knits available to us these days we can make evening outfits with them. They are just so much more easier to make and even more comfortable. The skirt is elastic waist so I had no problem gobbling down those yummy potato crouquettes.
11/20/05 7:24 PM
MarilynB said...
Deepika, you look terrific in this outfit. Having seen this in person at PR Weekend, it was even better in person and the fabric felt so wonderful.
11/20/05 7:36 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Your outfit is beautiful.
11/20/05 8:28 PM
sew obsessed said...
Just beautiful.
11/20/05 10:08 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Stunning! Gorgeous w/ that skirt.
11/20/05 11:38 PM
Janice C. said...
Deepika - that is such an amazing outfit. BTW the pattern is also in the December 2004 issue of Burda WOF - and I am so inspired by your outfit that I' m off to trace it right now ! I have a nice piece of Black jersey from Emmaonesock that will be perfect. Thanks again for the inspiration - and I really MUST learn to post photos !
11/21/05 4:49 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I thought that Deepika had cheated and worn RTW to the Friday dinner at PR Weekend. It's a great outfit, suitable for just about any gotta-look-chic event. Perfect.
11/21/05 5:26 AM
Nickle said...
Oh, that looks absoultely beautiful on you.
11/21/05 6:42 AM
fesnina said...
Sorry I missed the opportunity to see you model that in person. Looks great Deepika! What a great outfit - top and skirt are perfect for you.
11/21/05 5:29 PM
Dmd4106 said...
What a lovely outfit.! I'm sorry too I didn't get to see/meet you. I will be there next year!
11/21/05 11:59 PM
JDpenelope said...
I wonder how many people you have inspired to find this pattern. You've come a long way, baby!
11/22/05 3:21 AM
JDpenelope said...
I know you are terribly busy, but if you have time, can you post a photo of the magazine cover? I might have found a source for it online, but want to be sure I'm getting the right issue.
11/22/05 4:55 AM
Tipseysmum said...
I know you are terribly busy, but if you have time, can you post a photo of the magazine cover? I might have found a source for it online, but want to be sure I'm getting the right issue.
11/22/05 5:22 AM
Deepika said...
Cover of the magazine: Blouses Shirts and Trousers Fall 2005
11/22/05 6:45 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Deepika this was truly gorgeous on you! The design details, the color, everything.
11/22/05 8:09 AM
JDpenelope said...
Deepika, Thanks a lot !
11/22/05 9:03 AM
Hilary said...
Deepika, your top (the whole outfit really!) is *stunning*!! I hadn't read this review before looking at the PRwknd pics, and I kept wondering if you made this ensemble-you look GORGEOUS! Love the color on you too-thanks for the tips!
11/25/05 11:07 AM
Collette McManus said...
This looks absolutely FABULOUS on you! Great outfit!
12/1/05 4:13 PM
Collette McManus said...
This looks absolutely FABULOUS on you! Great dress!
12/1/05 4:17 PM
ChristineX said...
Beautiful top, beautiful skirt! Great outfit!
1/7/06 5:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Marfy 1883

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now