SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3368 (Jackets)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2369 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/06 0:36 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
martinanne said...
Wonderful review! Thank you for going into such great detail. The jacket looks smashing on you, Debbie!
2/5/06 8:22 AM
KiwiWendy said...
I love your jacket ... I've just bought the 3334, so this is really inspiring.
1/31/06 5:38 PM
Lori Sews said...
This is such a beautiful jacket. You look great! Thanks for the very thorough review. I am about to embark on a KS jacket. :)
1/4/06 2:21 PM
KarenP said...
I love your jacket and the fabric is perfect!
1/3/06 2:24 PM
diane s said...
Your jacket looks great on you, I have the same fabric in my stash!
1/3/06 9:42 AM
Mbarkle said...
Cute jacket Debbie. I made the misses version (3334) in boucle, but now want to make it in denim after seeing yours.
1/3/06 7:52 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review as always. Thanks for the photos of fitting adjustments as well. Helps clarify the text. I love the fabric and I think your jacket turned out well.
1/3/06 6:00 AM
PixieCat said...
What a beautiful jacket and fit! I love all the topstitching.
1/3/06 5:44 AM
Kerry O said...
Debbie, I think that looks great, and it looks great on you! Thank you for reviewing this pattern! I will have to reread your alteration info if/when I try it myself. :)
1/2/06 9:52 PM
BjP said...
So nice! Thanks for mentioning the similar Misses pattern number - now I know what to make from some stretch denim I just picked up. Good review, too!
1/2/06 9:41 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Oh my, that did turn out well. I think it'd be great in a stretch velveeteen. Maybe a royal blue? That neckline is very flattering. Thanks for sharing.
1/2/06 4:15 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Wonderful, casual jacket. I love the topstitching and ecclectic mix of buttons. This is a good review.
1/2/06 4:15 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Great job!
1/2/06 4:13 PM
SewingSkater said...
Your stuff always fits sooooo good... I hope someday I can have such a fantastic fit. Love the fabric and the buttons! Very cool!
1/2/06 3:31 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Beautiful fit and great details. KS will sell oodles of these patterns because of this jacket.
1/2/06 12:36 PM
potter said...
Delicious!
1/2/06 12:30 PM
CarolynGM said...
That is one seriously good-looking jacket. Loved the detail about the fitting adjustments you made.
1/2/06 11:39 AM
PVA said...
Well, 1st off, ditto to all the above! What a wonderful jacket! I love the pattern & your fitting work is, as always, just awesome! In the "back" photo I noticed you're wearing it with jeans -- perfect!
1/2/06 10:31 AM
Georgene said...
Good sleeve ftting, no small task on KwikSew, as their sleeve/ armhole drafting is unusually generous in most instances. I will be interested to see your boucle version; hopefully the differences in the 2 fabrics won't throw off all your hard work in fitting.
1/2/06 10:25 AM
Patti B said...
I love your jacket as is! Who needs boucle? ;-) Must add this jacket to my wish list. Great review.
1/2/06 10:03 AM
zeoplum said...
Hmm.....saving this one to my favorites. I've been looking for a KS pattern for my new Boucle. Btw...I LOVE that fabric!! And I know it's been said over and over but that really does look good on you. VERY flattering.
1/2/06 9:25 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
This is very flattering - great style, fit, and fabric. Why do you not consider yourself advanced?
1/2/06 9:05 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking jacket. I love the fabric. And, who says that all your buttons have to match. As long as they are in the same color family I think it works great. Thanks for all the info on fitting. This is one I have to put on my wishlist.
1/2/06 8:56 AM
Cornelia said...
Great jacket. Your "fit and finish" is definitely Mercedes. The boucle will be wonderful, and you're more than qualified to tackle a lining. How about a nice thin wicking fabric to help with the FL climate?
1/2/06 8:55 AM
Lori V said...
Great job, Debbie. I agree with Chris, so happy you are sewing again. Your reviews are wonderful.
1/2/06 8:17 AM
meanjean said...
THe jacket is beautiful! And fits very nicely.
1/2/06 7:41 AM
MaryBeth said...
This pattern worked very well for your jacket. Looks good!
1/2/06 7:24 AM
blue mooney said...
good job! the mis-matched buttons look great on this jacket.
1/2/06 6:18 AM
jlg said...
This looks wonderful on you. Very flattering fit.
1/2/06 5:41 AM
Vonnevo said...
Wonderful Debbie ! Jackets suit you well and this one fits beautifully. Yes to the Boucle :)))
1/2/06 4:24 AM
keelyb1 said...
Oooh. I like, I like, I like! You're so inspirational Debbie. I have this urge to rush out and make this right now. And I know the perfect fabric at work for this...Thank you so much for all the helpful and wonderful tips you put in your reviews.
1/2/06 2:37 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I was waiting for your review. Even the muslin is great. I love the fabric, the topstitching and the "custom matched" buttons. Even the stitched down facing adds alot. I've contemplated doing that but never got up the nerve...you inspired me. It looks great on you and the neckline is not as round as I thought it was going to be. It's unbelievable you were altering the pattern yesterday!
1/2/06 1:49 AM
Tarawebster said...
Beautiful jacket and very inspiring!
1/2/06 1:48 AM
ChrisK said...
The jacket looks great Debbie. I'm pleased to see you have started to sew again after the big move to the MP ;-)
1/2/06 1:41 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Oooo-aaaahhhh! Gorgeous Debbie! I adore the fabric you used. It will be a hard act, for the boucle, to follow. :) All the topstitching looks great!
1/2/06 0:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
McCall's 8524

photo
by: AK2012

Review