SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4518 (Blouse)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1245 times 
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Learn To Sewstar
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/06 12:32 PM
Last Updated:1/13/06 2:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Unfortunately, I'm not picking up your links, so I can't see your pictures. I'll check back later. Sorry it didn't work for you. I see your pictures now. Personally, I gave up on McCalls patterns because I find them too boxy to be flattering on me. But you did a great job sewing.
1/13/06 12:40 PM
Cambric Tea said...
http://www.yursoftware.com/WWW/Img_0562A.jpg Your image link works it just repeats a few times. That's an easy fix. (: Well, I think you could go down a size, if you wanted, but I think you got a good fit, it's just not a fitted pattern. Good job! Try vertical darts, they are a great way to customize the fit-imazation. (:
1/13/06 1:11 PM
CatherineN said...
Your shirt just looks too large a size for you. It is a loose style, as Cambric Tea pointed out, with low arm holes. Your sewing is nice and you have the patience to get a good fit, to say nothing of the patience to lose weight. You are learning alot here and at your classes. Keep it up!
1/13/06 1:40 PM
pterion said...
I actually thought it looked fine too, just very loose in the styling. You did a nice job on the muslin though. Sorry the pattern didn't work for you. I've found McCall's designs do tend toward the "boxy look".
1/13/06 2:27 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I liked how the blouse fit through the body, it's just too big in the shoulders and neckline. If this is a multi-sized pattern, what I'd do is just cut two sizes smaller in the neckline, shoulder, and armscye. Then move out to the bigger size at the sideseam, including the larger dart. Then cut the smaller sleevecap and go larger in the underarm seam on the sleeve.
1/13/06 2:39 PM
Learn To Sew said...
I would like to thank Sherril for all the help she has given me in learning to post with picture. I still do not have McCalls envelope picture up, but mine are here now. Thanks, Sherril!
1/13/06 2:45 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I agree that the shirt is too big for you, but you've lost weight (yay!) so that's to be expected now. I also think the dart point is too close to your actual bust point. But before altering, I would check the smaller size pattern. Your sewing looks great, and take Cambric Tea's suggestion and add some vertical waist darts for some shaping. This can still be a quite wearable blouse as you continue to get thinner.
1/13/06 3:43 PM
Liana said...
I agree with Debbie. The first thing I noticed was that the dart was too long. That may be a function of weight-loss, but it may be that your ideal dart-ending position is not in the average spot, and you'll need to always check this. It does look too big in general, but a very nice job of construction! If we were still into the oversize shirts, it would be perfect!
1/13/06 4:17 PM
Linda F said...
Another great job sewing. This must feel good to put this on and see how your body changed since October. You are on your way to becoming an accomplished sewist.
1/13/06 4:32 PM
Learn To Sew said...
I put the shirt on last night, and the first thing my husband told me is that dart is too long. If I really wanted it to point to the apex, well, I accomplished it very well! That was not my intention, thank you. I agree, it is too long on me. I think if I want to make another one up, I'll go back to the Simplicity 5801, as it is not so boxy and the shoulders fit so much better.
1/13/06 6:25 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Carol, I'd stick with the other pattern as it fits you so much better than this one.
1/13/06 6:41 PM
diane s said...
I've made this pattern twice for myself and mine is also too boxy, one I wear as an overblouse unbuttoned and the camp shirt is a now a swimsuit coverup.
1/13/06 8:57 PM
CarolynD said...
Thank you for posting something that did not work. I gain just as much from these reviews as the ones that do work. I agree that this boxy style doesn't do you justice, I think you would look very pretty in more draping and flowing styles.
1/14/06 0:35 AM
layla said...
What about a Sash around the waist in a different color?
1/14/06 2:06 PM
NewbieLou said...
I just purchased this pattern (as a learn to sew pattern) and now I'm not sure. But the pattern states it a "Misses', Men's and Teen Boy's Shirt". You may want to do another shirt but this time for your husband.
8/31/06 8:26 PM
hat-and-bag-lady said...
I don't mind it: but then I didn't make it in a light fabric. I made it in a corduroy; it looks like a jacket and I have received many compliments: ie" Nice Jacket".
2/10/07 6:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5775

photo
by: style insp...

Review