SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Pamela's Patterns> 104 (the perfect t shirt)

36 more reviews
Viewed 2227 times 
Reviewed by:CycleGal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CycleGalstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/14/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/06 7:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Nice oryx! Clever girl! I'm going to buy this pattern --have read other good reviews about the fit -- and try it. Thanks.
10/10/09 7:13 PM
TwiliaRose said...
Love your top - love the stencil. Textile paint? Is the paint a fabric paint - it covers the black so well. How did you do that? Love it! Diane
7/12/06 12:57 PM
CycleGal said...
The binding instructions are from the Timmelfabrics.com web site, there is a whole section on t shirts. The hem is practice....I use a twin needle, loosen the tension a bit, and lengthen the stitch. I always test a few samples to get it all right!
6/25/06 8:31 PM
Nancy K said...
Great shirt and I love the idea of stenciling a plain t shirt.
6/22/06 8:50 AM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW! Please tell me how you did your binding and how did you get such a great hem.
6/21/06 9:18 AM
CycleGal said...
Hi Everyone! I hope I answer everyone's questions. The stencil was purchased at a local art supply store. The brand is Raphael "African Animals". Probably any art supply store should have them. The art supply store also had the textile paints, or they can be mail ordered from Dharma Trading company. The shirt did seem a bit larger than a Jalie or KS xs. XS equals a high bust of 31-33. There is a bit more room in the hips than a lot of other t patterns. PMORRIS, I would use the lingerie top and more from Jan Bones for a cycling shirt...check out the reviews, it has a good sporty look and I have considered adding pockets to the back for a cycling jersey. Sources : Pattern: pamelaspatterns.com paint: dharmatrading.com stencils: art supply stores, haven't checked dickblick.com but I bet they have some. thesewingplace.com has some stencils glad you liked my shirt!
3/20/06 11:57 PM
Ceri590 said...
Great looking t-shirt, esp. with the stencil!
3/20/06 10:24 AM
Lori Sews said...
Very nice!
3/20/06 9:20 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very nice! I love your stencil work on the tee.
3/20/06 8:14 AM
stitchwitch said...
A really cool looking t shirt!
3/20/06 3:35 AM
Liana said...
Very cute Tee! I looked at this pattern, too. Nice to see it made up.
3/19/06 10:42 PM
pmorris1274 said...
Awesome job! This looks like it will be nice cycling shirt, too! I cycle for pleasure, and would love to make this shirt up as you have made it. Thanks for the review!
3/19/06 10:30 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
The detailing on this shirt is great. Beautiful stencil
3/19/06 10:03 PM
muffie11 said...
really nice - especially like the embellishment, also the darts - could you let me know where to find pamela's patterns, would like to try this top. thanks
3/19/06 9:41 PM
Sherril Miller said...
This pattern seems to run a bit large. Do you normally use XS?
3/19/06 8:53 PM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful work on the binding - great shirt!
3/19/06 8:17 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your top certainly turned out great! Thanks for the terrific picture and review. Where did you find the stencil? It is very cool and adds a nice touch!
3/19/06 8:02 PM
redsquid said...
Thanks for the review - my pattern is in the mail and it's nice to see this made up! Your stencil looks great (very clean).
3/19/06 7:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Butterick 5510

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review

Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Elan 530

photo
by: knitmachin...

Review