Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2759 (Twin Set) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 3020 times 43 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 15 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 339
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 240
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/02 4:51 PM
Last Updated:10/17/03 9:22 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
very cute garment, Deepika. Great idea for the snaps and buttons
9/16/02 4:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, this turned out great! I even like it without the buttons.
9/16/02 5:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very nice Deepika!
9/16/02 5:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Looks great! It's fun to see all the different versions of this pattern. What is stay tape? What kind did you use? Thanks.
9/16/02 7:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
alex click here to read a review of the tapes I used.
9/16/02 7:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a classic look! You could wear this outfit anywhere. Nice job, Deepika.
9/16/02 8:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very nice job, I love this twinset!!
9/16/02 9:02 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That's a nice twinset! Everytime I see these twinsets reviewed, I want to get started on one... so many ideas, so little time! Thanks for the reminder to think ahead before starting... I'm so often in a rush to make something for myself or my family that I forget to think "DETAILS."
9/17/02 2:18 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I use clear elastic in the seams of unstable knits and it works great and things keep their shape. It's perfect in armholes where they want to stretch out of shape and keeps the armhole curve cupping your body. I use stay tape for shoulder seams on knits or any unstable fabric to keep that seam from growing or just adding extra support. It is a white nylon that you can sew or serge while you are making the seam and adds no bulk. I highly recommend this. I just bought this pattern after hearing everyone talk about it and one of my customers came in with it on in fabric from the shop and it looked wonderful. I think she wrote a review on this pattern as well. I think this will be one of the staples in my closet and I'm getting ready to go into production since I deperately need some new clothes. I've been busy with the making of quilting sample and need to play in the clothing field.
9/17/02 10:57 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Georgene said...
Deepika, I really like your new lace cardigan. How about a single button, really a "statement" button. Like a faceted jet button, or cut crystal, or enamel, something that brings it together at the front and is like a jewel. I like the red of your dress glowing thru underneath.
10/17/03 9:30 PM
Deepika said...
Actually Georgene that's why I left the buttons out in this one because I want to find something unique in NYC :)
10/17/03 9:31 PM
Joyfullife said...
I like the lace cardigan! I think it would look great over something black.
10/17/03 10:13 PM
Gina Marie said...
That is a wonderful color on you !! Love your lettuce edges, I wanna try that soon, myself !! The cardigan over the dress is so lux !! I am VERY motivated now !!
10/17/03 10:41 PM
JDpenelope said...
UN-believable! TDF! Your talents keep growing.
10/17/03 10:47 PM
jlg said...
Deepika, your cardigan is beautiful, and I think that your PJ's are very cute. Great entries for the contest.
10/18/03 5:39 AM
CarolynGM said...
Both incarnations are very striking! I really love that black cardigan -- did you use the stretch lace for the front edge binding or something else? All the great reviews of this pattern finally inspired me to buy it.
10/18/03 6:37 AM
Deepika said...
Irina, yes I used the same black stretch lace for the binding. This is the first time I've tried binding this cardigan and I love it! It gives such a neat finish and is very easy. It sort of stabilizes the front slanting edges. Thank you everyone for such nice comments. This encourages me to be 'brave' and try new things. Georgene the shell of this top is again a problem area with armhole gaping. Can I get that one too for the PR Weekend? And I can't believe that I need to do forward shoulder adjustment on the cardigan!
10/18/03 8:04 AM
Carol Wisman said...
*Really Cute* pjs, and you use of var. thread is a GREAT design idea!
10/18/03 4:58 PM
Mollykat said...
Deepika, I love the colors! Coordinating prints and solids give a great RTW look - only better because it fits well.
10/19/03 8:37 AM
Skymom said...
Deepika, I ordered that green and the stripe (along with a whole bunch of other stripes and polka dots) from fabric.com, and made a coordinated wardrobe of tops and shorts for my daughter this summer. I loved seeing her in those bright, fun colors every day, but couldn't quite figure out how I might wear them...your pajamas are a perfect solution. Very cute. THe black lace cardigan is lovely, too--could be very versatile for evening dress-up. How about black faux-suede pants and a black tank, or a black slinky dress underneath?
10/19/03 10:01 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
How inspiring. Two very different looks (super casual to formal) from the same pattern. How do you add a flounce on the sleeve? Is it a separate piece sewn on?
10/20/03 11:36 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks again everyone! Rennie To add a Flounce I started with the 3/4th long version sleeves. Then I took out another pattern which had flounce sleeves and measured the inner circle. Modified it so that it will match the sleeve circumference and adjusted the flounce flare accordingly. Now that I thinkj of it, I think the flounce should have been more flared. But this was very easy to do. Georgene suggested that if you dont have a pattern already, you can use a plate to draw your own. Its very easy too!
10/21/03 7:00 AM
Peggy M. said...
Deepika, it's amazing that you have only been sewing for such a short time - I am so impressed with the techniques you are using already to customize patterns, usually comes with years of sewing. I've sewn for years, but certainly don't have your confidence to adapt patterns. You are inspiring, as is this website!
10/23/03 5:07 PM
Corinne said...
I think you did a fantastic job! Most impressed by the fit! Looks just like RTW! Great Job!
12/5/03 11:30 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Deepika, I think it is time to move your skills level to at least intermediate. Beautiful job on all of the above!
1/26/05 7:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Simplicity 2316
photo
Review by RockNRoll on 10/28/10
Read Review

Vogue 8711 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8711 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5759 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5759 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2900
photo
Review by Diana M on 12/5/04
Read Review

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us