SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1103 (Artful Dodger Prudence Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2058 times 
Reviewed by:Mair from CA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mair from CA
Member since: 11/1/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 5
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/06 11:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Congrats on first review, lovely blouse you made, your hard work really paid off.
4/26/06 0:09 AM
Em's Summer said...
Altar server's smock? Oh that's so funny, but totally not true. Your blouse is lovely! You did a great job!
4/26/06 0:27 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. It does look like an "artful dodger" blouse. It is a very feminine style without being frilly. Congrats on your 1st review! Glad you wrote it; very useful.
4/26/06 5:54 AM
BillieJean said...
Very good first review and pretty blouse. I haven't tried Hot Patterns, and based on most of the reviews I've seen here, I don't think I will. Sewing time is just too precious to have to remake the pattern before one can use it. And it's not like they are inexpensive, either! Billie
4/26/06 6:53 AM
Lori V said...
Your blouse is very pretty and I am happy you had extra fabric for the new sleeves. Thanks for an informative review.
4/26/06 7:05 AM
CarolynGM said...
This turned out quite cute -- this pattern tempts me now. The review is excellent and the picture really helps.
4/26/06 7:06 AM
LauraM62 said...
I think the blouse looks very nice on you! I haven't bought a Hot Patterns yet, and with many of the reviews don't think I'll do it - seems I spend enough time with normal fit adjustments I don't think I'd have the patience for more adjustments due to the pattern itself - you have more patience then me . You did a great job on your 1st reveiw!
4/26/06 8:42 AM
beangirl said...
Oooo, I love it! I have this one and realized half way through that it so did not flatter my figure. Your's looks fab! Thanks for the review.
4/26/06 10:43 AM
amariea said...
Great review! I've cut the pattern out in a light rayon challis and am also stumped by the sleeve front/back. Please share--which is which? I will remove some of the pleating as well, thanks for the tip! Your blouse looks really nice!
4/26/06 11:49 AM
Elemenopeo said...
I really like it on you. I'd love to try this pattern myself but know that my skills are not up to the HP challenges. You don't look altery.
4/26/06 12:53 PM
Georgene said...
It probably wouldn't be so altar boy in a different color. I like this style on you and would love to see it done again in a really soft floaty fabric. Now that you have done the work figuring out the pattern, why not whip up another version? This would also be a lovely dress, just lengthen and add one of those great belts that are out there now. In a sheer fabric over a bias slip dress??
4/26/06 1:07 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I love this blouse on you. I'm with Georgene, I'd like to see it in another color. It's such a pretty style!
4/26/06 1:35 PM
PhyllisC said...
Mary Beth - I agree with Georgene and Gigi, and I have to ask; do you like capri's? I think capri's might add some good proportion and look really sweet without being gooey.
4/26/06 10:11 PM
Mair from CA said...
Thanks to everyone for your kind comments and suggestions. Ruhi --- the back of the sleeve has the longer, smooth seamline, and the front has the almost right angle seamline down near the armpit. (I had to go back and figure this out, but I did mark "F" and "B" on my pattern pieces this time, in case I do make this again.) Phyllis -- I have never worn capris, although they look great on the pattern front picture and on my 13-year-old, very slim DD, but I am pretty sure the effect would be different on me. Maybe I will wear my blouse down to the mall and try some on -- nothing ventured, nothing gained. M.B.
4/26/06 10:29 PM
Ghillie said...
Thank you for your review, Mary Beth. I have made a muslin of this blouse but put it on one side as it was so unflattering. Maybe it will become a nightgown. I cannot quite see the seam line between the front yoke and the front in your photo. Is it horizontal? the pattern drawing shows it sloping down to the armscye, but mine came out horizontal.
4/27/06 9:46 AM
Debra H said...
I have this pattern...my only one from Hot Patterns and your review is so helpful. I agree that it is more smock-like than their drawing and also seems to be longer overall too. It does look cute on you, though!
4/27/06 10:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2010-120

photo
by: style insp...

Review
Farbenmix Hilde

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now