Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3368 (Jackets) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2366 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/06 0:36 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Oooo-aaaahhhh! Gorgeous Debbie! I adore the fabric you used. It will be a hard act, for the boucle, to follow. :) All the topstitching looks great!
1/2/06 0:58 AM
ChrisK said...
The jacket looks great Debbie. I'm pleased to see you have started to sew again after the big move to the MP ;-)
1/2/06 1:41 AM
Tarawebster said...
Beautiful jacket and very inspiring!
1/2/06 1:48 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I was waiting for your review. Even the muslin is great. I love the fabric, the topstitching and the "custom matched" buttons. Even the stitched down facing adds alot. I've contemplated doing that but never got up the nerve...you inspired me. It looks great on you and the neckline is not as round as I thought it was going to be. It's unbelievable you were altering the pattern yesterday!
1/2/06 1:49 AM
keelyb1 said...
Oooh. I like, I like, I like! You're so inspirational Debbie. I have this urge to rush out and make this right now. And I know the perfect fabric at work for this...Thank you so much for all the helpful and wonderful tips you put in your reviews.
1/2/06 2:37 AM
Vonnevo said...
Wonderful Debbie ! Jackets suit you well and this one fits beautifully. Yes to the Boucle :)))
1/2/06 4:24 AM
jlg said...
This looks wonderful on you. Very flattering fit.
1/2/06 5:41 AM
blue mooney said...
good job! the mis-matched buttons look great on this jacket.
1/2/06 6:18 AM
MaryBeth said...
This pattern worked very well for your jacket. Looks good!
1/2/06 7:24 AM
meanjean said...
THe jacket is beautiful! And fits very nicely.
1/2/06 7:41 AM
Lori V said...
Great job, Debbie. I agree with Chris, so happy you are sewing again. Your reviews are wonderful.
1/2/06 8:17 AM
Cornelia said...
Great jacket. Your "fit and finish" is definitely Mercedes. The boucle will be wonderful, and you're more than qualified to tackle a lining. How about a nice thin wicking fabric to help with the FL climate?
1/2/06 8:55 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking jacket. I love the fabric. And, who says that all your buttons have to match. As long as they are in the same color family I think it works great. Thanks for all the info on fitting. This is one I have to put on my wishlist.
1/2/06 8:56 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
This is very flattering - great style, fit, and fabric. Why do you not consider yourself advanced?
1/2/06 9:05 AM
zeoplum said...
Hmm.....saving this one to my favorites. I've been looking for a KS pattern for my new Boucle. Btw...I LOVE that fabric!! And I know it's been said over and over but that really does look good on you. VERY flattering.
1/2/06 9:25 AM
Patti B said...
I love your jacket as is! Who needs boucle? ;-) Must add this jacket to my wish list. Great review.
1/2/06 10:03 AM
Georgene said...
Good sleeve ftting, no small task on KwikSew, as their sleeve/ armhole drafting is unusually generous in most instances. I will be interested to see your boucle version; hopefully the differences in the 2 fabrics won't throw off all your hard work in fitting.
1/2/06 10:25 AM
PVA said...
Well, 1st off, ditto to all the above! What a wonderful jacket! I love the pattern & your fitting work is, as always, just awesome! In the "back" photo I noticed you're wearing it with jeans -- perfect!
1/2/06 10:31 AM
CarolynGM said...
That is one seriously good-looking jacket. Loved the detail about the fitting adjustments you made.
1/2/06 11:39 AM
potter said...
Delicious!
1/2/06 12:30 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Beautiful fit and great details. KS will sell oodles of these patterns because of this jacket.
1/2/06 12:36 PM
SewingSkater said...
Your stuff always fits sooooo good... I hope someday I can have such a fantastic fit. Love the fabric and the buttons! Very cool!
1/2/06 3:31 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Great job!
1/2/06 4:13 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Wonderful, casual jacket. I love the topstitching and ecclectic mix of buttons. This is a good review.
1/2/06 4:15 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Oh my, that did turn out well. I think it'd be great in a stretch velveeteen. Maybe a royal blue? That neckline is very flattering. Thanks for sharing.
1/2/06 4:15 PM
BjP said...
So nice! Thanks for mentioning the similar Misses pattern number - now I know what to make from some stretch denim I just picked up. Good review, too!
1/2/06 9:41 PM
Kerry O said...
Debbie, I think that looks great, and it looks great on you! Thank you for reviewing this pattern! I will have to reread your alteration info if/when I try it myself. :)
1/2/06 9:52 PM
PixieCat said...
What a beautiful jacket and fit! I love all the topstitching.
1/3/06 5:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review as always. Thanks for the photos of fitting adjustments as well. Helps clarify the text. I love the fabric and I think your jacket turned out well.
1/3/06 6:00 AM
Mbarkle said...
Cute jacket Debbie. I made the misses version (3334) in boucle, but now want to make it in denim after seeing yours.
1/3/06 7:52 AM
diane s said...
Your jacket looks great on you, I have the same fabric in my stash!
1/3/06 9:42 AM
KarenP said...
I love your jacket and the fabric is perfect!
1/3/06 2:24 PM
Lori Sews said...
This is such a beautiful jacket. You look great! Thanks for the very thorough review. I am about to embark on a KS jacket. :)
1/4/06 2:21 PM
KiwiWendy said...
I love your jacket ... I've just bought the 3334, so this is really inspiring.
1/31/06 5:38 PM
martinanne said...
Wonderful review! Thank you for going into such great detail. The jacket looks smashing on you, Debbie!
2/5/06 8:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Butterick 4877 6 Easy Skirts
photo
Review by twotoast on 2/4/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5672 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by sewmytime on 1/6/12
Read Review

Vogue 8960 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8960 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3732 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3732 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us