SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2401 (1952 Design/Vintage Vogue)

11 more reviews
Viewed 2077 times 
Reviewed by:Oziroo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Oziroostar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/7/03
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/06 8:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
This dress does look great when you're standing up (and there isn't a strong breeze!). Perhaps you could come up with a solution with press studs (snaps)or something to keep the wrap closed.
1/13/06 8:50 PM
Lori Sews said...
I agree, it's beautiful standing. The style is gorgeous, I love the color. It looks great on you. Too bad about the petticoat. BTW, I love the hen party theme. :) Sounds like fun.
1/13/06 9:03 PM
PVA said...
Well, I guess there might be some small comfort in the fact that it was a "hen party", not co-ed! I love the style, fabric, fit, color -- what else is there? Is there some way you can insert a kind of wing that would connect the skirt front to the wrap,one on each side? Maybe triangular shape, with the point at the top & the width at the bottom. Otherwise you're committed to remaining standing &/or wearing a coat!
1/13/06 9:51 PM
Re Becca said...
That looks fabulous! The side panels issue sounds like something that I would do. I would proudly swing it over itself in the front and declared that it was designed that way! There may be a way the you could put a button placket on the opening, and put a line of fake buttons... You might consider sewing a button through all layers of the fabric and seeing if it would lay correctly. Just a thought, I hate to see you not wear such a beautiful dress that you put so much work into, the color looks great on you.
1/13/06 10:07 PM
Liana said...
This looks so nice! I have this pattern, but haven't tried it yet. As I read through the instructions, I wondered if the wrap would be a problem. Why do they do things like that? I wonder if that style originally had a "for show" petticoat under it or something? It looks lovely anyway, and the girls at the hen party probably really enjoyed it!
1/13/06 10:13 PM
sylvia988 said...
You did a marvelous job, this dress is absolutly stunning on you! ! !
1/13/06 10:39 PM
sylvia988 said...
You did a marvelous job, this dress is absolutly stunnung on you! ! !
1/13/06 10:39 PM
Judy Williment said...
I love how htis dress looks on you - very nice around the waist especially. If it were me, I'd stitch the overlapping panels to the underneath for about half the distance up from the hem. Alternatively, make a petticoat from the same fabric as the outer dress so that when it falls open, you see the same fabric anyway. That should disguise the fact that it's flapping open.
1/13/06 10:48 PM
Cambric Tea said...
I your dress very much. I agree with ReBecca that the petticoat showing is kind of hot, if you decide it is. Very nice work. (:
1/13/06 10:48 PM
SewLimited said...
Beautiful dress! Diane H reviewed this on 9/16/04, this was her solution for the wrap "I added 1/4-inch elastic to each side of the skirt panel at the widest part of hips and snapped ends together around my backside". Where in Oz are you? My sister has been in Freemantle for 26 yrs, her daughter is now in Brisbane at "the Uni" there. Wish I could get over there more often.
1/14/06 1:42 AM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous looking dress standing up. I like the idea of a self-fabric petticoat for the sitting problem.
1/14/06 5:26 AM
Vonnevo said...
It's fabulous ! I like Judy's idea of the matching underskirt too. If you can make it to our PR Weekend, I would love to see this for Show and Tell :))
1/14/06 5:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress in spite of the "falling" apart when sitting. Judy Willimet's suggestion sounds like one that is doable. Thanks for reviewing.
1/14/06 6:32 AM
Ann Smith said...
I want to go to a Stepford Wives party.
1/14/06 4:29 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Love the dress! Perhaps an underskirt of the same fabric (instead of the black petticoat) would 'solve' the split problem.
1/14/06 6:21 PM
Oziroo said...
Thanks everyone for your kind and helpful comments. Sewsageblue, I also live in Western Australia, in Doubleview, about 20 mins drive from Fremantle!
1/14/06 8:53 PM
MrsBaldwin said...
I had the same issue with the flaps. If I made it again, which I probably never will, I think I would make a full skirt underneath instead of that scanty front piece!
6/2/08 9:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 1882

photo
by: lydianmode

Review
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2008-30

photo
by: myraminx

Review