SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3368 (Jackets)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2368 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/06 0:36 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Oooo-aaaahhhh! Gorgeous Debbie! I adore the fabric you used. It will be a hard act, for the boucle, to follow. :) All the topstitching looks great!
1/2/06 0:58 AM
ChrisK said...
The jacket looks great Debbie. I'm pleased to see you have started to sew again after the big move to the MP ;-)
1/2/06 1:41 AM
Tarawebster said...
Beautiful jacket and very inspiring!
1/2/06 1:48 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I was waiting for your review. Even the muslin is great. I love the fabric, the topstitching and the "custom matched" buttons. Even the stitched down facing adds alot. I've contemplated doing that but never got up the nerve...you inspired me. It looks great on you and the neckline is not as round as I thought it was going to be. It's unbelievable you were altering the pattern yesterday!
1/2/06 1:49 AM
keelyb1 said...
Oooh. I like, I like, I like! You're so inspirational Debbie. I have this urge to rush out and make this right now. And I know the perfect fabric at work for this...Thank you so much for all the helpful and wonderful tips you put in your reviews.
1/2/06 2:37 AM
Vonnevo said...
Wonderful Debbie ! Jackets suit you well and this one fits beautifully. Yes to the Boucle :)))
1/2/06 4:24 AM
jlg said...
This looks wonderful on you. Very flattering fit.
1/2/06 5:41 AM
blue mooney said...
good job! the mis-matched buttons look great on this jacket.
1/2/06 6:18 AM
MaryBeth said...
This pattern worked very well for your jacket. Looks good!
1/2/06 7:24 AM
meanjean said...
THe jacket is beautiful! And fits very nicely.
1/2/06 7:41 AM
Lori V said...
Great job, Debbie. I agree with Chris, so happy you are sewing again. Your reviews are wonderful.
1/2/06 8:17 AM
Cornelia said...
Great jacket. Your "fit and finish" is definitely Mercedes. The boucle will be wonderful, and you're more than qualified to tackle a lining. How about a nice thin wicking fabric to help with the FL climate?
1/2/06 8:55 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking jacket. I love the fabric. And, who says that all your buttons have to match. As long as they are in the same color family I think it works great. Thanks for all the info on fitting. This is one I have to put on my wishlist.
1/2/06 8:56 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
This is very flattering - great style, fit, and fabric. Why do you not consider yourself advanced?
1/2/06 9:05 AM
zeoplum said...
Hmm.....saving this one to my favorites. I've been looking for a KS pattern for my new Boucle. Btw...I LOVE that fabric!! And I know it's been said over and over but that really does look good on you. VERY flattering.
1/2/06 9:25 AM
Patti B said...
I love your jacket as is! Who needs boucle? ;-) Must add this jacket to my wish list. Great review.
1/2/06 10:03 AM
Georgene said...
Good sleeve ftting, no small task on KwikSew, as their sleeve/ armhole drafting is unusually generous in most instances. I will be interested to see your boucle version; hopefully the differences in the 2 fabrics won't throw off all your hard work in fitting.
1/2/06 10:25 AM
PVA said...
Well, 1st off, ditto to all the above! What a wonderful jacket! I love the pattern & your fitting work is, as always, just awesome! In the "back" photo I noticed you're wearing it with jeans -- perfect!
1/2/06 10:31 AM
CarolynGM said...
That is one seriously good-looking jacket. Loved the detail about the fitting adjustments you made.
1/2/06 11:39 AM
potter said...
Delicious!
1/2/06 12:30 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Beautiful fit and great details. KS will sell oodles of these patterns because of this jacket.
1/2/06 12:36 PM
SewingSkater said...
Your stuff always fits sooooo good... I hope someday I can have such a fantastic fit. Love the fabric and the buttons! Very cool!
1/2/06 3:31 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Great job!
1/2/06 4:13 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Wonderful, casual jacket. I love the topstitching and ecclectic mix of buttons. This is a good review.
1/2/06 4:15 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Oh my, that did turn out well. I think it'd be great in a stretch velveeteen. Maybe a royal blue? That neckline is very flattering. Thanks for sharing.
1/2/06 4:15 PM
BjP said...
So nice! Thanks for mentioning the similar Misses pattern number - now I know what to make from some stretch denim I just picked up. Good review, too!
1/2/06 9:41 PM
Kerry O said...
Debbie, I think that looks great, and it looks great on you! Thank you for reviewing this pattern! I will have to reread your alteration info if/when I try it myself. :)
1/2/06 9:52 PM
PixieCat said...
What a beautiful jacket and fit! I love all the topstitching.
1/3/06 5:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review as always. Thanks for the photos of fitting adjustments as well. Helps clarify the text. I love the fabric and I think your jacket turned out well.
1/3/06 6:00 AM
Mbarkle said...
Cute jacket Debbie. I made the misses version (3334) in boucle, but now want to make it in denim after seeing yours.
1/3/06 7:52 AM
diane s said...
Your jacket looks great on you, I have the same fabric in my stash!
1/3/06 9:42 AM
KarenP said...
I love your jacket and the fabric is perfect!
1/3/06 2:24 PM
Lori Sews said...
This is such a beautiful jacket. You look great! Thanks for the very thorough review. I am about to embark on a KS jacket. :)
1/4/06 2:21 PM
KiwiWendy said...
I love your jacket ... I've just bought the 3334, so this is really inspiring.
1/31/06 5:38 PM
martinanne said...
Wonderful review! Thank you for going into such great detail. The jacket looks smashing on you, Debbie!
2/5/06 8:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: sewmodest

Review
Simplicity Sew U

photo
by: House of P...

Review
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Buy Now