SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 675 (Mani's Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1882 times 
Reviewed by:jewelea
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jeweleastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/06 2:06 PM
Last Updated:1/28/06 2:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 11 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
touran said...
Very good looking top. I hadn't seen this pattern before and I really like the asymmetric closing.
1/28/06 2:51 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review -- it must be a new top, I've never seen it before. I really like it & will put it on my "wish list".
1/28/06 3:41 PM
BeckyC said...
Very lovely blouse and very helpful review.
1/28/06 3:55 PM
PegL said...
Pretty blouse! Thanks for the review as I had wondered about this pattern!
1/28/06 4:32 PM
Elona said...
Very handsome. Your photo shows detail that the pattern illustration doesn't.
1/28/06 5:31 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great style - I'll have to look for that pattern.
1/28/06 7:03 PM
BjP said...
This is a very nice looking blouse in a style I really like. Nice job, thanks for the details.
1/28/06 9:44 PM
Pam Z said...
Very attractive blouse. The pattern suggests that you can make it out of most any fabric...Do you agree? Thanks for the helpful review!
1/29/06 1:13 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful top! Thank you for the information on the sleeves. Good review.
1/29/06 5:55 AM
Jane S said...
Thanks for posting this lovely top. I agree that your photo shows some details, like those shoulder seams, that are't always clear on the pattern pictures. I like Peggy's patterns but I too recommend making a muslin, especially for the shoulder area. I've found them wide for my narrow shoulders
1/29/06 9:12 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice looking jacket. I'm surprised this is the 1st review on this pattern. Great information - thanks.
1/29/06 9:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty top. Love the fabric and rich color.
1/29/06 10:36 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Jewelea, question for you - the pattern photo shows the neckline as an asymetical V shape cornered at the top button, but the pattern line drawing and your photo show a more circular shape. I am considering buying this one, would like to know which it really is. Thanks!
1/29/06 11:33 AM
jewelea said...
To Luckylibbet, the right (overlapping) pattern piece is fairly straight across the top. I redrew it into a more scooped shape. And to Pam Z, yes, you can probably use a variety of fabrics, but as I said, on a thickish fabric, use a thinner fabric for the facing. Also, on a fabric with less body than the one I used, you might want to use light stay tape on the right, overlapping edge as it is partially on the bias, but I'm not sure if that would be necessary or not. I didn't have a problem with it. There is no interfacing called for in the pattern directions, nor did I use any.
1/29/06 12:03 PM
SewLimited said...
Nice top, good to see it made up. I got the pattern to use antique buttons down the front.
1/29/06 8:29 PM
Luckylibbet said...
jewelea, thanks for the info - I loved the v effect of the neckline, so will purchase today. I have a lovely light rayon in my stash, so will also use the advise on the stay tape. Thanks!
1/30/06 8:04 AM
Mobycat said...
Your blouse is beautiful. I finished my 2nd muslin today. Lines are very faint on the pattern and I think this is main reason 1st muslin didn't fit. Made 7w second time. Fits perfectly in shoulders. I ending up putting in bust darts which seemed kind of weird since it has princess seams; but it did look better. (6w with C cup was too tight.) Also added curve to the side seams for a less boxy look. Also understiched the front & back facings rather than topstiching. Still haven't decided if I'm going to wear it....I'll go back and look at it in a few days.
8/25/07 7:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now