Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
LaFred: 108 (Helena Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2414 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/9/02 1:44 AM
Last Updated:11/26/03 7:43 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Ann, that dress is stunning on you! My goodness, what a lovely advertisement for this pattern......reaching for my list. :)
10/9/02 1:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very nice Ann, your a knockout in this one too!
10/9/02 5:19 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The fabric was perfect. You look like one of the "beautiful people" in People magazine!
10/9/02 6:05 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review. I own this pattern, too. Your dress is so beautiful, I will take this pattern on the top of my "to do list".
10/9/02 6:12 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, it's just beautiful!
10/9/02 8:31 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, what a lovely dress! Thanks so much for the review and photo. I'm going to make this dress up for holiday parties and your comments will be very helpful.
10/9/02 9:57 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Gorgeous dress! The fabric is stunning...I've used rayon knit and it "grew" terribly. Did you have this problem?
10/9/02 11:19 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, this looks SO much better ON you than the pattern pictures make it look! Really lovely!
10/9/02 12:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deb, I tried to be very careful with the fabric as I worked with it. I used fusible stay tape at shoulders and sleeve hems and clear elastic at the drop waist seam. It was verrrry long when I had it all together so I think it grew in length. This may be partly why the underarms were so low.
10/9/02 1:58 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a great dress you made up!! Is the fabric called Lava by Fabric.com? Thank you for your review.
10/9/02 2:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
M&M, Yes that is "Lava Swirl" recently from Fabric.com.
10/9/02 2:08 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hurrah! Hurrah! The fans go wild! What a great and unexpected match of pattern and fabric.
10/9/02 3:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, this is a lovely garment. I do think, though, that your characterization of your sewing skills as "intermediate" is way too modest! You seem to have a real knack for choosing the right fabric for the right pattern. And your color and style choices work so well for your coloring and figure. I've really enjoyed your reviews and the photos.
10/9/02 7:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, your dress is wonderful! Is the pattern for knits only?
10/9/02 8:04 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, yes...stretch knits only
10/9/02 9:21 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, I just saw this made up in the sleeveless version at the Sewing Expo in Raleigh. The hem was finished by simply cutting with a wavy rotary blade. It was beautiful! Between it and your review I decided I had to have the pattern and will make it up for DILs' 50th wedding aniv. celebration. How did you do your hem? I'm thinking I'll do a roll edge but would like your comments. Thanks.
10/13/02 10:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, I just returned from a trip. Sorry for the delay in replying. I used a bias fusible stay tape, stitched to the raw edge of the hem (fusible side up). Then iron up the hem (5/8") and topstitch. Worked great on this knit.
10/18/02 0:45 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Tina C said...
Ann, I always love seeing your projects but I'm starting to hate Ofoto. I can't see the dress!
11/26/03 8:52 PM
Linda E. said...
Ann I can't see they picture either would love to see it sounds great.
11/26/03 9:01 PM
Ann Smith said...
Tina and Linda E: you should be able to see the dress now as I changed it to the PR album. Don't know why it is so blurry in the small picture on the page but when you click on it, the larger photo is clear.
11/27/03 0:45 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Well done! I love it - another to add to my wish list :-)
11/27/03 8:33 AM
Chandra said...
Ann - I love that fabric! I never would have thought of using something like that before seeing your picture. It looks great!
11/28/03 11:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 3551
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/25/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1018 Jasmine
photo
Review by VintageBlu... on 11/23/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)
Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6942 Pattern
Burda 6942 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us