Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: 031406 (RTW Gathered Tee Knockoff) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 3412 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/06 7:26 AM
Last Updated:3/16/06 7:26 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda F said...
Wow, great copy of a RTW. Do you sleep? Or are you the energizer bunny in disguise? This is a great review and I am keeping a copy of this one. The many photos are a great help. Thank you for sharing!
3/16/06 8:16 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Great looking shirt and another wonderful review. Thanks for both - you have inspired me to try one.
3/16/06 8:28 AM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful Top! Love the color on you. Love the crystals and nailheads around the neckline and bust. Nice RTW look. Thank you for the great instructions!
3/16/06 8:29 AM
Nickle said...
Nice top. Very informative review. I like what you did with the neckline trim. Looks great.
3/16/06 8:53 AM
Kay Y said...
Very nice T. I thank you for the details of your design process since I am also using PMB these days (and loving the editor!). I am glad to learn from your experiments. On your shirt, does the FOE continue to fold over a split which you have gathered on each side, or how are you attaching it over the gathers?
3/16/06 9:48 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Kay, the front is cut on the fold so there's no center seam. The neckline areas to be gathered don't meet the fold so after cutting, it's just an extension of the vee. Clear? So then those areas are gathered and the FOE is applied in one piece. I re-arrange the vee while attaching the FOE so that the vee/gathers are feeding into the machine in a straight line. After the FOE is attached, the gathered areas are folded right sides together and seamed together from the wrong side. If you look at the links for the RTW pics in the review, I think you should see what I mean.
3/16/06 9:56 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Debbie, this is fabulous. I love the fact that you embellished the FOE with beads, etc. Yes, another "Debbie Creation" that looks fantastic.
3/16/06 10:01 AM
donna wicks said...
Deb, You are sooooo clever. Love your shirt. Donna W
3/16/06 10:18 AM
quirkygal said...
Great top - glad to see Zille on PR too.
3/16/06 10:22 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Debbie, you're a doll. I couldn't figure out how to apply this type of embellishment which I love! Thanks for this review.
3/16/06 11:02 AM
PVA said...
Great review, as always! I love what you've done to embellish the neckline! Thank you, so much for all the wonderful details & photos -- it is all so helpful!
3/16/06 11:20 AM
BjP said...
Looks great and you've given us another very helpful review!
3/16/06 11:23 AM
Mariko said...
This is a great review and has archival contents. I am very interested in making T-shirt now, and I appreciate your time and effort to put it togehter!
3/16/06 11:42 AM
ryan's mom said...
Oh, what a GREAT review! All your pics were so helpful and the end result is so impressive!!! Just when I say to my DH I don't need patternmaking software, then I read your reviews! :)
3/16/06 3:02 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking shirt. Thanks for the review and all the wonderful, helpful pictures.
3/16/06 5:05 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Debbie, your top looks sensational on you. I like where the gathers hit, very flattering. The colour also suits you and of course I love the bling! Belinda
3/16/06 5:38 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fun TShirt - great review!
3/16/06 6:02 PM
AnneM said...
Yours certainly fits much more nicely than that RTW fits your dress form. Very nice; I like the bottom hem.
3/16/06 7:08 PM
PhyllisC said...
Great review Debbie !...this is a wonderful example of making subtle changes to what is seemingly a simple pattern, that - when added up - *really* produces a fanstatic result!
3/16/06 7:42 PM
sewsally said...
Debbie --- you save me lots of work !! This a similar to a design in my head that I want to do with Pattern Master. Will study your sewing journey in depth. Thanks.
3/17/06 1:12 AM
LLS said...
Debbie - Very helpful review, especially with your illustrations. Looks great on you.
3/18/06 2:25 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I don't know how I missed this one. I especially love the bling, but the fit is top notch.
4/1/06 2:52 PM
clematis said...
Very, very helpful. I wish this patterm came in size 14 as I'm just learning how to adjust for fit. I too have that fabric and hope mine turns out as good as yours!
4/2/06 3:20 AM
Vicki Rae Born said...
I accidentally found you while trying to learn how to use my 7 year old serger. Do you have a book? Your instructions are FABULOUS...and your pattern reviews show a generosity of spirit that I am in AWE OF!! Thank you for sharing your knowledge with the rest of us!
6/7/07 0:23 AM
Tessa on Gabriola said...
Good Job, Debbie! I didn't know one could review Wild Ginger patterns here. I swear by mine!
1/4/10 0:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-133
photo
Review by Elaray on 9/4/09
Read Review

Butterick 5819 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5819 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2594 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2594 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7454 OOP Long Dress with additions
photo
Review by SewVeryTal... on 2/16/08
Read Review

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us