Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2439 (Fleece tops) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 1234 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/14/06 9:45 PM
Last Updated:2/14/06 9:51 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Mens - Shirts    Mens    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sweetviolets said...
This is an interesting review and I suspect that my experience was very different. I made it in an XL for my son who is an ex-bodybuilder with a few recently acquired extra pounds. It fit perfectly in the shoulders and chest but the arms were waaaay too long (he wears a 34 sleeve). I did it in 300 weight camo fleece for wearing during paintball 'play'. I agree about the zipper application being 'fiddly' with the instructions not as clearly written as I have come to expect from Kwik Sew patterns. Both shirts look amazingly alike even though the sizes vary so greatly.
2/15/06 0:45 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your version turned out very nicely.
2/15/06 0:56 AM
Pam Z said...
I think it's easy to be a bit too critical of your own work. What does your hubby think of the fit? I think he looks nice and comfortable to me.
2/15/06 2:30 AM
AnneM said...
6'6"? Good thing that you sew. Congrats on your zipper. You could have fooled me that your husband isn't slim. The top looks very nice on him. I initially found a wider seam allowance easier to work with as well; with 1/4" I would not have both layers caught on occasion. With some practice, the smaller seam allowance will be easier. I hadn't realized that one of the views on this pattern was a trim fit, which would have been nice, but it sounds like the sizes might still be too large for my DH.
2/15/06 5:28 AM
julesberry said...
Pam Z - I wasn't really being critical of my own work! ;-) I think I adjusted the pattern to fit! My criticism is of the pattern since I don't think there is a View B for men of less than average height or build! AnneM - Husband is slim as in not fat, but the point is that he isn't underweight. He's been an M-L size plus about 3"-4" extra length in everything else. As for View A - See the other reviews. The measurements imply it really is close fitting so should be fine. Perhaps that is the view to use for a smaller man. Problem is it isn't quite the same style since it doesn't have the dropped shoulders, and presumably the arms are tighter too. More a sports top style than a casual top style.
2/15/06 7:49 AM
Debbie Cook said...

Despite the problems you had with sizing, this turned out very nice.

Just FYI ... KS patterns for men *do* run a size larger than what you're used to with RTW. So, a S will equal a RTW M. Also, "Fitted" will equal tight, "Close Fitting" will equal a bit looser, "Loose Fit" equals baggy. And since this is a casual style, it will be semi loose even with a "close fitting" designation. As your review shows, you're already figuring this out. ;-)


2/15/06 8:13 AM
lisaquilts said...
Thanks for this review. I have this pattern at home, but have yet to put it together. I think there must be *some* reason (probably psychological) why these and other menswear don't often use extra-small as a size (no man wishes to be "extra small," I imagine :) . My dh is very lean (a distance runner) and I use KS smalls as the mediums were way too big. You did a great job on this top and now you're all set to make other KS tops!
6/24/07 9:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 8185
photo
Review by FuzzyNavel... on 6/19/07
Read Review

Vogue 8951 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8951 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Renfrew Top Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Renfrew Top Pattern

Details
Price: $15.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6265
photo
Review by Selina on 5/31/08
Read Review

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us