SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> 031406 (RTW Gathered Tee Knockoff)

Viewed 3413 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/06 7:26 AM
Last Updated:3/16/06 7:26 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tessa on Gabriola said...
Good Job, Debbie! I didn't know one could review Wild Ginger patterns here. I swear by mine!
1/4/10 0:02 AM
Vicki Rae Born said...
I accidentally found you while trying to learn how to use my 7 year old serger. Do you have a book? Your instructions are FABULOUS...and your pattern reviews show a generosity of spirit that I am in AWE OF!! Thank you for sharing your knowledge with the rest of us!
6/7/07 0:23 AM
clematis said...
Very, very helpful. I wish this patterm came in size 14 as I'm just learning how to adjust for fit. I too have that fabric and hope mine turns out as good as yours!
4/2/06 3:20 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I don't know how I missed this one. I especially love the bling, but the fit is top notch.
4/1/06 2:52 PM
LLS said...
Debbie - Very helpful review, especially with your illustrations. Looks great on you.
3/18/06 2:25 PM
sewsally said...
Debbie --- you save me lots of work !! This a similar to a design in my head that I want to do with Pattern Master. Will study your sewing journey in depth. Thanks.
3/17/06 1:12 AM
PhyllisC said...
Great review Debbie !...this is a wonderful example of making subtle changes to what is seemingly a simple pattern, that - when added up - *really* produces a fanstatic result!
3/16/06 7:42 PM
AnneM said...
Yours certainly fits much more nicely than that RTW fits your dress form. Very nice; I like the bottom hem.
3/16/06 7:08 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fun TShirt - great review!
3/16/06 6:02 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Debbie, your top looks sensational on you. I like where the gathers hit, very flattering. The colour also suits you and of course I love the bling! Belinda
3/16/06 5:38 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking shirt. Thanks for the review and all the wonderful, helpful pictures.
3/16/06 5:05 PM
ryan's mom said...
Oh, what a GREAT review! All your pics were so helpful and the end result is so impressive!!! Just when I say to my DH I don't need patternmaking software, then I read your reviews! :)
3/16/06 3:02 PM
Mariko said...
This is a great review and has archival contents. I am very interested in making T-shirt now, and I appreciate your time and effort to put it togehter!
3/16/06 11:42 AM
BjP said...
Looks great and you've given us another very helpful review!
3/16/06 11:23 AM
PVA said...
Great review, as always! I love what you've done to embellish the neckline! Thank you, so much for all the wonderful details & photos -- it is all so helpful!
3/16/06 11:20 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Debbie, you're a doll. I couldn't figure out how to apply this type of embellishment which I love! Thanks for this review.
3/16/06 11:02 AM
quirkygal said...
Great top - glad to see Zille on PR too.
3/16/06 10:22 AM
donna wicks said...
Deb, You are sooooo clever. Love your shirt. Donna W
3/16/06 10:18 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Debbie, this is fabulous. I love the fact that you embellished the FOE with beads, etc. Yes, another "Debbie Creation" that looks fantastic.
3/16/06 10:01 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Kay, the front is cut on the fold so there's no center seam. The neckline areas to be gathered don't meet the fold so after cutting, it's just an extension of the vee. Clear? So then those areas are gathered and the FOE is applied in one piece. I re-arrange the vee while attaching the FOE so that the vee/gathers are feeding into the machine in a straight line. After the FOE is attached, the gathered areas are folded right sides together and seamed together from the wrong side. If you look at the links for the RTW pics in the review, I think you should see what I mean.
3/16/06 9:56 AM
Kay Y said...
Very nice T. I thank you for the details of your design process since I am also using PMB these days (and loving the editor!). I am glad to learn from your experiments. On your shirt, does the FOE continue to fold over a split which you have gathered on each side, or how are you attaching it over the gathers?
3/16/06 9:48 AM
Nickle said...
Nice top. Very informative review. I like what you did with the neckline trim. Looks great.
3/16/06 8:53 AM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful Top! Love the color on you. Love the crystals and nailheads around the neckline and bust. Nice RTW look. Thank you for the great instructions!
3/16/06 8:29 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Great looking shirt and another wonderful review. Thanks for both - you have inspired me to try one.
3/16/06 8:28 AM
Linda F said...
Wow, great copy of a RTW. Do you sleep? Or are you the energizer bunny in disguise? This is a great review and I am keeping a copy of this one. The many photos are a great help. Thank you for sharing!
3/16/06 8:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 2934

photo
by: tanyamaile

Review
Vintage Pattern Lending Library T5918

photo
by: sezza899

Review
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now