SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2759 (Twin Set)

43 more reviews
Viewed 3021 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 294 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/02 4:51 PM
Last Updated:10/17/03 9:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 15 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
very cute garment, Deepika. Great idea for the snaps and buttons
9/16/02 4:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, this turned out great! I even like it without the buttons.
9/16/02 5:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very nice Deepika!
9/16/02 5:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Looks great! It's fun to see all the different versions of this pattern. What is stay tape? What kind did you use? Thanks.
9/16/02 7:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
alex click here to read a review of the tapes I used.
9/16/02 7:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a classic look! You could wear this outfit anywhere. Nice job, Deepika.
9/16/02 8:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very nice job, I love this twinset!!
9/16/02 9:02 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That's a nice twinset! Everytime I see these twinsets reviewed, I want to get started on one... so many ideas, so little time! Thanks for the reminder to think ahead before starting... I'm so often in a rush to make something for myself or my family that I forget to think "DETAILS."
9/17/02 2:18 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I use clear elastic in the seams of unstable knits and it works great and things keep their shape. It's perfect in armholes where they want to stretch out of shape and keeps the armhole curve cupping your body. I use stay tape for shoulder seams on knits or any unstable fabric to keep that seam from growing or just adding extra support. It is a white nylon that you can sew or serge while you are making the seam and adds no bulk. I highly recommend this. I just bought this pattern after hearing everyone talk about it and one of my customers came in with it on in fabric from the shop and it looked wonderful. I think she wrote a review on this pattern as well. I think this will be one of the staples in my closet and I'm getting ready to go into production since I deperately need some new clothes. I've been busy with the making of quilting sample and need to play in the clothing field.
9/17/02 10:57 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Georgene said...
Deepika, I really like your new lace cardigan. How about a single button, really a "statement" button. Like a faceted jet button, or cut crystal, or enamel, something that brings it together at the front and is like a jewel. I like the red of your dress glowing thru underneath.
10/17/03 9:30 PM
Deepika said...
Actually Georgene that's why I left the buttons out in this one because I want to find something unique in NYC :)
10/17/03 9:31 PM
Joyfullife said...
I like the lace cardigan! I think it would look great over something black.
10/17/03 10:13 PM
Gina Marie said...
That is a wonderful color on you !! Love your lettuce edges, I wanna try that soon, myself !! The cardigan over the dress is so lux !! I am VERY motivated now !!
10/17/03 10:41 PM
JDpenelope said...
UN-believable! TDF! Your talents keep growing.
10/17/03 10:47 PM
jlg said...
Deepika, your cardigan is beautiful, and I think that your PJ's are very cute. Great entries for the contest.
10/18/03 5:39 AM
CarolynGM said...
Both incarnations are very striking! I really love that black cardigan -- did you use the stretch lace for the front edge binding or something else? All the great reviews of this pattern finally inspired me to buy it.
10/18/03 6:37 AM
Deepika said...
Irina, yes I used the same black stretch lace for the binding. This is the first time I've tried binding this cardigan and I love it! It gives such a neat finish and is very easy. It sort of stabilizes the front slanting edges. Thank you everyone for such nice comments. This encourages me to be 'brave' and try new things. Georgene the shell of this top is again a problem area with armhole gaping. Can I get that one too for the PR Weekend? And I can't believe that I need to do forward shoulder adjustment on the cardigan!
10/18/03 8:04 AM
Carol Wisman said...
*Really Cute* pjs, and you use of var. thread is a GREAT design idea!
10/18/03 4:58 PM
Mollykat said...
Deepika, I love the colors! Coordinating prints and solids give a great RTW look - only better because it fits well.
10/19/03 8:37 AM
Skymom said...
Deepika, I ordered that green and the stripe (along with a whole bunch of other stripes and polka dots) from fabric.com, and made a coordinated wardrobe of tops and shorts for my daughter this summer. I loved seeing her in those bright, fun colors every day, but couldn't quite figure out how I might wear them...your pajamas are a perfect solution. Very cute. THe black lace cardigan is lovely, too--could be very versatile for evening dress-up. How about black faux-suede pants and a black tank, or a black slinky dress underneath?
10/19/03 10:01 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
How inspiring. Two very different looks (super casual to formal) from the same pattern. How do you add a flounce on the sleeve? Is it a separate piece sewn on?
10/20/03 11:36 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks again everyone! Rennie To add a Flounce I started with the 3/4th long version sleeves. Then I took out another pattern which had flounce sleeves and measured the inner circle. Modified it so that it will match the sleeve circumference and adjusted the flounce flare accordingly. Now that I thinkj of it, I think the flounce should have been more flared. But this was very easy to do. Georgene suggested that if you dont have a pattern already, you can use a plate to draw your own. Its very easy too!
10/21/03 7:00 AM
Peggy M. said...
Deepika, it's amazing that you have only been sewing for such a short time - I am so impressed with the techniques you are using already to customize patterns, usually comes with years of sewing. I've sewn for years, but certainly don't have your confidence to adapt patterns. You are inspiring, as is this website!
10/23/03 5:07 PM
Corinne said...
I think you did a fantastic job! Most impressed by the fit! Looks just like RTW! Great Job!
12/5/03 11:30 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Deepika, I think it is time to move your skills level to at least intermediate. Beautiful job on all of the above!
1/26/05 7:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

McCall's 6362

photo
by: Gigi1168

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 2435

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review