SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2935 (Men's Shirt)

36 more reviews
Viewed 1799 times 
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/16/06 4:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Mens    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AlexaNJ said...
They all look great! Nice job!! He has an array of shirts to choose from!!!
6/12/07 10:46 AM
Hilary said...
WOW. Irene, you are a *machine*! How wonderful for you to make all these *gorgeous* shirts for your DH! Lucky man-and I appreciate all the pics in the snow! LOL-really really great looking shirts, and handsome DH. Thanks for all the great tips and inspiration!
3/3/06 9:09 AM
CatherineG said...
This shirt pattern is also a favourite. I have made it twice for DH. The first one was a sale quilt cotton with a rhino print (sounds odd but looks great). The second was batik rayon. The cotton one is a nice casual shirt and the rayon is a little more dressy. Thank you for adding all the nice colour and details to a pattern that has already had so many reviews.
2/17/06 9:40 AM
Mini said...
Isn't this pattern great? I can be varied so many ways, and don't forget that women can wear it too. This shirt fits me better than some of the women's patterns I have tried. Re the collar: the collar alteration is also explained in Nancy Zeiman's Busy Woman's Sewing Book, among others. But the collar on this is so easy it's foolproof, even the regular way:).
2/17/06 8:34 AM
AnneM said...
I just love, love, love your bias pocket with the seam. Even in that full-size picture I was checking that out. Great job on all the shirts.
2/17/06 8:04 AM
Liane M said...
Wow, if my DH sees this I'm toast. He's been asking for a camp shirt for months. These are really nice shirts. You have taken this pattern to the next level. Thanks for all the tips. Now I MUST take Shannon's Blouse class. Isn't she great. Thanks again.
2/17/06 7:50 AM
MaryBeth said...
Irene, you've nailed the collar point width and neckline shape for him quite well. Bravo to you, the depth of the collar opening is also perfect for your husband's face and neck. He is so lucky to have a personal designer who came make him look so good. It's wonderful to track the alterations you made to the shirts as you developed the fit. I can see refinements to the sleeve shape and drape and I think I see slight changes to the shoulder slope as well as the change to the button placement. This is more than a review of the pattern, it's a great review of your process.
2/17/06 0:31 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Snaps for sewing for DH! He must be jubilant. With six shirts, he must be waiting for the spring thaw. Thanks for pointing out the collar stand-less design is cooler and easier to sew than one with; that's a neat detail. BTW I can't see the off grain print--looks great!
2/16/06 11:54 PM
Irene said...
Great shirts@ I am particularly fond of the chevron pocket of #4.
2/16/06 11:46 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Great review! Tell DH thank you for the wonderful pics. Awsome looking shirts! Very lucky guy!
2/16/06 10:49 PM
Karla Kizer said...
My DH and DS both like shirts made with this pattern, too, and yes Irene, I had to hack a lot of length off those sleeves. Now tell me, did you really make the poor man stand out in the snow to have this picture taken? Tell him we appreciate his sacrifice. Excellent review.
2/16/06 10:39 PM
Lori V said...
Wow, Irene, does your dh know how lucky he is?!!? Such nice shirts and thanks to him for the photo shoot.
2/16/06 10:11 PM
Irene Q said...
Thanks, everyone!! Celeste, I added a total of 1.5" to the front width, 3/4" to each side seam. Julesberry, sorry but I don't want to go into too much detail about the collar drafting since I consider it a "secret" of Louise's patterns and Shannon's class. And the FM shirt bundle was a special for swatch club members last summer - haven't seen another one since.
2/16/06 9:43 PM
Lorrie McGraw said...
Irene, these are really nice shirts. I love the pockets. I also didn't know FM had shirtings bundles! (oh oh) I have this pattern coming so will definately be using your review to refer to. Thanks for the review and pictures. Great inspiration.
2/16/06 8:22 PM
Lori Sews said...
Wow Irene, these shirts look fantastic!They fit your husband so well! Great colors and fabrics, and I love your pockets. :)
2/16/06 8:12 PM
elizajo said...
Great shirts! Men's shirts have always intimidated me; you have given me the courage to think about trying one.
2/16/06 7:25 PM
BjP said...
What a great bunch of shirts! Lucky DH. Nice job on the chevron, too!
2/16/06 6:38 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Wow Irene!! I love Michelle's comment about opening the closet and finding new clothes that fit ... how cool that would be. The shirts look fantastic. What's all that white stuff on the ground, though?? LOL! And a big PR thanks to your DH for the modeling session, which I *know* is not a man's favorite pastime. Oh, BTW, I understood your collar changes just fine and I don't own any Louise Cutting patterns. (wink)
2/16/06 6:34 PM
julesberry said...
I can't follow your drafting changes about the collar. You need to explain them. Saying something like, "I did it like Louise Cutter does", doesn't help those of us who haven't taken Louise's classes!
2/16/06 5:52 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Wonderful shirts on your handsome hubby. Shirt #5 is definitely his best color. They really look great and I'm going to earmark this review for whenever I make men's shirts. Irene you ARE the queen of shirts!
2/16/06 5:22 PM
Celeste said...
Do you mean that you added 1.5" TOTAL to the front width, or a total of 3" (1.5 x 2 pieces cut for front)??
2/16/06 5:16 PM
Nickle said...
Those are really nice shirts. Like the pockets and yoke details. The fit so nice. Hm- I didn't know FM had shirting bundles.
2/16/06 5:08 PM
Elemenopeo said...
A really stunning array of well fitted shirts.
2/16/06 4:31 PM
Michelle T said...
You have one lucky hubby. Wouldn't it be nice ot open you closet and find brand new clothes that fit.
2/16/06 4:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

New Look 6205

photo
by: mnitts

Review
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now