SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1673 times 
Reviewed by:Tarawebster
photo

 
 
About Tarawebsterstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/31/03
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/06 2:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LBJ said...
Lovely!
2/6/06 2:08 PM
fiberfanatic said...
What a beautiful dress! The fabric really makes the simple style special. I may have to break my fabric buying fast...it sounds so nice.
2/6/06 2:30 PM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful. Fit is great, fabric is great and it looks like your technique was great. This looks like expensive boutique!
2/6/06 2:32 PM
jemgirlca said...
It looks fantastic! I love that fabric. :)
2/6/06 2:35 PM
bunz said...
Great dress! Looks like the fit is perfect.
2/6/06 2:38 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful
2/6/06 2:42 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very pretty and great fit! I recently had a fabric tell me it wanted to be this dress, too. Hope mine turns out as well.
2/6/06 2:50 PM
Mary Gillette said...
Yours is prettier than the pattern photos. It looks beautiful on you!
2/6/06 3:06 PM
Diane E said...
Absolutely beautiful! Perfect fabric. You look lovely!
2/6/06 3:10 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great fabric. I looks like you did a fab job grading the hips.
2/6/06 3:13 PM
pterion said...
Such a pretty dress! You did a beautiful job and I love the look of the fabric. Yes, yours IS prettier than the pattern photo!
2/6/06 3:18 PM
Mlle Laura said...
Lovely dress! A great combination of fabric and style. I've been eyeing up that fabric every day for the past few months it's been up...can't afford it right now though (cry).
2/6/06 3:25 PM
Tarawebster said...

2/6/06 3:33 PM
Lori Sews said...
Tara, this is so pretty. Great job!
2/6/06 3:33 PM
Tarawebster said...
Thanks for the nice comments. I never would have thought to use this fabric if the TS website had not recommended this pattern in their description of the fabric. I've learned to really trust what they say about matching fabric to pattern. I love how the fabric sewed up so much that I ordered two more yards to make a blouse to wear with pants I plan to make from another fabric I got there. The walking foot made it possible to get the center front seam keep the geometric pattern of the fabric matched up. I'm not sure I could have done that as easily without the walking foot. I've also finally got it through my head that in order to make a garmet look high end boutique, it helps enormously to use high quality fabric. My technique is getting better, but it is not stellar like some of the more advanced sewists on this site. The fabric is what made this dress work If your skills are decent, and you have a well drafted pattern, having high quality fabric is probably the single most important factor in ending up with a well made garmet The point I'm hoping to make is even if you are a beginner, don't be afraid to use very high quality fabric on a pattern that you've made a muslin from and are comfortable with. It will raise your sewing confidence and give you the inspiration to want to sew more, thus increasing your skills.
2/6/06 3:36 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Now you must take some credit for your work, lol. Beautiful dress and it looks lovely on you.
2/6/06 4:48 PM
Lori V said...
very pretty dress. I like the fabric, too.
2/6/06 5:13 PM
Sewliz said...
How beautiful. Now I want one too!
2/6/06 6:53 PM
MaryDL said...
I have always avoided this pattern b/c of my pear shape, but you did a lovely job and have me rethinking this pattern. It looks great on you and drapes very nicely. You did a lovely job.
2/6/06 9:34 PM
AndreaP said...
Great job! You look wonderful in this dress. This pattern has a beautiful fit, and the fabric is so striking!
2/6/06 10:34 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I kept eyeing this fabric. It made up into a very pretty dress. It looks very nice on you.
2/7/06 5:26 AM
ryan's mom said...
Absolutely fabulous dress! Doesn't this pattern rock!?!? Great to know about this fabric. I bought my first fabric purchase from them last month and have a few samples as well. Nice to know this particular fabric worked so well for you.
2/7/06 6:47 AM
AnneM said...
Great dress, great print. And thanks for the review - I think; one more arguement for me to buy this pattern.
2/7/06 8:37 AM
CarolynD said...
What a fantastic dress, I am sure you will get years of use out it. It is beautiful.
2/7/06 10:34 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Totally agree with your better-fabric analysis! Granted, it's easy to get better fit than you can buy, and that helps in making something look good. But for it to look extra good, you also need good-quality fabric. Now that doesn't mean you have to pay a whole lot for good fabric :-), but you're better off buying good fabric on sale at a decent shop than paying even regular price at.. say a chain that'll remain unnamed :-).
2/7/06 11:33 AM
Jane S said...
Great fabric choice for this pattern and wonderful result. Truly a designer look with custom fit.
2/7/06 2:58 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Excellent dress. It's very flattering on you.
2/7/06 8:04 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Your version looks better than the one on the pattern envelope!
2/11/06 7:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8827

photo
by: stitchywit...

Review
Kwik Sew 3826

photo
by: myeclectic...

Review

Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now