SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6939OOP (Easy Two Hour Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1379 times 
Reviewed by:pterion
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About pterionstarstar
Member since: 11/29/04
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/06 10:19 AM
Last Updated:2/3/06 10:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kwpanthermom said...
You should be very, very proud of this accomplishment! You took a pullover, loose-fitting dress (not even shown in a plaid on the envelope, which means they knew that would increase the 2-hour time to do the matching) and massaged that baby into a fitted sheath with an invisible back zipper and made out of a madras to boot. Not only that, but you knew how to attack the design to fit and reshape AND to have the vision to see that a 6-piece facing can give way to a 2-piece facing which actually adds more beauty, stability, and richness to the dress! Now you know what to look for in a pattern when you want to make your next fitted dress; you might even want to consider just doing a full lining next time instead of your facing (you put it in the same way as your facing)...or you could just keep your new, persoanally drafted pattern and use that! You're definitely up to the challenge. Excellent job!
2/3/06 10:47 AM
Irene Q said...
Congratulations! Your dress looks better than the pattern pictures, IMHO - adding the darts made all the difference. And your plaid matching came out a lot better than mine usually do.
2/3/06 10:53 AM
Kathy in NM said...
You have done a wonderful job adjusting this pattern to fit! It looks very cute and made me consider the pattern, prior to reading your review! You did an excellent job at matching the plaid at the seams!!!! That can be very difficult. And, adapting the one piece facing is great. It is a much nicer finish and the facing stays in. I really think you are being overly critical of the way the plaid falls on the dress. I had to look at it a couple of times to see what you meant. Sometimes we are too critical of ourselves. If you look at the photo, you get a view at the distance that most folks would see. The plaids look fine. It might actually not look as good if they were symetrical. It is a nice plaid in that it pulls the viewer up to your face (even though we can't see it in the photo). It does not pull the eye across. Sometimes, a narrow horizontal will actually act to draw the eye in the vertical, rather than horizontal, which is what this plaid does. Take some time, look at it again, especially the photo. I think you will come to like it. You worked very hard and did an excellent job!
2/3/06 10:57 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Well done. You took a shapeless shift (say that 3 times real fast) and turned it into a shapely shift and with a plaid at that. If you can tackle this project, you can tackle anything! Of course you can wear this lovely dress, it looks great on you. Nice job.
2/3/06 11:34 AM
Pam Z said...
Unfortunately, easy 2 hour patterns are often shapeless and unflattering...so disapointing for beginners. Fantastic job modifying this pattern to look custom made, instead of home made! Can't wait to see what you create next.
2/3/06 12:18 PM
Kay Y said...
Your cautionary notes re choosing a beginner project looked strangely familiar to me - I've been there, exactly! While it makes your early projects harder, it also means you learn lots more. You now have mastered skills you would not have acquired if you had been more cautious. I agree with the others. You did a great job on all aspects of this dress and it looks really good. Nobody (really!) will ever notice, let alone criticize, the very slightly asymetrical placement of the plaid. Wear it with pride. Kay
2/3/06 1:06 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - what an inspiration you are to new sewers. This looks grand and I love the fact that you even chose a more difficult fabric to work with (plaid). Success with this one and many more successful outfits coming.
2/3/06 1:39 PM
Lori V said...
Congratulations on a great dress. I agree with the others. You took a shapeless dress and really have a nice garment in the end. Also, the plaid looks fantastic, nice job.
2/3/06 1:51 PM
Lori Sews said...
Congrats on a very nice dress!
2/3/06 3:37 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
I love the fabric. I do think it looks nice on you
2/3/06 3:39 PM
pterion said...
Thanks to everyone for the encouraging comments!
2/3/06 4:31 PM
ryan's mom said...
pterion, I am very curious as to what your measurements are. Normally I take a Big 4 size 12 (with lots of alterations of course!) and tried a NL top similar in style to the top of your dress. I, too, had terrible back neck gape. A size 10 worked much better for the neckline. In fact, I simply haven't been able to get a NL pattern to fit me right (or to my satisfaction) so in that respect they haven't been a bargain. However, you dress from your pic looks really nice. And although plaids are a pain to match, at least you know everything is on grain.
2/4/06 9:23 AM
AnneM said...
Humbly nothing - you should be very PROUDLY presenting your dress. It's great. And congrats on converting it to a zipper. You are going to improve by leaps and bounds doing things like plaids, walking feet, converting pattern styles, zippers... The best advice for you seems is probably just to keep trying things and being adventurous. (I also was thinking "Wow, this pattern makes a nicer fitting dress than I would have expected", until I read your review and learned all the changes you had to make.)
2/4/06 9:46 AM
CarolynGM said...
I never would have noticed any plaid asymmetry in a million years. I was too busy noticing how well the plaid matched at the seams. Congratulations on giving yourself some challenges and making a dress that is a tremendous improvement over what came out of the envelope.
2/4/06 10:08 AM
potter said...
Very nice work. Throw this dress on in the summer with a cute pair of sandals and you are good to go girl! Kudos for following all the learning-steps: muslin, zipper, altering your pattern, adding darts, etc. I think all of that and your plaid matching and redesign of the facings have you right on track. Thanks for sharing!
2/5/06 1:09 AM
Hilary said...
I think it looks great on you, and should definitely be worn! It took me awhile to figure out what you meant about the back being not symmetrical, but I *finally* see it..I have a feeling no one else will notice it, since I had trouble seeing it even when I was looking for it, lol! I have trouble with the tops of inv. zips, too. You did a great job with the facing, too. Overall, very nice!
5/2/06 11:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 6078

photo
by: moseley de...

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now