SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2439 (Fleece tops)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1235 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews: 60 (patterns: 56)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/14/06 9:45 PM
Last Updated:2/14/06 9:51 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Mens - Shirts    Mens    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by julesberry using this Pattern

photo
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lisaquilts said... (6/24/07 9:55 PM) Reply
Thanks for this review. I have this pattern at home, but have yet to put it together. I think there must be *some* reason (probably psychological) why these and other menswear don't often use extra-small as a size (no man wishes to be "extra small," I imagine :) . My dh is very lean (a distance runner) and I use KS smalls as the mediums were way too big. You did a great job on this top and now you're all set to make other KS tops!
Debbie Cook said... (2/15/06 8:13 AM) Reply

Despite the problems you had with sizing, this turned out very nice.

Just FYI ... KS patterns for men *do* run a size larger than what you're used to with RTW. So, a S will equal a RTW M. Also, "Fitted" will equal tight, "Close Fitting" will equal a bit looser, "Loose Fit" equals baggy. And since this is a casual style, it will be semi loose even with a "close fitting" designation. As your review shows, you're already figuring this out. ;-)


julesberry said... (2/15/06 7:49 AM) Reply
Pam Z - I wasn't really being critical of my own work! ;-) I think I adjusted the pattern to fit! My criticism is of the pattern since I don't think there is a View B for men of less than average height or build! AnneM - Husband is slim as in not fat, but the point is that he isn't underweight. He's been an M-L size plus about 3"-4" extra length in everything else. As for View A - See the other reviews. The measurements imply it really is close fitting so should be fine. Perhaps that is the view to use for a smaller man. Problem is it isn't quite the same style since it doesn't have the dropped shoulders, and presumably the arms are tighter too. More a sports top style than a casual top style.
AnneM said... (2/15/06 5:28 AM) Reply
6'6"? Good thing that you sew. Congrats on your zipper. You could have fooled me that your husband isn't slim. The top looks very nice on him. I initially found a wider seam allowance easier to work with as well; with 1/4" I would not have both layers caught on occasion. With some practice, the smaller seam allowance will be easier. I hadn't realized that one of the views on this pattern was a trim fit, which would have been nice, but it sounds like the sizes might still be too large for my DH.
Pam Z said... (2/15/06 2:30 AM) Reply
I think it's easy to be a bit too critical of your own work. What does your hubby think of the fit? I think he looks nice and comfortable to me.
Cathy Loves Fabric said... (2/15/06 0:56 AM) Reply
Your version turned out very nicely.
sweetviolets said... (2/15/06 0:45 AM) Reply
This is an interesting review and I suspect that my experience was very different. I made it in an XL for my son who is an ex-bodybuilder with a few recently acquired extra pounds. It fit perfectly in the shoulders and chest but the arms were waaaay too long (he wears a 34 sleeve). I did it in 300 weight camo fleece for wearing during paintball 'play'. I agree about the zipper application being 'fiddly' with the instructions not as clearly written as I have come to expect from Kwik Sew patterns. Both shirts look amazingly alike even though the sizes vary so greatly.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

McCall's 3393

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Oliver + S Cozy Winter Hood

photo
by: Jenny Jo

Review
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Pattern Details