SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2306 (Raglan Sleeve Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 3276 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 294 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/02 3:32 PM
Last Updated:9/16/05 8:24 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Ooh cute top, wonderful pants, lovely model! Uh oh, back to my sewing room; too busy appreciating your sewing and not doing mine!
9/21/02 4:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The top is so cute - I love the pineapple print! I like your pants too, the fabric is beautiful. :-)
9/21/02 4:08 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This is a very nice top. I will try to order it, too.
9/22/02 7:57 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The top looks great. Isn't that a pretty neckline? Gigi found us another winner.
9/22/02 8:46 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
retiredpagirl said...
I like both the top and pants! I've read so many reviews on these pants that I think I need to get them. Thanks for the review. :)
3/12/04 10:22 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
What a great combination of fabric and pattern! You wear these colors beautifully, and the fit looks great! Too bad the pattern is oop, looks like a great one!
3/12/04 10:28 PM
Levone said...
Your shirt is very cute. I love your onionskin fabric. Is it easy to lengthen the sleeves? Are you going to add length to the bottom of the sleeve or must you adjust in different places? I'm asking because I want to lengthen KS2694 3/4" sleeves to be full length long sleeves.
3/12/04 11:29 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty top, Deepika. It looks great on you.
3/13/04 5:58 AM
AuntieShel said...
Deepika, your outfits are adorable. You are so not afraid of color, which I admire and envy! Please tell me what onionskin is and why everyone loves it. I have noticed it in many reviews, but am not sure what it is. Thank you.
3/13/04 6:49 AM
SewingSusan said...
Love your shirt, your lettuce edging looks wonderful. Wish this pattern were still available!
3/13/04 6:53 AM
Deepika said...
Kwik Sew 3120 is a similar pattern. But it doesnt have the wide ribbing which is so easy to add. Just measure the neckline and make a pattern (a rectangle) measuring the length of the ribbing - which should be atleast 2" smaller than the neckline and make it as wide as you want. The stretch of the fabric is also a factor otherwise you might get puckers. But in most cases its ok. Levone To lengthen the sleeves, I'll just take out some other raglan sleeve pattern and put the sleeve from this pattern on top of that pattern and just trace the new lenght, not disturbing the top of the sleeve. Its very easy. If you dont have a raglan sleeve pattern you can use the set in sleeve pattern also. I am all about "stealing" from other patterns. franatic onionskin is a very thin knit, it doesnt weigh anything, perfect for travelling. Its slightly sheer. Think of it as a stretch lace but smooth. I dont know if all the onionskins are that stretchy but mine is about 50% maybe even more. Lettuce edging is a perfect finish for this fabric. Thank you everyone for such nice comments!
3/13/04 8:15 AM
JDpenelope said...
Another winner. Guess I will consider onionskin--just a little nervous about it being too sheer and having to wear a camisole underneath. Do people ever line it, or does that defeat the purpose? I agree with others about your daring, beautiful use of color.
3/13/04 8:25 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Gorgeous top, Deepika! I want to do more with onionskin too but I wonder if onionskin is widely available in solids, so a double layer could be made with the print on top and solid on the bottom. I see a lot of prints on EOS, but not so many solids. ??
3/13/04 10:59 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Oh wow, Deepika, that top is really really cute on you. Your results are so much prettier than the pattern picture!
3/13/04 11:19 AM
sewnew said...
I love the color and lettuce edging. Great top for spring
3/13/04 1:43 PM
mudcat said...
Your top turned out nice, Deepika. Your lettucing looks so good.
3/14/04 10:55 AM
Runrover said...
Deepika: it may feel a bit snug, but the tip looks gorgeous on you. Great pattern and great sewing!! Cynthia
9/16/05 9:01 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Pretty!
9/16/05 9:38 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I like your double-tee idea - that's smart!
9/16/05 10:11 AM
Meguiar said...
Super, super cute top! This is VERY flattering on you. I liked the first 2, but I love the third!
9/16/05 7:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: marec

Review
Megan Nielsen MN1001

photo
by: WhiteMouse

Review
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now