Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Trumpet Skirt (Mekong River Trumpet Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1802 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:julieb
photo
About juliebstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/28/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/06 6:48 PM
Last Updated:2/1/06 10:35 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
elizajo said...
Thanks for the thorough directions on the godets. Beautiful job!
2/1/06 7:50 PM
NoraNora said...
I ,love how this looks in a striped fabric! Thanks for the great review!
2/1/06 8:35 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Beautiful! Can we see a picture on you?
2/1/06 8:55 PM
julieb said...
Lorna: I'll see if I can get a picture while wearing the skirt. In the meantime I noticed that the wrong picture was in the featured spot. I've posted one of the entire skirt now.
2/1/06 10:36 PM
carolynD43 said...
what a helpful review!
2/2/06 5:23 AM
Nickle said...
Very nice skirt, love the pattern. Thanks for all the info on the godets.
2/2/06 7:40 AM
Kerry O said...
That's a beautiful skirt! I bet it looks great on you. :)
2/2/06 8:25 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Pretty skirt and good review.
2/2/06 10:52 AM
Elsy said...
When you say that all the fullness happens at knee level and below - does this leave enough room above the knee to walk etc in comfort? Thanks.
2/2/06 12:57 PM
julieb said...
Elsy: This is no problem. The godets actually start about mid-thigh but they don't get wide enough to add visual fullness until fairly low on the skirt.
2/2/06 1:13 PM
Susan R said...
Very pretty skirt. I had never heard of this company, so thanks for bringing it to our attention.
2/2/06 3:51 PM
Diana M said...
VERY nice review -- amazing that a godet skirt is recommended for beginners, but your instructions look wonderful. And the stripes look just lovely.
2/2/06 5:02 PM
Mufffet said...
This great. I am about to make a godet skirt and I just thought I would read th edirections and do it, so your review is just the thing to make me realize it is more than I thought! I will give it a try and see what happens.
3/12/06 4:11 PM
Neefer said...
Thanks for the godet details. I'm making a skirt w/godets, and I wanted to do construction like this. All the references tell one to sew the 2 side panels together first.
8/25/06 11:03 AM
Hilary said...
Thanks for the thorough and helpful review! This is a really pretty skirt!
10/4/07 8:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Sew Liberated growing up sew liberated cape
photo
Review by karrieperr... on 2/23/14
Read Review

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 24644-1003 A-Line Skirt
photo
Review by cimmanon on 7/28/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4762 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 4762 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us