SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Green Pepper> 846 (Fingerless Gloves)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1829 times 
Reviewed by:Trinity.
photo

 
 
About Trinity.starstar
MA USA
Member since: 10/9/05
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/05 1:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mandolin82 said...
Because it is fleece you don't need to finish the edges if you don't want to. I made some of these recently but in a very rough and fast way. THey didn't turn out nearly as nice as yours.
12/18/05 1:40 PM
PhyllisC said...
!/8 inch seams? Eye yi yi...I give immense credit to you for tackling gloves! A while back Ann (Gorgeous Things) made a pair and her observations were very similar to yours. I've also noticed that Green Pepper unisex sizing is pretty much men's sizing. Good review!
12/18/05 2:27 PM
Tonya said...
A unique pattern - I didn't know this existed. Thanks for reviewing, and for the heads-up on the sizing.
12/18/05 10:52 PM
AnneM said...
I have basically decided that I am going to pass on sewing gloves. Too much small stuff! Those certainly look good.
12/19/05 8:00 AM
Muria said...
I've thought about making this pattern for my computer users at home, as their hands are always like ice. Thanks for the review. I was thinking this would be easy with polar fleece because you don't have to hem, so I'm glad you disabused me of my notion that it would be easy. :) Fiddly pieces tend to make me frustrated, so I guess I'll pass on this one after all.
12/19/05 12:02 PM
Trinity. said...
From a practical standpoint you wouldn't have to hem these. They are a knit and they won't fray. But the fabric does curl and get stretched out since the finger edges are cut on the stretch. Both DH and I thought they looked kinda ragged without being finished. I have since wondered of it wouldn't work to put baby yarn in the loopers of the serger and serge the finger edges in order to finish them. I'll give this a try after Christmas.
12/19/05 3:10 PM
Hilary said...
These look really hard! I tried to make gloves years ago for my dsis and gave up long before i finished! Way too hard! Kudos to you for sticking it out and making it work, even if they are too big for you :oP maybe you could shrink the pattern somehow?
12/19/05 5:30 PM
MelC said...
I almost bought this pattern yesterday (Sept. 06). I really appreciate your review. I love fingerless gloves for working on the farm. This pattern sounds like a challenge. I'll just hope the RTW pair I already own hang in there. It was great to learn about their sizing. Your review is very helpful!
9/16/06 5:37 AM
Wytoski said...
i'm in the midst of these for xmas presents and i was so lost. thanks! still lost but i have a map!?!
11/15/07 12:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 6481

photo
by: khurtdvm

Review
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 7494

photo
by: hayleemari...

Review

Pattern