Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2006-106 - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1555 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:BillieJean
photo
Friend of PR
About BillieJeanstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/13/04
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/06 5:26 PM
Last Updated:3/14/06 6:56 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
I would love to see your picture but it is not opening. I haven't even received my March WOF yet! Now I can see it! It looks so fresh and springlike. Congrats on all your accomplishments today.
3/13/06 5:29 PM
BillieJean said...
Peggy: It's there now. I was having trouble figuring out how to do this.
3/13/06 5:47 PM
jacalhoun said...
I only see a picture of the magazine photo. Congratulations on your red-letter day! //edit// That was weird. I posted the first half of my comment, and when the page reloaded, your picture was there. I swear it wasn't before, because I double-checked to be sure I wasn't missing it. Anyway, it's there now. Nice job!
3/13/06 6:14 PM
Vonnevo said...
Thanks for a great review on this one. Your muslin look great, would like to see a pic of you modelling it. I have this one bookmarked too :)
3/13/06 6:22 PM
BillieJean said...
I was trying to get the mag picture into the pattern info part of this review, but didn't do it right, so had to backtrack. I'm still not able to get the mag pic in.
3/13/06 6:22 PM
tomed said...
Good job on both the top and your first review! I wish I had my March Burda already. The fabric is very pretty in this style.
3/13/06 7:15 PM
licarritc said...
Congratulations! Your top looks great and the review is concise and helpful! I am considering grading this pattern up for my plus size figure and really appreciated the picture of a "real" garment.
3/13/06 8:30 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Wonderful job matching the prints on the front closures! Amazingly fast too I only received this issue last week ... and this is on my to do list as well!
3/13/06 8:33 PM
bunz said...
My to do list also. Looks really pretty.
3/13/06 10:18 PM
barbc said...
Ohh this looks really nice! I was admiring this in the magazine today! Great job! Barb C
3/13/06 10:23 PM
JenniferBee said...
Congratulations on your first review!! I haven't received my March Burda yet but will be looking at this one when it comes. Buttonholes really aren't all that frightening when you get down to it.
3/14/06 1:47 AM
Anne Frances said...
That looks so good - the Burda picture shows it in a print, and yours is just as pretty. I was also thinking about doing it without the sleeve panels and ripple front band, and your picture confirms that it loks really good without them. It could be stunning in silk - do let us see when that's done. And thank you for a most helpful review
3/14/06 6:24 AM
BillieJean said...
Thank you all for your kind words. Lorna, any matching on the front was surely a little bit of serendipity because I certainly didn't try to match.
3/14/06 6:52 AM
Nickle said...
Congrats on your first review. I like the fabric, very Spring looking. Enjoyed your review. It does match up perfectly on the front.
3/14/06 6:57 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a pretty, floaty top for summer. Great first review too!
3/14/06 7:51 AM
Liane M said...
Congratulations on your first review and your success with Burda WOF. Your blouse is very pretty.
3/14/06 7:59 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your blouse, your buttonholes, your picture and your review!
3/14/06 8:14 AM
kmouse said...
Congrats on a lovely muslin. You picked one of my STAR patterns for this issue. I love the shaping and the shoulder seams look like it will help with shoulder and bust fitting.
3/14/06 9:11 AM
beangirl said...
Hmmm... you know, I think I would have had the same thought as you did when I opened my fabric box. But look what you did with it! Just goes to show, design and beautiful workmanship can really make a difference, this is lovely.
3/14/06 9:13 AM
Lori Sews said...
Beautiful shirt. Congrats on the buttonholes andyour first review!
3/14/06 9:28 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Congratulations on all the firsts :-). Love your blouse, I think you should at least try to give it a second chance, this fabric is cute...
3/14/06 9:47 AM
blue mooney said...
And I don't even have this issue yet! Glad to see another BWOF sewer and reviewer. Lovely blouse, and the fabric looks good!
3/14/06 11:15 AM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty! You've done a wonderful job.I will consider making this too when the March issue finally arrives in NZ!
3/14/06 5:34 PM
Leora said...
The very shirt I was checking on for a review. I would probably leave off the ripple detail too. I love your blouse and congrats on the firsts!
3/17/06 0:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-113
photo
Review by ManiMayor on 2/16/13
Read Review

Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6121 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6121 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-30 Long shorts
photo
Review by Sandi S on 1/25/09
Read Review

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us