Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6379 (Misses' Gowns and Jacket) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1536 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Oziroo
photo
Friend of PR
About Oziroostar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/7/03
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/05 5:18 AM
Last Updated:11/22/05 5:35 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ceri590 said...
It looks lovely and all the hard work was worth it. I am sure you would have preferred an easier way, though (-: I don't think I commented on the dress at the original review, but love the style and want to make soemthing like that for my daughter. Have fun at the wedding and congratulations to you and your son!
11/22/05 6:28 AM
Geordie Girl said...
It looks fantastic. Looks really great with the dress. It sounds like you had a lot of trouble but it was certainly worth it in the end.
11/22/05 6:35 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Well despite your tribulations, your final jacket turned out beautifully! Lovely job! -Ann
11/22/05 7:09 AM
Cambric Tea said...
The whole outfit is beautiful..And I think I want this jacket even though you've warned against it. (; It's so feminine and floaty!
11/22/05 7:17 AM
SewVeryTall said...
This is a beautiful outfit, so feminine...I just love the georgette jacket!
11/22/05 7:53 AM
Frogstitcher said...
The dress and jacket are stunning. All your fitting adjustments and careful stitching paid off. You look lovely.
11/22/05 8:27 AM
Riordan said...
Your dress and jacket are lovely--perfect for the occasion! Wow!!!!!!
11/22/05 8:34 AM
Georgene said...
Perfect MOB ensemble. No one will know that you had a heck of a time with it, it looks airy and beautifully effortless.
11/22/05 8:55 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a lot of work, but beautiful result. I, too, am learning that hand sewing can actually be a time-saving way to sew better garments.
11/22/05 9:10 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your dress and jacket are just beautiful. Perfect for that special day.
11/22/05 9:21 AM
Lori Sews said...
The sequined fabric is so beautiful. Your ensemble looks gorgeous! You should be so proud.
11/22/05 9:55 AM
Elona said...
Wow, it came out beautifully! It looks terrific on you--very elegant. I love the colors.
11/22/05 10:13 AM
PVA said...
Beautiful result! Thanks so much for the review, the the whole ensemble is just perfect. Very elegant!
11/22/05 10:20 AM
CatherineN said...
This is so pretty! You got a good fit and the fabric is delightful. Hand sewing gives one lots of control.
11/22/05 10:44 AM
bunz said...
Turned out beautifully!! Enjoy the wedding.
11/22/05 12:29 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful ! Colours and fabric are perfect. Can we put Franke Stuart in Melbourne on our PR weekend shopping tour list ?
11/22/05 6:10 PM
Judy Williment said...
That is one beautiful outfit - you've done so well with such a challenging pattern!
11/22/05 6:19 PM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Lovely colour, style and beautifully sewn. Well done oziroo!
11/22/05 7:50 PM
KathleenS said...
Great outfit - it looks like it fits you so well (and the shoes are great as well).
11/23/05 3:09 AM
AnneM said...
That is lovely. Great look, wonderful fabric. It sounds like a do-able pattern now that we have your sizing warnings.
11/23/05 4:22 AM
LauraTS said...
I am thinking of making the sheer jacket to go over a formal dress, so your review was very helpful - thanks.
9/14/06 8:46 PM
SpitfireKate said...
Thank you for your sizing information. I'm planning on doing this for myself for my daughters wedding, and had I not read your warnings, I'd have just cut right in (jump in with both feet - why bother checking for sharks or anything else first, right?). Appreciate the info. You're outfit is lovely!!!!
11/19/06 10:02 PM
FlyNavyMom said...
Oh boy! Thanks for the review!!! I am also a standard size 8P. I looked at the measurements on the pattern and realize that I am also going to cut it out as a size 12 and go from there. Your end product is lovely and I'm going forward with my plans... only on a larger scale.
3/18/07 9:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-113
photo
Review by ManiMayor on 2/16/13
Read Review

Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6121 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6121 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-30 Long shorts
photo
Review by Sandi S on 1/25/09
Read Review

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us