SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2829 (Misses Jackets)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1451 times 
Reviewed by:Mufffet
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mufffetstarstarstarstar
VT USA
Member since: 8/14/05
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/06 8:09 PM
Last Updated:2/9/07 9:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
cecelia, I didn't pay attention to the seam allowance as such - I just serged the seams with the four thread overlock at the default setting. Then I widened the stitch and did the 3 thread for the edging. :) With the ample material in this jacket you don't have to be worrying about the seam allowance. I usually use a 3/8" seam allowance on everything when using the sewing machine. I like a seam that has room to play with if need be.
2/11/07 1:09 PM
ryan's mom said...
Great jacket! I love the luster of Designer 6 thread and it really complements the jacket.
2/11/07 8:16 AM
Sanibelle said...
Thank you for showing us your latest version. I love the edgestitching contrast; it's such a simple, elegant addition. What a great basic pattern. Here's to many more!
2/11/07 7:54 AM
cecelia said...
Muffet--2 nice looking jackets. I really like the decorative stitching! Were these the usual 1/4" seam allowances of KS?
2/10/07 5:00 PM
BeckyC said...
Very pretty jacket on you. The turquioise colored thread you used for the edge finished is such a nice complement to the color of your jacket. You're adding a bit of spring to your wardrobe in this dreadfully cold weather!
2/10/07 10:05 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I don't see any way around that extra fabric under the arms, but since it does serve a purpose, you wouldn't want to get rid of it. I have this pattern, but haven't found the right fabric for it. I think the fleece, being more drapey, is a better fabric to hide that extra fabric.
2/10/07 9:52 AM
Lhan said...
Nice varied uses of a fairly basic pattern. It shows what you can do with innovative thinking. These are both really useful garments, and good examples for the rest of us.
2/9/07 10:42 PM
JenSews2 said...
Thanks for the tips on the fleece! I really like the decorative edge with the turquoise. Nice touch.
2/9/07 10:06 PM
wvsher said...
Nice jacket!
5/3/06 9:14 AM
Sharon Smith said...
Very nice! Yours looks ever so much nicer than the pattern shows. Corduroy was a great choice. This jacket can go everywhere.
5/2/06 10:37 AM
countrybug said...
Beautiful jacket and love the fabric, makes me want to run to the store and get some. Nice job.
5/2/06 8:48 AM
AnneM said...
I hadn't thought about the size of the pattern pieces for dolman sleeve tops. Good point. I like this style of casual jacket.
5/2/06 8:20 AM
mClones said...
nice looking jacket! i agree that there is a little too much fabric under the arms, but i still like the look on you.
5/1/06 9:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Burda 7547

photo
by: ClaireEmil...

Review

Pattern

My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

More Info
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

More Info