SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4276 (Kahliah Ali Collection)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1235 times 
Reviewed by:PKPudlin
photo

 
 
About PKPudlinstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/19/05
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/06 4:15 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ncegbu said...
Beautiful outfit and straight out of the envelope to boot. Great fabric, too.
3/15/06 9:37 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Hard to imagine that beautiful outfit came from the envelope. Maybe a self-lined bodice would work better? Then no facing or binding would be necessary.
3/15/06 0:37 AM
Linda F said...
I love ;your outfit, I am working on the pants now. You did a great job and thank you for all the tip about the waistband pieces. I will double check my pieces before I cut.
3/12/06 10:54 AM
Linda F said...
I love your outfit, I am working on the pants now. You did a great job and thank you for all the tip about the waistband pieces. I will double check my pieces before I cut.
3/12/06 10:53 AM
AnneM said...
What a nice outfit. Love the print on your fabric. I agree that your version looks nicer than what the pattern picture shows.
3/12/06 10:21 AM
beangirl said...
Very cute and yes, much better than the envelope picture! That binding method is actually nicer than facings but I'd recommend doing it with your own bias strips instead of purchased bias tape. That way you can make the bias strip wider, which makes it easier to attach and work with. If you have enough fashion fabric, you can cut the bias from that and it gives a really clean and unobtrusive finish. :-)
3/11/06 10:41 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
If your outfit was on the pattern envelope I'd buy it. It's really cute.
3/11/06 9:18 PM
mClones said...
What a pretty outfit. I love the print!
3/11/06 7:22 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabric and style are perfect. Lovely outfit.
3/11/06 7:10 PM
PKPudlin said...
Hi Bunz. The armholes and neckline were finished with bias tape that was ironed open then ironed folded down the middle, then sewn to the top by lining up raw edges and then folding over. I guess it was better than your standard facing, and it did come out okay, but it was a pain with this particular fabric, which wanted to slip and slide out of place and bunch itself up like an unruly child. I just took my time and used umpty-billion pins. It wasn't too bad, really. I was just whining.
3/11/06 6:40 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty outfit.
3/11/06 6:05 PM
bunz said...
Very pretty. What was it about the armholes/neckline that you didn't like?
3/11/06 5:20 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - Your version looks so much better than what is on the pattern envelope. Congratulations. What a wardrobe builder this will be for you.
3/11/06 4:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 2927

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-123A

photo
by: vchan38

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now