SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 675 (Mani's Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1890 times 
Reviewed by:jewelea
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jeweleastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/06 2:06 PM
Last Updated:1/28/06 2:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 11 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mobycat said...
Your blouse is beautiful. I finished my 2nd muslin today. Lines are very faint on the pattern and I think this is main reason 1st muslin didn't fit. Made 7w second time. Fits perfectly in shoulders. I ending up putting in bust darts which seemed kind of weird since it has princess seams; but it did look better. (6w with C cup was too tight.) Also added curve to the side seams for a less boxy look. Also understiched the front & back facings rather than topstiching. Still haven't decided if I'm going to wear it....I'll go back and look at it in a few days.
8/25/07 7:27 PM
Luckylibbet said...
jewelea, thanks for the info - I loved the v effect of the neckline, so will purchase today. I have a lovely light rayon in my stash, so will also use the advise on the stay tape. Thanks!
1/30/06 8:04 AM
SewLimited said...
Nice top, good to see it made up. I got the pattern to use antique buttons down the front.
1/29/06 8:29 PM
jewelea said...
To Luckylibbet, the right (overlapping) pattern piece is fairly straight across the top. I redrew it into a more scooped shape. And to Pam Z, yes, you can probably use a variety of fabrics, but as I said, on a thickish fabric, use a thinner fabric for the facing. Also, on a fabric with less body than the one I used, you might want to use light stay tape on the right, overlapping edge as it is partially on the bias, but I'm not sure if that would be necessary or not. I didn't have a problem with it. There is no interfacing called for in the pattern directions, nor did I use any.
1/29/06 12:03 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Jewelea, question for you - the pattern photo shows the neckline as an asymetical V shape cornered at the top button, but the pattern line drawing and your photo show a more circular shape. I am considering buying this one, would like to know which it really is. Thanks!
1/29/06 11:33 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty top. Love the fabric and rich color.
1/29/06 10:36 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice looking jacket. I'm surprised this is the 1st review on this pattern. Great information - thanks.
1/29/06 9:22 AM
Jane S said...
Thanks for posting this lovely top. I agree that your photo shows some details, like those shoulder seams, that are't always clear on the pattern pictures. I like Peggy's patterns but I too recommend making a muslin, especially for the shoulder area. I've found them wide for my narrow shoulders
1/29/06 9:12 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful top! Thank you for the information on the sleeves. Good review.
1/29/06 5:55 AM
Pam Z said...
Very attractive blouse. The pattern suggests that you can make it out of most any fabric...Do you agree? Thanks for the helpful review!
1/29/06 1:13 AM
BjP said...
This is a very nice looking blouse in a style I really like. Nice job, thanks for the details.
1/28/06 9:44 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great style - I'll have to look for that pattern.
1/28/06 7:03 PM
Elona said...
Very handsome. Your photo shows detail that the pattern illustration doesn't.
1/28/06 5:31 PM
PegL said...
Pretty blouse! Thanks for the review as I had wondered about this pattern!
1/28/06 4:32 PM
BeckyC said...
Very lovely blouse and very helpful review.
1/28/06 3:55 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review -- it must be a new top, I've never seen it before. I really like it & will put it on my "wish list".
1/28/06 3:41 PM
touran said...
Very good looking top. I hadn't seen this pattern before and I really like the asymmetric closing.
1/28/06 2:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

McCall's 6236

photo
by: BADBamaBun...

Review

Pattern

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-134

photo
by: Re Becca

Review
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

More Info
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

More Info