Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: Shanghai Tunic (Shanghai Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1593 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Trinity.
photo
About Trinity.starstar
MA USA
Member since: 10/9/05
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/05 4:23 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
This is the pattern I have my eye on. Sounds like a good one to try. Your version looks great!
12/21/05 4:38 PM
beangirl said...
awesome, X! I've been waiting to see how yours came out and it's lovely. Ooooo, I want to make mine NOW. Hmmph. Rotten kids and family and their rotten need for christmas presents. ;-) Thanks for the tips on the little drafting errors, I'll keep my eye out for them. The size 6 in this one seems to have been ok, it looks really good on you!
12/21/05 5:29 PM
Gigi Louis said...
This turned out so pretty! I'm really glad I ordered this. I think it will be a great summer top for me.
12/21/05 5:37 PM
jlg said...
Very, very pretty top.
12/21/05 5:37 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
oh my. that is lovely. I think I may cave and order this one!
12/21/05 5:48 PM
Tailypo said...
I agree -- it is very pretty. I like your fabric choices.
12/21/05 5:58 PM
MaryBeth said...
Pretty!
12/21/05 6:08 PM
Lori Sews said...
Very nice!
12/21/05 6:29 PM
PhyllisC said...
This is a *great* top!
12/21/05 9:36 PM
Ceri590 said...
I love it!
12/22/05 4:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely tunic top. Looks very flattering.
12/22/05 5:58 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute! Congrats on your top.
12/22/05 6:52 AM
drsue said...
This is a great top on you! Very helpful review.
12/22/05 11:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very lovely top and an excellent review.
12/22/05 12:43 PM
Julia Graham said...
Xenophea, I also have a shallow upper chest and am interested in the alteration you describe. Can you say a bit more about it, how you do it, where exactly you take out? Thanks, and your top looks great!
12/22/05 1:47 PM
Trinity. said...
Julia, since I have to take out so much I use four parallel slashes from armscye to CF. If the pattern has no CF seam, I cut the pattern at CF. I overlap at each slash 3/8" on CF and nothing at armscye. True up CF line. I can't find this alteration in any of my fitting books right now (I'm sure it's there, just not sure where) but it was the only thing that smoothed out the front when making my basic fitting shell.
12/22/05 3:15 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Too fabulous. Makes me want to get pattern immediately.
12/23/05 9:52 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Lovely top, very flattering. Nice contrast.
12/23/05 10:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Burda 9792 Start3: Shirt
photo
Review by U. Chicago on 7/21/07
Read Review

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 0004 Flounce Skirt
photo
Review by Deepika on 9/2/06
Read Review

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Croquet Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Croquet Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6783 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6783 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us