Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2829 (Misses Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1442 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Mufffet
photo
Friend of PR
About Mufffetstarstarstarstar
VT USA
Member since: 8/14/05
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/06 8:09 PM
Last Updated:2/9/07 9:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mClones said...
nice looking jacket! i agree that there is a little too much fabric under the arms, but i still like the look on you.
5/1/06 9:10 PM
AnneM said...
I hadn't thought about the size of the pattern pieces for dolman sleeve tops. Good point. I like this style of casual jacket.
5/2/06 8:20 AM
countrybug said...
Beautiful jacket and love the fabric, makes me want to run to the store and get some. Nice job.
5/2/06 8:48 AM
Sharon Smith said...
Very nice! Yours looks ever so much nicer than the pattern shows. Corduroy was a great choice. This jacket can go everywhere.
5/2/06 10:37 AM
wvsher said...
Nice jacket!
5/3/06 9:14 AM
JenSews2 said...
Thanks for the tips on the fleece! I really like the decorative edge with the turquoise. Nice touch.
2/9/07 10:06 PM
Lhan said...
Nice varied uses of a fairly basic pattern. It shows what you can do with innovative thinking. These are both really useful garments, and good examples for the rest of us.
2/9/07 10:42 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I don't see any way around that extra fabric under the arms, but since it does serve a purpose, you wouldn't want to get rid of it. I have this pattern, but haven't found the right fabric for it. I think the fleece, being more drapey, is a better fabric to hide that extra fabric.
2/10/07 9:52 AM
BeckyC said...
Very pretty jacket on you. The turquioise colored thread you used for the edge finished is such a nice complement to the color of your jacket. You're adding a bit of spring to your wardrobe in this dreadfully cold weather!
2/10/07 10:05 AM
cecelia said...
Muffet--2 nice looking jackets. I really like the decorative stitching! Were these the usual 1/4" seam allowances of KS?
2/10/07 5:00 PM
Sanibelle said...
Thank you for showing us your latest version. I love the edgestitching contrast; it's such a simple, elegant addition. What a great basic pattern. Here's to many more!
2/11/07 7:54 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great jacket! I love the luster of Designer 6 thread and it really complements the jacket.
2/11/07 8:16 AM
Mufffet said...
cecelia, I didn't pay attention to the seam allowance as such - I just serged the seams with the four thread overlock at the default setting. Then I widened the stitch and did the 3 thread for the edging. :) With the ample material in this jacket you don't have to be worrying about the seam allowance. I usually use a 3/8" seam allowance on everything when using the sewing machine. I like a seam that has room to play with if need be.
2/11/07 1:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8742 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by GoodbyeVal... on 2/14/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4703
photo
Review by maryfrana on 1/3/09
Read Review

Burda 7134 Pattern
Burda 7134 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us