SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2401 (1952 Design/Vintage Vogue)

11 more reviews
Viewed 2080 times 
Reviewed by:Oziroo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Oziroostar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/7/03
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/06 8:44 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsBaldwin said...
I had the same issue with the flaps. If I made it again, which I probably never will, I think I would make a full skirt underneath instead of that scanty front piece!
6/2/08 9:18 PM
Oziroo said...
Thanks everyone for your kind and helpful comments. Sewsageblue, I also live in Western Australia, in Doubleview, about 20 mins drive from Fremantle!
1/14/06 8:53 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Love the dress! Perhaps an underskirt of the same fabric (instead of the black petticoat) would 'solve' the split problem.
1/14/06 6:21 PM
Ann Smith said...
I want to go to a Stepford Wives party.
1/14/06 4:29 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress in spite of the "falling" apart when sitting. Judy Willimet's suggestion sounds like one that is doable. Thanks for reviewing.
1/14/06 6:32 AM
Vonnevo said...
It's fabulous ! I like Judy's idea of the matching underskirt too. If you can make it to our PR Weekend, I would love to see this for Show and Tell :))
1/14/06 5:44 AM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous looking dress standing up. I like the idea of a self-fabric petticoat for the sitting problem.
1/14/06 5:26 AM
SewLimited said...
Beautiful dress! Diane H reviewed this on 9/16/04, this was her solution for the wrap "I added 1/4-inch elastic to each side of the skirt panel at the widest part of hips and snapped ends together around my backside". Where in Oz are you? My sister has been in Freemantle for 26 yrs, her daughter is now in Brisbane at "the Uni" there. Wish I could get over there more often.
1/14/06 1:42 AM
Cambric Tea said...
I your dress very much. I agree with ReBecca that the petticoat showing is kind of hot, if you decide it is. Very nice work. (:
1/13/06 10:48 PM
Judy Williment said...
I love how htis dress looks on you - very nice around the waist especially. If it were me, I'd stitch the overlapping panels to the underneath for about half the distance up from the hem. Alternatively, make a petticoat from the same fabric as the outer dress so that when it falls open, you see the same fabric anyway. That should disguise the fact that it's flapping open.
1/13/06 10:48 PM
sylvia988 said...
You did a marvelous job, this dress is absolutly stunnung on you! ! !
1/13/06 10:39 PM
sylvia988 said...
You did a marvelous job, this dress is absolutly stunning on you! ! !
1/13/06 10:39 PM
Liana said...
This looks so nice! I have this pattern, but haven't tried it yet. As I read through the instructions, I wondered if the wrap would be a problem. Why do they do things like that? I wonder if that style originally had a "for show" petticoat under it or something? It looks lovely anyway, and the girls at the hen party probably really enjoyed it!
1/13/06 10:13 PM
Re Becca said...
That looks fabulous! The side panels issue sounds like something that I would do. I would proudly swing it over itself in the front and declared that it was designed that way! There may be a way the you could put a button placket on the opening, and put a line of fake buttons... You might consider sewing a button through all layers of the fabric and seeing if it would lay correctly. Just a thought, I hate to see you not wear such a beautiful dress that you put so much work into, the color looks great on you.
1/13/06 10:07 PM
PVA said...
Well, I guess there might be some small comfort in the fact that it was a "hen party", not co-ed! I love the style, fabric, fit, color -- what else is there? Is there some way you can insert a kind of wing that would connect the skirt front to the wrap,one on each side? Maybe triangular shape, with the point at the top & the width at the bottom. Otherwise you're committed to remaining standing &/or wearing a coat!
1/13/06 9:51 PM
Lori Sews said...
I agree, it's beautiful standing. The style is gorgeous, I love the color. It looks great on you. Too bad about the petticoat. BTW, I love the hen party theme. :) Sounds like fun.
1/13/06 9:03 PM
KathleenS said...
This dress does look great when you're standing up (and there isn't a strong breeze!). Perhaps you could come up with a solution with press studs (snaps)or something to keep the wrap closed.
1/13/06 8:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 2443

photo
by: SewingDo0f

Review