SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Cynthia Guffey Patterns> 5010 (Shawl Collar Jacket)

Viewed 1660 times 
Reviewed by:julieb
photo

 
 
About juliebstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/28/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/06 7:46 PM
Last Updated:2/1/06 10:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AngieC said...
I love your version of the jacket and the fabric!
9/7/06 10:34 PM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket. I took some seminar with Cynthia this past weekend. Your week must have been fantastic!
2/13/06 10:43 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
thanks for the review and the extra pics. I love this jacket, have had the pattern but haven't made it. . . I think I was secretly intimidated that I wouldn't come up to Cynthia's standards! You have inspired me.
2/3/06 1:56 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice jacket. The contrast collar is very attractive.
2/3/06 1:09 AM
PixieCat said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love the collar fabric detail!
2/2/06 4:22 PM
LorelleD said...
Nice Jacket. I like the interesting darts. good review. thankyou.
2/2/06 4:00 PM
Liana said...
What a pretty jacket! Looks like a great pattern. Lucky you to get to sew with Cynthia. Have you made other patterns of hers?
2/2/06 1:54 PM
julieb said...
Queendom: We'll expect a picture and review when you get it finished! Thanks for the nice comments here and on another of my reviews (and to everyone else, too).
2/2/06 1:15 PM
Queendom said...
Love it! I did the muslin when I was with Cynthia last September and had very little to alter as well. It's in the line-up to be made out of red raw silk. Great job, I didn't even think of a contrast collar! I can see all kinds of fabrics used for this jacket.
2/2/06 12:56 PM
Peggy said...
What a lovely jacket!
2/2/06 11:58 AM
kwpanthermom said...
Unique pattern with those darts, vintagey and yet somehow modern at the same time. Great fabric choices and nice work.
2/2/06 10:02 AM
rosephreak said...
This is lovely. Thank you so much for providing alternate views and closeups. It really helps to see what you did. I like the contrasting collar. Nice choice of fabrics.
2/2/06 9:22 AM
julieb said...
Hi Anne: Am sending you a PM with these details but thought I would share with others, too: Here's the yardage for the CG jacket: Size 6,8,10 2-1/8 yard (45"); 1-1/2 yard (60") Size 12,14,16 2-3/8 yard (45"); 1-5/8 yard (60") Size 18,20,22 2-1/2 yard (45"); 1-3/4 yard (60") This assumes the collar is cut from the same fabric. I used less of the base fabric since I cut my collar from contrast.
2/2/06 9:17 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. I like the darts; they look very classy. What is the yardage requirements for this pattern? I have some short yardage of a silk/wool blend that might work nicely with this pattern...
2/2/06 8:35 AM
BeckyC said...
I love the curved darts on the jacket and the fabric choice for the collar. Beautiful! Thank you for the review.
2/2/06 8:31 AM
Jane S said...
What a wonderfully versatile jacket that you can dress up or wear casually. Thanks for such a thorough review also.
2/2/06 8:02 AM
Nickle said...
Great fitted jacket, I bet it looks nice on. Like the collar contrast.
2/2/06 6:43 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What an unusual pattern and I love the curved darts starting in the armsyce. It really shapes up this jacket to fit so well.
2/2/06 0:05 AM
julieb said...
LoriV: You caught my typo -- a WEEK with Cynthia is what I spent. That, too, was spectacular.
2/1/06 10:32 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful little jacket in elegant fabric! The darts are lovely, and your sleeves are perfect.
2/1/06 10:23 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket. Wow, a month with Cynthia Guffey, that must have been incredible.
2/1/06 10:22 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Great looking jacket.
2/1/06 9:37 PM
Lori Sews said...
Very pretty.
2/1/06 9:31 PM
sewfan said...
Very cute jacket! Love the fabric!!! Pam
2/1/06 9:06 PM
Annie- oh said...
This IS a beautifully styled jacket. Thanks for the review - and enjoy wearing it!
2/1/06 8:56 PM
LBJ said...
Very nice. Thanks for bringing this pattern to my attention, I love it.
2/1/06 8:56 PM
PegL said...
Your jacket is fantastic!! I love it! Thanks for the good review too!
2/1/06 8:27 PM
TarheelSewer said...
I love your jacket. The darts radiating from the armhole give it a vintage look. Very nice!
2/1/06 8:05 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Lovely.
2/1/06 7:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

New Look 6910

photo
by: blessedtos...

Review
Kwik Sew 3450

photo
by: Renren

Review
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now