Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1476 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1631 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Femme
photo
About Femmestar
IN USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/01 1:42 PM
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thanks for the review, I too am intriqued by the great fun style of this pattern and purchased it several weeks ago. Although I have not made it yet. I wondered if it would be extremely oversized and if I should exchange my pattern for one several sizes smaller. If it is true that the pattern size does not effect the size of the coat than this would not help. I purchased as water repellant poly/cotton to make a spring/fall rain wear coat I hope this will drape well. Any input will be appreciated. Debbie
1/1/02 2:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made this coat as a light spring/fall coat, just as a muslin, and I loved it. I used a gabardine, which draped wonderfully. Regarding size, I am a size 22 who cut the 16 and it fit me with no alterations!
6/15/02 3:42 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Just finished it (almost) in a lovely blue English wool. This, too, was a little heavy. It took a lot of hand basting to keep those 1/4" edges from turning over, but it was worth it. My only problem which I have not yet totally resolved, are the sleeves. Too long for me. I may just turn them under with a non-showing knit cuff, which will enable me to push them up to where I'm comfortable with them.
10/22/02 11:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Well, after leaving my stiff coat hanging in the closet for a year or so, I got bold and threw the dern thing in the wash! (I didn't have anything to lose, because the coat was just too stiff to wear.) It softened up considerably, and although it did shrink a bit, I can still wear it. As a matter or fact, I'm wearing my coat today; here in Indiana, fall is the perfect time for it. I'm happy that I was able to salvage it, and I still plan to make another one out of a more drapey fabric.
11/5/02 11:54 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 5523 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by sewmanypat... on 3/18/11
Read Review

McCalls 6699 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6699 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3950 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3950 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688
photo
Review by karenball on 7/16/11
Read Review

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us