SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2005-103 (Pleated V-neck Top)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1977 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 292 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/06 0:18 AM
Last Updated:5/2/06 0:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Deepika, great looking top. Good luck finding more time to sew. You do such wonderful work.
5/2/06 0:23 AM
dmoonangel said...
I love the fabric you chose! However, I can see what you mean about it being on you'll have to worry about keeping it down. I'm too much of a beginner to have any advice to give, but I hope you get to spend more time sewing! I love to see what you make!
5/2/06 0:49 AM
Mely5862 said...
I think it looks teriffic! Please don't work too hard! You deserve time for yourself too.
5/2/06 4:04 AM
fuzzygalore said...
It's very sad if you facilitate sewing for all of us and let it slip for yourself :-). So please, lead by example! Make yourself something! I have to say that patternreview is great for motivation, since even failures become useful - you may not be able to wear it, but you can spare pain to others.
5/2/06 4:16 AM
CarolynGM said...
Welcome back to sewing, Deepika! That is a lovely and unusual top pattern you have discovered. Do make it again (a little longer of course and on-grain) because it is terribly cute.
5/2/06 4:44 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow! I love your knit top. It's very unique and stylish. Can't wait to see your next version. Keep up the nice work. :)
5/2/06 6:07 AM
Katy M said...
Wow how did I miss this one! It looks fantastic on you, I'm off to hunt down a copy now :)
5/2/06 6:22 AM
VtMartha said...
I just remembered that I was planning to make this top too. And yours looks so good on you, I'm going to put it next on my list of projects. I make all the 'mistakes' you listed regularly. I just look at them as 'keeping me honest.'
5/2/06 7:38 AM
Modiste Madness said...
My first thought when the picture opened was, "That looks really good on her. Not everyone could wear it." You did a wonderful job despite the numerous supposed indiscretions that only you will notice.
5/2/06 7:43 AM
jemgirlca said...
Your top is so cute! I'm glad you finally got the chance to sew again!!
5/2/06 8:11 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Deepika, it's so good to see you reviewing again!!!! I remember that top well. Is there a point to the review? You bet! You did it: that's the point! As far as critique, the only thing I'd say is when we get together next, let's check the shoulder on that. It looks a little wide on you. -Ann
5/2/06 8:18 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Deepika I like this top on you (but I see what you mean about it being short!). I was checking this pattern out the other day and even traced it off, so now I may just have to sew it up! Thanks for the fun review.
5/2/06 8:41 AM
Peggy L said...
Cute top! I have that issue and missed this top - I need to get it out and look again. I like the look of the cami with it but can see you would be more comfortable with it a bit longer. I've been sewing a lot longer than you and still do major screwups on a pretty regular schedule - goes with the territory!! You need to make this one again.
5/2/06 8:58 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Deepika, the style lines of this top are fab for you -- you must make it again with your desired changes. But more than that, you MUST make time to sew! I miss your reviews and your participation on the Message Board.
5/2/06 9:11 AM
Gigi Louis said...
I think it looks great on you. These things happen to all of us. You'll make your changes, make it again and it'll be perfect. The style is really flattering on you.
5/2/06 9:21 AM
Hilary said...
YES, Deepika, what Debbie C said :o) we have all missed your reviews! I think the top turned out soo pretty, but I can't stand to wear too short tops either. Hopefully your next version will go together much more quickly!
5/2/06 9:24 AM
jacalhoun said...
I love your shirt and have been wanting to make it for myself, but do you think it would flatter a full busted figure (rather than emphasize it)?
5/2/06 9:26 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Deepika, I think it looks great! Congrats on finding the time to get back to sewing!
5/2/06 9:49 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Welcome back to sewing, friend. I've really missed your reviews. That top looks great on you! You should most definitely sew that again. I'm surprised at how often I wear my green version of this. Great little top!
5/2/06 10:30 AM
blue mooney said...
