SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 450 (450 Nancy's Blouse)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1296 times 
Reviewed by:WilsonZooKeeper
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About WilsonZooKeeper
KY USA
Member since: 12/27/05
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/06 9:17 PM
Last Updated:5/30/06 9:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Great top. Nice use for your fabric. Unfortunately, they don't make the "AA Cup" versions for me!
6/21/06 7:19 PM
WilsonZooKeeper said...
Julesberry, in the photo I'm standing very straight, carefully holding my shoulders back, and I've pulled the top forward so it hangs straight. In my regular posture, my shoulders and back are more rounded and tops tend to slip back. I can tweak the fit with a forward shoulder adjustment and sometimes a slight rounded high back adjustment and tops will stay where they are supposed to without constant pulling.
6/1/06 8:08 AM
julesberry said...
The thing that strikes me about the photo is how perfect the fit looks (to dimwit know-nuffink me) over the shoulders. Interesting that this was the bit you were most unsure about. Are you sure you need to do more adjustment? What would the forward shoulder adjustment thingie do?
5/31/06 5:06 PM
countrybug said...
beautiful top and great fabric. Nice job. I have never seen these patterns. Thanks!!
5/31/06 10:04 AM
Peggy L said...
Your tunic turned out great. Good job on using that great fabric.
5/31/06 9:55 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty top!
5/31/06 9:20 AM
Jane S said...
Lovely top, great review. I've just cut a muslin of another Silouettes top and have those same size concerns...thanks for sharing your results.
5/31/06 8:43 AM
BillieJean said...
This is just lovely and the fit looks perfect. Congratulations on your first review. Both jobs well done! Billie
5/31/06 6:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a nice looking tunic top. Your first review is very informative and I look forward to your future reviews. You did a great job on cutting out this fabric.
5/31/06 5:10 AM
CarolynD said...
I love the fabric, it is a very good looking top. Good job.
5/31/06 1:55 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, I love what you've done with your fabric! It actually could work during the cold months as a tunic over a turtleneck-T. Something to think about.
5/31/06 1:00 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a lovely tunic. The fabric is perfect.
5/30/06 11:16 PM
BeckyC said...
Your top is so pretty! The fabric is perfect for the style. At Peggy Sagers seminars she suggests to help figure out what size pattern to use, measure some of your RTW blouses, jackets, etc. that you like the fit of and use those measurements to determine the size pattern to cut. She even suggests going into finer clothing stores and trying on a like garment and take those measurements to help determine pattern size. P.S. I have to shorten the sleeves on Silhouette Patterns about 2" also.
5/30/06 10:15 PM
Lori V said...
Nice tunic and great first review.
5/30/06 10:09 PM
OP Gal said...
Great review and great looking tunic. Congrats!
5/30/06 10:09 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I can imagine that the fabric made cutting out a real challenge; you did a great job. I had trouble deciding which size to cut in a Silhouette pattern, too, but couldn't resist trying it because of that built-in FBA. I used the same size you did and I need a forward shoulder adjustment on the next one. Hey! Same size, same adjustments......can I borrow your new tunic?
5/30/06 9:58 PM
leigh7911 said...
Your layout isn't perfect? Who cares! I, for one, can't tell :) Looks great.
5/30/06 9:54 PM
Ingiepops said...
That's a very pretty top, love the fabric. Congrats on your first review!
5/30/06 9:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Burda 9481

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review

Pattern

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now