SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4287 

8 more reviews
Viewed 1110 times 
Reviewed by:Topstitcher
photo

 
 
About Topstitcher
TX USA
Member since: 12/5/05
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/06 0:55 AM
Last Updated:3/17/06 8:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
appleC said...
Are the hand stitches in the front intentional? What a cute little shirt.
2/20/06 10:29 AM
Peggy L said...
This reminds me of the shirts Charlie Sheen wears on Two and a Half Men! I'm sure your DGD will be pleased.
2/20/06 2:28 PM
Bbear said...
This is great! I will have to use a NO IRON fabric for my husband and son since I don't want to be the one to iron!!
2/20/06 7:18 PM
Bbear said...
This is great I will have to use a NO IRON fabric for my husband and son since I don't want to be the one to iron!!
2/20/06 7:18 PM
AnneM said...
I rather like the low-contrast look, particularly if you make this for a man. I might have to pick this up also; it gives a nice option.
2/21/06 6:01 AM
Topstitcher said...
The hand stitches in the front are intentional. Only a few of them show up in the photo but there is a line of hand stitching running all the way up each side. I didn't have any hand embroidery thread handy so I used eight strands of regular thread for this test shirt.

I machine stitched a long stitch-length stitch just inside the vertical seam then used it as a guide to do the hand stitching, making one hand stitch for every three machine stitches. Since the machine stitches don't show at all this worked well.

I've no idea why the stitching showed up on the shirt but not in the photo and I didn't feel like taking the time to enhance them in Photoshop. All I did in Photoshop was take out the metal hanger.
2/21/06 2:47 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking shirts.
3/18/06 0:51 AM
appleC said...
Wow, the new shirts look great! Looks even greater being worn!
3/18/06 10:47 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Very cool! Adorable on your DGD and DH. The design is eye-catching too, good choice.
7/16/06 12:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

No Pattern Used 1

photo
by: rosequartz

Review
StyleArc Cassie Stretch Woven Pant

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now