SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1103 (Artful Dodger Prudence Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2069 times 
Reviewed by:Mair from CA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mair from CA
Member since: 11/1/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 5
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/06 11:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debra H said...
I have this pattern...my only one from Hot Patterns and your review is so helpful. I agree that it is more smock-like than their drawing and also seems to be longer overall too. It does look cute on you, though!
4/27/06 10:36 PM
Ghillie said...
Thank you for your review, Mary Beth. I have made a muslin of this blouse but put it on one side as it was so unflattering. Maybe it will become a nightgown. I cannot quite see the seam line between the front yoke and the front in your photo. Is it horizontal? the pattern drawing shows it sloping down to the armscye, but mine came out horizontal.
4/27/06 9:46 AM
Mair from CA said...
Thanks to everyone for your kind comments and suggestions. Ruhi --- the back of the sleeve has the longer, smooth seamline, and the front has the almost right angle seamline down near the armpit. (I had to go back and figure this out, but I did mark "F" and "B" on my pattern pieces this time, in case I do make this again.) Phyllis -- I have never worn capris, although they look great on the pattern front picture and on my 13-year-old, very slim DD, but I am pretty sure the effect would be different on me. Maybe I will wear my blouse down to the mall and try some on -- nothing ventured, nothing gained. M.B.
4/26/06 10:29 PM
PhyllisC said...
Mary Beth - I agree with Georgene and Gigi, and I have to ask; do you like capri's? I think capri's might add some good proportion and look really sweet without being gooey.
4/26/06 10:11 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I love this blouse on you. I'm with Georgene, I'd like to see it in another color. It's such a pretty style!
4/26/06 1:35 PM
Georgene said...
It probably wouldn't be so altar boy in a different color. I like this style on you and would love to see it done again in a really soft floaty fabric. Now that you have done the work figuring out the pattern, why not whip up another version? This would also be a lovely dress, just lengthen and add one of those great belts that are out there now. In a sheer fabric over a bias slip dress??
4/26/06 1:07 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I really like it on you. I'd love to try this pattern myself but know that my skills are not up to the HP challenges. You don't look altery.
4/26/06 12:53 PM
amariea said...
Great review! I've cut the pattern out in a light rayon challis and am also stumped by the sleeve front/back. Please share--which is which? I will remove some of the pleating as well, thanks for the tip! Your blouse looks really nice!
4/26/06 11:49 AM
beangirl said...
Oooo, I love it! I have this one and realized half way through that it so did not flatter my figure. Your's looks fab! Thanks for the review.
4/26/06 10:43 AM
LauraM62 said...
I think the blouse looks very nice on you! I haven't bought a Hot Patterns yet, and with many of the reviews don't think I'll do it - seems I spend enough time with normal fit adjustments I don't think I'd have the patience for more adjustments due to the pattern itself - you have more patience then me . You did a great job on your 1st reveiw!
4/26/06 8:42 AM
CarolynGM said...
This turned out quite cute -- this pattern tempts me now. The review is excellent and the picture really helps.
4/26/06 7:06 AM
Lori V said...
Your blouse is very pretty and I am happy you had extra fabric for the new sleeves. Thanks for an informative review.
4/26/06 7:05 AM
BillieJean said...
Very good first review and pretty blouse. I haven't tried Hot Patterns, and based on most of the reviews I've seen here, I don't think I will. Sewing time is just too precious to have to remake the pattern before one can use it. And it's not like they are inexpensive, either! Billie
4/26/06 6:53 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. It does look like an "artful dodger" blouse. It is a very feminine style without being frilly. Congrats on your 1st review! Glad you wrote it; very useful.
4/26/06 5:54 AM
Em's Summer said...
Altar server's smock? Oh that's so funny, but totally not true. Your blouse is lovely! You did a great job!
4/26/06 0:27 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Congrats on first review, lovely blouse you made, your hard work really paid off.
4/26/06 0:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

More Info