Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3363 (Misses Pants & Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1660 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR
About Learn To Sewstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/07 8:27 PM
Last Updated:4/28/06 8:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Liane M said...
Carol, these pants look fine. I can see a few tweeks in the fitting, but those are minor adjustments. I think you should wear your pants and be proud of them. When I wear something I have made, I learn more about what to do with the next pair as far as adjustments for fit and comfort. I think you did a FABULOUS job!!!
4/28/06 7:19 AM
Sewliz said...
You can too wear them in public! They look pretty darn good. They fit well, certainly better than most of the RTW pants I see on women, and they look well made in the pictures. Tell your hypercritical sewing voice (we all have them!) to go take a nap and have fun test driving your pants. Congrats on good pants!
4/28/06 8:27 AM
BeckyC said...
Your pants look great Carol! You did a great job on them and should be proud of them. Like Liane says they just need a little fine tuning and you've got yourself a great pants pattern. Each time you make them, they will get easier.
4/28/06 8:27 AM
Cinsie said...
Carol following your thread on the boards I think you need to pat yourself on the back for a job well done. Considering that your instructor fit the pattern to you over a pair of jeans and you had to redo the fitting on your own they look great. As to the pockets RTW pants can have that same problem. Make them again and tweek the parts you see as a problem. I think your a lot closer to a good fit than you think.
4/28/06 10:06 AM
Debbie Cook said...
You're being much too hard on yourself. Untuck your shirt and wear them in public with pride! Photos always show every little wrinkle, but in real life you'll be moving -- not standing still -- and no one will see what you're seeing here.

BTW, the pattern number for this review is coming up wrong.
4/28/06 11:04 AM

SouthernStitch said...
Carol I agree with everyone else -- these are totally acceptable for your first pair of tailored pants. You should see how my first ones came out. Only my 2nd or 3rd were actually keepers! Good job and you should be so relieved.
4/28/06 11:50 AM
PattyU said...
I agree with the others, who say that the pants look fine. Photos don't always really show what something looks like. i agree with Debbie. Untuck the shirt, and they will look better.
4/28/06 5:41 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Ok, I edited the pattern number and changed my opinion of the skill level of the pattern. I changed it from "Did not work for me" to "Recommeded with mods". Really, the only thing I did not like about the pattern was the zipper insert. If I had done it the Sandra Betzina way, I would like this pattern. Thanks for the imput. I will wear the pants to church. Should I shorten them or toss in the washer/dryer? The fabric takes a low heat dry pretty well. They turned out longer than I expected. I agree with leaving the shirt out. I think that is why my hips look so funny. Either that, or I have a high hip and I did not know it.
4/28/06 8:22 PM
Sherril Miller said...
A great first effort. Congratulations on getting the review up. Pants take time to get the fit perfect but these are completely wearable. You can wear a top to cover those pockets and the zipper if that makes you feel better, but certainly you can wear these for all the world to see. You should proud of yourself.
4/28/06 8:24 PM
Vonnevo said...
Carol, you have done well with your pants and given your perseverence with this project, give yourself a big hug and wear them :) As Debbie mentioned, a shirt over the top will change the look completely. I am not sure if these are slant pockets or in seam pockets, but if you decide to remedy the "pouching", you can always remove the pockets if inseam and resew the side seam OR if a slant pocket, stitching them down, will flatten the pouching and give the effect of having the pocket feature. A great learning experience and the next pair will be much easier :)
4/28/06 8:54 PM
Mufffet said...
Carol, GOOD JOB! Now, I think the thing with these is probably that you take a smaller size. You would be surprised! You should be able to get a pattern that has a better starting point. BUT, these look pretty good, and you will find that with some dressy higher heel and another top, they will look and feel good!
4/28/06 9:39 PM
ladylola said...
I agree with the aboves. Pants always need a little something more all the time anyway. Definately wear them, you did a good job.
4/28/06 10:04 PM
Vivienne said...
These are beautiful pants! That fabric has a great drape. I would not shorten them - you'll be wearing shoes with a bit of a heel, right?
4/28/06 11:46 PM
Rhoda K said...
Ditto all above comments. You did a great job and you should be proud. I especially agree with Sewliz and the hypercritical sewing voice. She can be very annoying at times!!
4/29/06 6:22 AM
Learn To Sew said...
Thank you, all of you. I feel so much better about wearing the pants now. I need to wash them before I wear them. I plan to wash/dry them when the washer is empty. If they are dry, I will get to wear them tomorrow. I am a bit concerned in that I trimmed the CB too close near the J hook area, and I should have left myslef a little extra room there. I am hoping they will not be too tight when I sit down. Or worse, rip the seam out! I don't think this will happen, but when I took them in, I should have basted them first and sat down for a while. Never thought about sitting. I will remember to sit when making pants from now on. I will need to wash them, as I used Wonder Tape in the waistband area and to hold the snaps in place before I sewed them. I am wearing 1.5 inch heels with these pants.
4/29/06 11:40 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Congratulations Carol! Now you can count yourself amongst the many of us who now are on the endless road of pant "tweakdom"! Great job!
4/29/06 8:36 PM
AnneM said...
I think you made a lot of progess on these. Yes, it might need some tweaking for the next pair but I think you are being way too hard on yourself. Congratulations. I think this is a great inspiration for all of us working on pants.
4/30/06 9:32 AM
Sharon Smith said...
Carol, your sewing technique looks terrific. The zipper looks pretty darned good from here. I think you can wear these pants with pride, too. The comment about wearing your top out rather than tucked in is a great idea. Also, I think you could take about 1 1/2" off the hem length and they would hang straight down, giving them a sharper appearance. (Yes, I know what people say about where the slacks should break, but sometimes the weight of the fabric doesn't work that way.) I think you've done a fine job here. Sharon
5/1/06 11:51 AM
Learn To Sew said...
I wore the pants yesterday. I had no trouble sitting in them at church. I wore them to my inlaws as well. I can even squat in them when I clean up after our old dog. However, when I bent over to pick up a piece of kleenex my husband threw at me, I heard a Pop! Yep, I busted a couple of stitches in the rear. They did not show, but I will be fixing the area today and making sure this does not happen again. This could be very embarrassing if it happens again and I don't fix this!
5/1/06 1:56 PM
Learn To Sew said...
When I edited this earlier today, I marked the box so it would not be posted again! Oh well... I have it traced out in an XL with 5/8 added to the side and inseams. I deepened the crotch 1/2 an inch and changed the curve a bit. I extended the front/rear crotch points so they would match up with the new extended 5/8 marks. I am ready to cut it out now and make another muslin. I did not add any to the waist, as it will be plenty high as it is. I added the extra 5/8 to the sides/inseams as I need a bit more room than the XL offered me and I have been told to do this for "just in case" sewing. Better to be too big and fit as I go than to be too small and be a wadder. I shortened the legs 2 inches this time.
9/17/07 0:56 AM
OP Gal said...
I agree. They look good enough to wear in public. Think of the RTW pants you own. I'm sure these look much better. I think you did a good job and should be proud of them. I can't wait to see your next attempt.
9/17/07 1:33 PM
Marilyn N. said...
You have learned so much! I am glad to see from the comments that you are wearing them. I hope that your second pair turns out just the way you want them.
9/17/07 1:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Simplicity 2638 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by strasfamil... on 7/9/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fehr Trade 000
photo
Review by ArtAttack on 3/18/13
Read Review

Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9675 Pattern
Burda 9675 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us