Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2401 (1952 Design/Vintage Vogue) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2059 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Oziroo
photo
Friend of PR
About Oziroostar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/7/03
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/06 8:44 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
This dress does look great when you're standing up (and there isn't a strong breeze!). Perhaps you could come up with a solution with press studs (snaps)or something to keep the wrap closed.
1/13/06 8:50 PM
Lori Sews said...
I agree, it's beautiful standing. The style is gorgeous, I love the color. It looks great on you. Too bad about the petticoat. BTW, I love the hen party theme. :) Sounds like fun.
1/13/06 9:03 PM
PVA said...
Well, I guess there might be some small comfort in the fact that it was a "hen party", not co-ed! I love the style, fabric, fit, color -- what else is there? Is there some way you can insert a kind of wing that would connect the skirt front to the wrap,one on each side? Maybe triangular shape, with the point at the top & the width at the bottom. Otherwise you're committed to remaining standing &/or wearing a coat!
1/13/06 9:51 PM
Re Becca said...
That looks fabulous! The side panels issue sounds like something that I would do. I would proudly swing it over itself in the front and declared that it was designed that way! There may be a way the you could put a button placket on the opening, and put a line of fake buttons... You might consider sewing a button through all layers of the fabric and seeing if it would lay correctly. Just a thought, I hate to see you not wear such a beautiful dress that you put so much work into, the color looks great on you.
1/13/06 10:07 PM
Liana said...
This looks so nice! I have this pattern, but haven't tried it yet. As I read through the instructions, I wondered if the wrap would be a problem. Why do they do things like that? I wonder if that style originally had a "for show" petticoat under it or something? It looks lovely anyway, and the girls at the hen party probably really enjoyed it!
1/13/06 10:13 PM
sylvia988 said...
You did a marvelous job, this dress is absolutly stunning on you! ! !
1/13/06 10:39 PM
sylvia988 said...
You did a marvelous job, this dress is absolutly stunnung on you! ! !
1/13/06 10:39 PM
Judy Williment said...
I love how htis dress looks on you - very nice around the waist especially. If it were me, I'd stitch the overlapping panels to the underneath for about half the distance up from the hem. Alternatively, make a petticoat from the same fabric as the outer dress so that when it falls open, you see the same fabric anyway. That should disguise the fact that it's flapping open.
1/13/06 10:48 PM
Cambric Tea said...
I your dress very much. I agree with ReBecca that the petticoat showing is kind of hot, if you decide it is. Very nice work. (:
1/13/06 10:48 PM
SewLimited said...
Beautiful dress! Diane H reviewed this on 9/16/04, this was her solution for the wrap "I added 1/4-inch elastic to each side of the skirt panel at the widest part of hips and snapped ends together around my backside". Where in Oz are you? My sister has been in Freemantle for 26 yrs, her daughter is now in Brisbane at "the Uni" there. Wish I could get over there more often.
1/14/06 1:42 AM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous looking dress standing up. I like the idea of a self-fabric petticoat for the sitting problem.
1/14/06 5:26 AM
Vonnevo said...
It's fabulous ! I like Judy's idea of the matching underskirt too. If you can make it to our PR Weekend, I would love to see this for Show and Tell :))
1/14/06 5:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress in spite of the "falling" apart when sitting. Judy Willimet's suggestion sounds like one that is doable. Thanks for reviewing.
1/14/06 6:32 AM
Ann Smith said...
I want to go to a Stepford Wives party.
1/14/06 4:29 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Love the dress! Perhaps an underskirt of the same fabric (instead of the black petticoat) would 'solve' the split problem.
1/14/06 6:21 PM
Oziroo said...
Thanks everyone for your kind and helpful comments. Sewsageblue, I also live in Western Australia, in Doubleview, about 20 mins drive from Fremantle!
1/14/06 8:53 PM
MrsBaldwin said...
I had the same issue with the flaps. If I made it again, which I probably never will, I think I would make a full skirt underneath instead of that scanty front piece!
6/2/08 9:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 8488 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by FruGirl on 11/12/10
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2823
photo
Review by Lorri on 12/31/08
Read Review

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6931 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6931 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8924 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8924 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us