Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Green Pepper: 846 (Fingerless Gloves) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1828 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Trinity.
photo
About Trinity.starstar
MA USA
Member since: 10/9/05
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/05 1:08 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mandolin82 said...
Because it is fleece you don't need to finish the edges if you don't want to. I made some of these recently but in a very rough and fast way. THey didn't turn out nearly as nice as yours.
12/18/05 1:40 PM
PhyllisC said...
!/8 inch seams? Eye yi yi...I give immense credit to you for tackling gloves! A while back Ann (Gorgeous Things) made a pair and her observations were very similar to yours. I've also noticed that Green Pepper unisex sizing is pretty much men's sizing. Good review!
12/18/05 2:27 PM
Tonya said...
A unique pattern - I didn't know this existed. Thanks for reviewing, and for the heads-up on the sizing.
12/18/05 10:52 PM
AnneM said...
I have basically decided that I am going to pass on sewing gloves. Too much small stuff! Those certainly look good.
12/19/05 8:00 AM
Muria said...
I've thought about making this pattern for my computer users at home, as their hands are always like ice. Thanks for the review. I was thinking this would be easy with polar fleece because you don't have to hem, so I'm glad you disabused me of my notion that it would be easy. :) Fiddly pieces tend to make me frustrated, so I guess I'll pass on this one after all.
12/19/05 12:02 PM
Trinity. said...
From a practical standpoint you wouldn't have to hem these. They are a knit and they won't fray. But the fabric does curl and get stretched out since the finger edges are cut on the stretch. Both DH and I thought they looked kinda ragged without being finished. I have since wondered of it wouldn't work to put baby yarn in the loopers of the serger and serge the finger edges in order to finish them. I'll give this a try after Christmas.
12/19/05 3:10 PM
Hilary said...
These look really hard! I tried to make gloves years ago for my dsis and gave up long before i finished! Way too hard! Kudos to you for sticking it out and making it work, even if they are too big for you :oP maybe you could shrink the pattern somehow?
12/19/05 5:30 PM
MelC said...
I almost bought this pattern yesterday (Sept. 06). I really appreciate your review. I love fingerless gloves for working on the farm. This pattern sounds like a challenge. I'll just hope the RTW pair I already own hang in there. It was great to learn about their sizing. Your review is very helpful!
9/16/06 5:37 AM
Wytoski said...
i'm in the midst of these for xmas presents and i was so lost. thanks! still lost but i have a map!?!
11/15/07 12:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 1816
photo
Review by kathleencr... on 8/24/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4865
photo
Review by annakeeton on 5/22/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us