SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1211 (Santa Monica Tee)

47 more reviews
Viewed 1243 times 
Reviewed by:Tarawebster
photo

 
 
About Tarawebsterstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/31/03
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/06 4:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori Sews said...
Very pretty top and very pretty fabric. I love your skirt! :)
1/6/06 8:42 AM
AnneM said...
Nice top, and nice fabric. Good infor on handling the fabric, also. Love your skirt - great deal on it, and it goes great with your top.
1/3/06 6:37 PM
Tarawebster said...
Chimene, yes, I straight stictched the clear elastic on the entire neckline, and then turned it over and top stitched. I changed thread color so the topstitching wouldn't have turquoise thread on the black sleeve. (though could look nice, but I didn't trust my ability to sew a perfectly straight seam on that curve). One update....Marsha at Textile Studio, who suggests what I did with this fabric, used the fold of the doubled fabric as the hem of the tee, so she didn't have to sew a hem at all. Given my hem dilema, her solution was wiser. I'd rather have put the fold on the hem, rather than at the top of the bodice like I did.
1/3/06 9:46 AM
Chimene said...
Very nice! I was wondering about the quality of Textiles fabric. I have this pattern on my wish list and will probably buy it soon!! Question-did you straight stitch the clear elastic to the neckline and then fold over?
1/3/06 8:40 AM
PixieCat said...
Very nice and flattering too!
1/3/06 6:01 AM
Tarawebster said...
Carol SY, I didn't make the skirt, though I've looked at it hoping to copy it. I bought it on ebay from one of my favorite clothing vendors, for only $5.00.
1/2/06 7:17 PM
jlg said...
This turned out great. Thanks for pointing out this pattern; I had forgotten about it. You top inspires me to try it again.
1/2/06 6:59 PM
CSY said...
You are a great model for that pattern. Fantastic look on you. The skirt is great too. Did you make it? It looks to good to be store bought!
1/2/06 6:35 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
The neckline is lovely! Your T looks better than the one the model on the envelope is wearing.
1/2/06 5:50 PM
Tarawebster said...
sorry about the size of the photo. I'll work on adjusting that! Wish I could claim to have made the skirt, but I bought it from a favorite ebay vendor for $5.00!
1/2/06 5:43 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your top is just perfect for the skirt.
1/2/06 5:16 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
It might help to slightly resize your photo, but otherwise this is a smashing to a T. Here's another addition to my favorites list. btw, the skirt is really cute too...I've wondered about the Ella Moss knits on Textile Studios fabric site. Now I know...I've got a sample or two in my handbag right now...I just might get this at some point, even if it is pricy. Thanks for the review!
1/2/06 5:03 PM
muffie11 said...
Beautiful! And Really beautiful with the skirt -
1/2/06 4:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: CindyJH

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2011-36

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now