Deepika, the important thing is that you're back in the saddle again! Your top looks very cute in the photo - that's a nice pattern.
5/2/06 10:44 AM
PVA said...
Deepika, this top is wonderful on you. Now don't take this wrong, it is just like RTW! That is, the next version is going to be beautiful custom couture -- I just know it! I really don't consider "just like RTW" a compliment anymore, what PR folks are doing is vastly superior, IMNSHO! (8^D)
5/2/06 11:00 AM
Deepika said...
wow! You guys are so nice. Thanks for such nice notes. Ann, you nailed it. I too felt that shoulder was too big. I'll have to alter some more. I am even thinking of making it a scoop neck instead. Do you think that look good?
5/2/06 11:30 AM
Ann Smith said...
The top looks terrific on you. Reminds me to get out this pattern as I had intended to make it. By the way if you have some pants with a little bit higher rise the length problem could be solved as it looks like the top comes down below your waist.
5/2/06 12:00 PM
drsue said...
I think the top looks very nice. As to who cuts on the wrong grain; well I did on a top I made last year. Don't be too hard on yourself everyone makes mistakes - - I know I make at least one per garment.
5/2/06 12:56 PM
Kira R said...
Deepika - Gorgeous top ... could you add a band to the bottom hem to lengthen this version? And yeah, the shoulders are too wide ... maybe by an inch or more! I might try to take a bit of that excess width out of the side/back bodice ... depending on your ease preferences. And finally (you did ask for suggestions, right?) I think I would narrow the tie band by about 25%, it seems just the slightest bit too wide for your tiny-ness.
5/2/06 1:33 PM
umjudis said...
That color looks great on you too! Someone recently asked on the boards what was your worst sewing mistake. While I didn't reply, I thought to myself how I, not once BUT TWICE, did not read the pattern review before sewing. And the problems I had were exactly what the reviewers complained about. So you made me feel good that I wasn't the ONLY ONE to make that mistake. I am sure we've both learned a lesson the hard way.
5/2/06 3:56 PM
MarilynB said...
So glad to see you back reviewing again. If you incorporate all the suggestions here to refine this pattern, this will surely be a winner. It just needs a little tweeking. But it feels great to be back sewing again, doesn't it? You always write comprehensive reviews.
5/2/06 4:50 PM
Pam in Amsterdam said...
Very cute top,Deepika, I didn't find a bug. By the way, I'm dreaming about sewing often too.
5/3/06 1:04 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
It's a nice top! Thanks for your honest & funny review. The print hides a multitude of sins. In fitting, with computer work do you need a HRB alteration? Burda puts one in but you may prefer more.
5/3/06 1:05 AM
dorothyn said...
Deepika I wouldn't have noticed any of the things you mention. I think it is seriously cute! I guess we're all harder on ourselves and our creations than anyone else would ever be. Welcome back to sewing!
5/3/06 3:11 AM
Nancy K said...
Well, if I make this top I will really have to do the fowqard shoulder fix too. But, it looks good on you even if you have to pull it down. I think that reading these reviews is extremely helpful and I love my daily review email. Good luck on sewing more, I too feel that I spend more time dreaming than sewing !
5/3/06 9:16 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Deepika I LOVE this top on you, and I am so glad that you were able to sew again!
5/3/06 11:02 AM
PhyllisC said...
Deepika it's been *way* too long since you posted a review honey! This is motivation to get my Chanel jacket finished - which has been a UFO for a solid year now.
5/3/06 1:17 PM
mompea said...
Since you say you made it too short to your liking and you're constantly pulling it down, why not take the waist tie and sew it to the bottom of the top. That should give you about 3 or 4" more from what I can see and it would just tie a little lower than it currently does. Is that possible? It looks like it might be from the picture. I like the way the inverted "V" seems to accent the bustline while detracting from the waist. That's my type of pattern!
6/21/06 3:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Figgy's Nituna

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Buy Now
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now