Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1099 (Plain & Simple Princess Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1837 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Tarawebster
photo
About Tarawebsterstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/31/03
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/06 12:04 PM
Last Updated:3/24/06 1:53 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful! It looks very professional.
3/24/06 12:11 PM
Ousa said...
What a great looking blouse! I LOVE the style of it! Thanks for the collar description too! ~Ousa
3/24/06 12:13 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Another lovely version of this top, but I think the hassles are nto worth it ... I will try my Marfy first and see if I like that one better. But I really like how you pulled it off!
3/24/06 12:21 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Your blouse looks great, Tara! Thanks for the description of the collar.
3/24/06 12:27 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your version is just lovely. I love how your collar turned out. I also found Kwik Sew instructions helpful.
3/24/06 12:48 PM
touran said...
Very beautiful. The collar turned out very well.
3/24/06 1:24 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Beautiful version of this!
3/24/06 1:30 PM
Karla Kizer said...
My HP shirt (short-sleeved) is almost finished, and I like it so much I've been digging through the stash to find other fabric candidates for it. Your version looks great.
3/24/06 1:41 PM
PhyllisC said...
Yep - I might need this one too! Great review.
3/24/06 1:55 PM
Deb Fox said...
Just beautiful.
3/24/06 1:57 PM
beangirl said...
Lovely! Yours fits much better than mine (er... because you wear about ten sizes smaller than I do LOL) Very nice work, thanks for the review. ETA: I don't think this one is probably any more difficult that any other, it's just that the instructions are stuck in between Marfy (having none) or Big4/KS (having illustrations). For instance (Lorna's comment above) if you can do a Marfy with literally no instructions this one won't be any more difficult because you'll just do everything the way you personally prefer to do it. :-) IMHO.
3/24/06 2:19 PM
mirielgw said...
Very nice looking shirt! :)
3/24/06 3:09 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty and professional looking.
3/24/06 4:23 PM
badgal said...
Looks pretty darn good for a muslin!
3/24/06 4:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your shirt turned out just lovely. I'll be starting my second one (short-sleeved) very soon.
3/24/06 4:50 PM
Tailypo said...
Once again, the end results of an HP pattern appear to be worth the struggle! Fantastic shirt. I love it!
3/24/06 6:24 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely shirt!
3/24/06 6:48 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful blouse! It looks fantastic on you.
3/24/06 7:51 PM
MaryBeth said...
Lovely work! It looks so good on you. Your fabric choice really works with this pattern.
3/25/06 8:48 AM
AnneM said...
I hope that picture is at the faric shop & not your house, with all those bolts of fabric! ;) I like your top. I'm seriously considering getting this pattern; thanks for the review.
3/25/06 9:36 AM
Tarawebster said...
Thanks for the comments everyone. AnneM, yes this photo was taken at the fabric store. I wanted to get a photo that would show the collar and the light in my home wasn't doing the trick (and it was raining outside), so I took it to the studio at Stonemountain and Daughter and used their very well lit room. The upstairs is an entire floor of sale fabric, all half price. They put really good quality fabric up there to make room for new fabric in the main two rooms downstairs. NAYY, just an amazing store, that I feel extremely fortunate to have only ten minutes from home. I've got another of these cut out in my fashion fabric, and am almost finished sewing the plain and simple A line skirt from hotpatterns. I'll post that review as soon as it's done. I'm on a hotpatterns roll. I learn so much when I make one of their patterns. They are frustrating only because they are challenging, and challenges are the only way I learn new skills. I figure if I start with the simpler ones, I'll work my up to the Patchouli dress, which I'm really wanting to make!
3/26/06 3:09 PM
Lori Sews said...
Very nice!
3/26/06 6:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Butterick B5211
photo
Review by andread on 6/1/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7654
photo
Review by TJSEWS on 7/30/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1807 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1807 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us