SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> ps_cbp (P.S. Classic Bootcut Pant)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1613 times 
Reviewed by:Tarawebster
photo

 
 
About Tarawebsterstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/31/03
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/06 1:30 AM
Last Updated:1/13/06 11:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Thank you for posting this review. I think it is helpful for others of us to see and understand these patterns.
1/13/06 3:06 PM
MaryBeth said...
Pocketing fabric: Baer Fabric in Louisville, KY has my favorite kind, made to be 7" wide and prefolded. They will no longer be able to get this when the stock they have runs out. I ordered 10 yds of black/10 of white and love it! You are a sweetie for getting those extra pixys up so even tho they don't demo the flare, they are appreciated!
1/13/06 12:55 PM
Georgene said...
Meanwhile, if you fabric is the least bit heavy, you should be using pocketing fabric (lightweight cotton, thin but sturdy in beige usually) for all the parts of your pocket that don't show to the outside. Look at a pair of real jeans - notice how the denim is just a facing on the back of the pocket, and everything else is made from a light weight cotton? That will reduce bulk if you use that method. Many ladies jeans have the pocket extension that is set in to the CF zipper to keeep a flat tummy. I don't think it will help with gaposis. You have to be very very careful not to stretch out that seam of pant body to pocket. A stay tape would be good, or easing it slightly. Sometimes that stretching is all you need to create the gap. Basically I just sew'em shut and say 'heck with pockets'.
1/13/06 12:37 PM
PhyllisC said...
Tara - If you have a pair of RTW pants that fit the way you like, you could do a rub off of those and compare it to the HP pattern. That might save some tweaking time. Georgene posted a tip on doing a rub off.
1/13/06 12:03 PM
Tarawebster said...
I would really love to add the pictures of the back and of the side seam, so folks can see where the flare starts as well as how the fit is. I tried to link it but don't know what I did wrong. I think I followed the directions on how to add a picture link, and have the pics in my album. I'll keep trying! edited to add: Thanks to Debbie Cook I figured out how to add pics to my review, so now the back and the side view are in the review. I wish the side view pic was longer so you could see where it flares from the knee, as that is one of my favorite parts of the this style. Tara
1/13/06 11:20 AM
kwpanthermom said...
This is a wonderful review because you've made it very encouraging for me, who is a bit reluctant to try a HotPattern, to really consider ordering one! And your muslin looks very well done, surely it's a wearable muslin! As far as the pockets, I looked at the pattern picture and that style of slanted pocket can be difficult to fit without gapping. When I've made pants with that style but with more of a vertical line to the slant, I usually have to let the front side seam out from the waist and the hip to allow more fabric there, but that's really only helpful if you're making slacks which don't fit as snugly as we usually want our jeans to fit. And it's not just us with curves there that create the issue; my teenage daughter is flat as a pancake in her tummy and is very slender in the hips but her slanted pockets gape on a pair of perfectly-snug fitting jeans she has. When I look at her it seems to be how her hipbones jutt just a tad that cause them to gape. Maybe it has more to do with the amount of ease needed in the style and not the amount of curves we have. It COULD be that the slant of the pocket itself (the slant line on the front of the pants pattern) needs to be widened a bit using a slash-and-spread method to allow more fabric there so it can curve over our curves more easily. It would look baggy on the hanger but smoother without gaping on us.
1/13/06 10:34 AM
licarritc said...
This is really helpful! I have these and haven't started them yet because I need to alter so much. it is great to hear that they are worth the work even in the mulin stage.
1/13/06 8:55 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Good job on your muslin. Sounds like you've almost got them mastered. Looking forward to the update of this review with your final pair.
1/13/06 8:13 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Thanks for showing your muslin on these. I actually like to see the progress of a project. Glad they're comfy and can't wait to see your next pair!
1/13/06 8:02 AM
Sewliz said...
I think your muslin looks really good in this picture. Side seam pockets never work well in a form fitting pant IMHO especially when the wearer has real curves. A pocket stay helps, if there is not one now. The bottom piece of the pocket that sews to the side seam extends all the way to, and is sewn into, the zipper seam. For heavy fabrics you can use a lighter weight fabric for the pocketing and have fashion fabric only where it might show. Good luck on your next pair, I suspect they will be fabulous!
1/13/06 8:00 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Don't be embarrassed - it was a great review! Glad to hear that it worked overall for you - I can't wait to see how your finished pants turn out!
1/13/06 7:31 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I think it's great that you reviewed this, even if it's not your best work. Pants are THE hardest fitting challenge, bar none. Thanks for a very informative review! -Ann
1/13/06 7:00 AM
MaryBeth said...
I agree, this is a helpful review with the caveat that you update it as you come up with the wonderful final version we know you will execute. I am glad to hear you love the cut so far. They are very slim through the thighs and I'll be curious to see a side shot to see where the boot flare begins on the pant leg.
1/13/06 6:49 AM
fiberfanatic said...
Don't be a bit embarrassed to post this review...lots of us need to know what you've learned along the way. Thanks for taking the time to write the review. I look forward to seeing the finished product too.
1/13/06 4:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

brerrabbit.com Bow-Tied Blouse

photo
by: Bex81

Review
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
New Look 6121

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review