Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 1727 (Men's Tank Top, Tights & Bicyc) - Type:Mens - Swimwear / Activewear    printable version
Viewed 1856 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:22 AM
Last Updated:9/20/02 1:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Swimwear / Activewear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Great review! I've been wondering about sewing some bike shorts for awhile, and this gave me a pretty good idea of what goes into it. Thanks!
9/18/02 11:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for this detailed review and including your sources. Speaking of sources have your tried Seattle Fabrics? They carry a monolith antibacterial biking shorts pad for $11.95. Never have ordered from them myself and maybe this is more than you want to pay.
9/19/02 12:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, thanks for the tip for the biking pad at Seattle Fabrics. I'd seen this site before but wasn't aware they carried a pad. It is more than I'd like to pay, but if the Kwik Sew one is a flop, I may purchase it. DH is trying the shorts out today on his ride to work.
9/19/02 12:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Ariane said...
Thanks for the great review ! I want to try to make dh some bike shorts and was wondering about the construction. How did your dh find the pad after using it for a while ? I don't really want to pay $12 for one, but I also want dh to be comfortable !
6/20/03 3:14 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Yes, Lori, I too would enjoy an update. MY DH will return to serious road biking one of these days and I'd like to make some of these for him.
6/21/03 5:43 AM
Ariane said...
In case anybody's interested, I found a CoolMax Sanitized pad for CAN $6 at Mountain Equipment Co-op. Now how to sew it is another problem...
7/20/03 11:07 PM
Brenda in the Boro said...
thanks for this. I am looking to make cycling shorts with a pad for myself as I cannot seem to get comfort in RTW.
2/22/06 7:22 AM
mlsews said...
Fantastic, I have this pattern on my list to make for dh and my brother. I'm thinking of recycling the pads from dh's current shorts since he loves the gel pads. Thanks for the review and pic!
10/16/08 4:04 PM
JenSews2 said...
Thanks for the review! This was very helpful as I have this pattern and haven't sewn it yet. DH needs new shorts and they are EXPENSIVE, especially considering they use so little fabric.
2/3/12 10:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 3845 Threads
photo
Review by Tearsa on 12/11/07
Read Review

McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6480 Pattern
New Look 6480 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket Plaza Jacket
photo
Review by SueV on 2/27/07
Read Review

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us