SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> WSJ Maharajah Jacket (WSJ Maharajah Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2134 times 
Reviewed by:julieb
photo

 
 
About juliebstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/28/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/06 5:21 PM
Last Updated:1/11/06 5:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 32 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely jacket and excellent review.
12/7/12 4:34 PM
luv2sew4fun said...
Have this pattern in my stash - you gave me lots to think about!
12/4/07 10:31 AM
cboots said...
Thanks for a very helpful and detailed review. Your jacket turned out beautifully!
1/13/06 6:09 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Thank you for the review. I think the jacket looks great on you. I love the pink stitching.
1/12/06 8:03 AM
Stacy Sews said...
I think that the jacket looks better on you - you give it more shape (or it moves with you nicely)! Beautiful jacket. Thanks for the great review!
1/12/06 7:14 AM
Linda F said...
Your jacket is beautiful on you, you did a fantastic job . You did a great a job of overcoming all the obstacles too.
1/12/06 7:03 AM
AnneM said...
Great topstitching. It certainly doesn't look bad on you, although I know exactly what you mean about needing a garment with a defined waist.
1/12/06 6:55 AM
MaryBeth said...
This jacket begs for a form fitting skirt with a flippy hemline. I love the grey wool/hot pink combo, too. Nice job, it looks very professional.
1/12/06 6:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. You did an excellent job with it in spite of all the issues you mentioned. Very helpful review.
1/12/06 4:33 AM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for such a great review on your beautiful jacket. Your comments will be very helpful when I get around to this pattern already in my stash.
1/12/06 1:21 AM
lmg said...
Beautiful! I love how it looks on you, the buttons are great too
1/11/06 10:20 PM
Levone said...
Wow, your jacket turned out great! Definitely better than the pattern illustration. You did a wonderful job on this.
1/11/06 10:20 PM
Johsews said...
You did a beautiful job, Julie, and I think you'll come to like this on you the more you wear it. Your workmanship is impeccable as alway! Say hi to the NoVA ASG group for me! Johanna
1/11/06 10:10 PM
Lori V said...
I like your jacket on you and your dressform. The pink topstitching sets off the entire jacket. I am working on the Prim and Proper jacket, finding the sleeves very tight.
1/11/06 10:07 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Your jacket is just lovely and looks great on you too BTW. I adore grey-pink combos. I also got stuck with my Mongolian jacket re how to finish-sew sleeve lining to jacket lining delema as my cuffs were done first too. Like the HongKong finish idea. Glad you perservered so next one will be "easy" :)
1/11/06 9:36 PM
MickeyFan said...
I really like your jacket. I think it looks great on you. I am sorry you had to struggle so much - and not in a good "hey, I am learning something new type way". While I can live with mis-matched marks, I get very irritated by un-trued seams. It is an unnecessary drafting correction I shouldn't have to make. Very helpful review, thank you for taking time with it.
1/11/06 8:59 PM
Frogstitcher said...
This looks fabulous on you - not better on your dressform. I love the contrast stitching detail. Thank you for the very detailed review.
1/11/06 8:12 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wonderful results. And a very helpful review! -Ann
1/11/06 7:23 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm sorry this pattern had so many errors - but - you certainly overcame them. This is beautiful and I love the hot pink topstitching technique
1/11/06 7:14 PM
Rebecca D said...
Excellent review, thank you. The jacket turned out beautifully.
1/11/06 6:53 PM
SewTabby said...
It really does look fantastic...Just got this pattern in the mail today so I am looking forward to referencing your (and other) reviews for this one. Thanks for the detail!
1/11/06 6:43 PM
Linda E. said...
Love the jacket on you.. the gray wool with the pink top stitching is great.
1/11/06 6:42 PM
beangirl said...
You look great in this jacket and the detailing is lovely. Excellent review.
1/11/06 6:42 PM
Nickle said...
I think the jacket looks very nice on you , and you did a beautiful job on the topstitching.
1/11/06 5:57 PM
jemgirlca said...
Thanks for your helpful review. I agree that it looks good on both you and your dressform.
1/11/06 5:56 PM
Seaspur said...
You ran into the exact same problems I did. Jacket looks great though.
1/11/06 5:54 PM
drsue said...
Well, its reassuring to know that I'm not just losing my mind regarding the drafting flaws I've found on these patterns. I think your top looks very good - - I like it better on you than on your form actually. Thank you so much for this very helpful review.
1/11/06 5:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
What an excellent, detailed review. I love the way you did the contrast topstitching and trim. The jacket looks great on you -- it is a very good length.
1/11/06 5:42 PM
Kristen said...
Julie, it looks great (both on you and the dressform)! Excellent review.
1/11/06 5:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-13

photo
by: Lusenda

Review
Simplicity 1612

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now