SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2606 (Girls swimsuits)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2071 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 224 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/06 9:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Frogstitcher said...
Wow, this looks so professional. So much nicer than RTW with the full lining. Your DD is so fortunate.
1/10/06 9:52 PM
Lori V said...
Great job, your dd will have the best suit at the pool.
1/10/06 10:05 PM
Mirza said...
Thankyou for reviewing this suit. I plan to make swim suits for myself and DD for this summer. Your review was very helpful.
1/10/06 10:15 PM
kwpanthermom said...
Beautifully made suits, I really like the way you put in the lining and the detailed directions on applying the elastic. And wonderful fabric selections!
1/10/06 11:19 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great review Belinda! Very helpful and all of DD's suit are very cute! Doesn't this one match yours?? ;-)
1/11/06 0:15 AM
keelyb1 said...
Great suits and great review. I've got this pattern and the fabric. Now to just get on and sew it. Thanks for the detailed elastic instructions.
1/11/06 2:45 AM
missmerm said...
Great suits. I agree on the modesty/fit (for leotards, too)! This is so helpful. The photo showing the "difference" between the lining and fashion fabric is great--but then when you stitch, am I correct in thinking the first round of 3 step zigzag catches only the fashion fabric, and the lining is caught in when the elastic is flipped and stitched with the zigzag? Also, without a serger, what thread type would you recommend? Thanks in advance.
1/11/06 7:35 AM
BeckyW said...
What a great review!!! Lots of details. I really appreciate the stitch widths and lenghts on the elastic application. I struggled with this when making a leotard recently. It makes me want to make a swimsuit. Thanks for posting this. I will bookmark this for summer. One question though, how do you thread wooly nylon in the needle?
1/11/06 1:24 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Thanks for all the extra photos on lining and elastics. What great suits!
1/11/06 4:35 PM
Sew4Fun said...
MissMerm, yes you are correct about the lining being caught in the 2nd round of elastic stitching. As for what thread to use without a serger, I'm probably not the person to ask as I've been using a serger since the 70's. I've never made a swimsuit without one. :)
1/11/06 9:02 PM
Sew4Fun said...
BeckyW, to thread the needle with wooly nylon I use an old fashioned needle threader. (This one - http://www.stitchpics.com/~rsgillett/threader.htm) I thread the wire through the needle from the back, place the wooly in the wire loop and pull through. It is quick, easy and fool proof. :)
1/11/06 9:06 PM
valerie sews said...
Thank you for a very helpful review. I struggled through my first swimsuit recently and am just about to try again.
1/12/06 5:12 AM
Mbarkle said...
Belinda, I also love this pattern. In fact, I made two from this pattern last summer and one of my dd's friends who has a long torso and can't find a one-piece in RTW ended up taking one of the suits home with her! The coverage is great and it stays in place well, so the kids can move and play. I am planning to make a custom suit for this child for her birthday this summer, using this pattern.
1/13/06 7:01 AM
Zaneta said...
I just love this review..my princess is only 7 months old. I can't to sew her first swimsuit..
10/31/06 7:14 PM
chunter said...
Thank you for all the tips! I'm about to embark on my first swimsuit sewing, with no serger in my stable. Your specific hints will help a great deal.
1/20/10 11:09 AM
Holmar said...
Great review! Wow, those swimsuits are awesome. Thank-you for such helpful details on needle/thread/lining...etc. I'm about to make my first swimsuit and I want to use my serger but am a little nervous using the wooly nylon in needle and both loopers. Have you made any swimsuits for yourself? Thanks again.
6/7/10 2:49 PM
ctirish said...
This is a great review, I am going to print it so I can read it while I make my next swimsuit. I only wish the photo links were good.
7/8/11 12:16 PM
SandraB said...
This is a most helpful review. I made my first swim suit yesterday, and your recommendations for attaching the elastic are super helpful. I just made a bikini bottom for myself and the waist line was completely stretched out, caused by the serger I think. I will try attaching the elastic with the sewing machine using your recommendations.
8/18/11 6:08 PM
Teneal said...
I've just begun sewing swimwear and on both bottoms and part of the bikini top the elastic goes wavy after I've sewin it into the fabric. What am I doing wrong??
11/19/11 9:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Butterick 3523 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Vogue Patterns 7845

photo
by: canyonlady...

Review
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now