SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 426 (Shirred Top and Princess Wrap)

59 more reviews
Viewed 3303 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/06 9:37 PM
Last Updated:11/22/06 0:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RobynB said...
It looks fantastic, Belinda. I think I might have to check it out, too! $19 isn't really that bad. Love that you didn't have to make any alterations. But tell me something: this top isn't really "shirred", is it??
5/4/06 10:32 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Robyn, the overwrap is gathered where it attaches to the princess seam so there are gathers on one side (not both). JLG's review has a close-up photo which shows the details of this top better. The other top in this pattern is shirred.
5/4/06 10:39 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I agree about "worth every cent". If you find a pattern you like (like this one) and use it in many colors you always get your money's worth.
5/4/06 10:39 PM
Izzie said...
I just reviewed this pattern too and I love it, love it! Your top is so cute with the print, looks like a perfect fit.
5/4/06 11:03 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, Belinda.
5/4/06 11:21 PM
Judy Williment said...
Very nice! By the time you've made this another dozen times, you'll more than get your money's worth. Well worth the money for such a well fitting pattern.
5/5/06 0:29 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Looks great Belinda!
5/5/06 1:08 AM
Lilibet said...
Looks great on you. I've just finished making this for the second time and totally agree with your comments about choosing stretch fabric. The first in a very stretchy onionskin fits nicely, the second in a stretch velvet is too snug. It is a terrific pattern.
5/5/06 4:33 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely top. Great style.
5/5/06 8:34 AM
Patti B said...
It looks very nice -- but even better is that you didn't have to fiddle with the pattern! You'll use this over and over again; a new TNT.
5/5/06 9:27 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Now lets see, no BCA, no narrow shoulder adjustment makes me want to order this NOW. And the fact that yours looks great on you too!
5/5/06 10:26 AM
sewsally said...
Okay -- I am ordering this pattern right now.
5/5/06 11:57 AM
LauraM62 said...
So few fit alterations sure makes me want to give it a try! It looks wonderful on you Belinda!
5/5/06 1:16 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Belinda, this is a GREAT top on you. The fit, the style, the fabric are all just perfect.
5/7/06 12:39 PM
2BSewing said...
Belinda...both tops are lovely. They fit beautifully. I like what you've done with your recent top. Great job!
8/31/06 7:17 AM
mClones said...
Such a great fit. Nice.
8/31/06 8:14 AM
Diane E said...
Belinda, your tops are so pretty and you look lovely in them. The colors are delightful. Thanks for the tip about the sleeve width. P.S. Your new profile pic is very nice!
8/31/06 10:35 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I love this top on you! The fabric is beautiful and the fit is, of course, perfect. You're pushing me closer to buying this one ... ;-)
8/31/06 10:40 AM
Em's Summer said...
I have a lot of crossovers and wraps, too, and totally understand your wanting to make another one! :-) The top turned out really well and I especially love the green fabric that you used! Thanks for this great review!
8/31/06 10:47 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I did a knock off of this top but did not do the wrap. I may have to revisit my pattern envelope to do the wrap front panel.
8/31/06 2:23 PM
Lilibet said...
A lovely variation with a great fitting top.
8/31/06 7:17 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Each one is my new favorite! Another winner for sure. Love that pretty fabric.
11/22/06 2:32 AM
brrmm said...
Noice! What a lovely pattern, and it looks super on. Orphan?, it looks great with your jeans....but of course you probably do need a new hunk of jewellery and some pretty capris for summer too. Great work.
11/22/06 4:09 AM
BeckyC said...
All of your tops are beautiful! Your reviews are a wealth of information for those of us that have this pattern in waiting. Thank you!
11/22/06 7:50 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
New top or not, every girl needs new jewelry. Always. It's a girl rule. Love all of your tops from this pattern, but the pink print one is hands down my favorite. Thanks for the detailed review. Very helpful!
11/22/06 8:33 AM
Nickle said...
All your tops look fabulous on you.
11/22/06 8:53 AM
AuntieShel said...
Thank you for this review--I don't believe I have read any of your other reviews of this top and thoroughly enjoyed looking at the photos. All of your tops are beautiful. And of course, you must make a skirt to go with the latest top. You must wear it, it's so pretty.
11/22/06 10:37 AM
purpleseamstress said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this! I really think this a pattern that I can do, too! I need a fitted top pattern and I like the idea of maybe not doing a FBA. Thanks! BTW, this top looks great on you.
11/22/06 12:44 PM
pterion said...
All of your versions of this top pattern are lovely and look great on you.
11/22/06 1:39 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great looking top. I always look forward to your reviews.
11/22/06 4:08 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Well, I don't think you NEED anything, cos the jeans look fab with it! Love the fabric and the pattern is calling to me.......
11/22/06 9:18 PM
motomoda said...
Lovely top - While I agree with the others that this is NOT an orphan as it looks great with jeans - maybe try a longish white/cream skirt for summer? I have so many orphans I figure that eventually I will make matching items by accident :)
11/23/06 0:06 AM
CherylStillSews said...
Love that pink fabric! I want some.
11/23/06 0:55 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! I love the tops you have made with this pattern!!! Did you pick your size by full bust or high bust with this line?
11/24/06 10:25 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Ryan's Mom - I usually select patterns using my high bust m'ment, however with this pattern there is a big jump between sizes. CJ has an extra sheet which lists the garment's finished m'ments. Reading these I decided the small would be too small so I sewed a medium which is 1" larger than my full bust m'ment. I'm glad I did as this top is a very close fit and my fabric only had 75% stretch. The recommendation is for fabric with 100% stretch. HTH
11/24/06 4:06 PM
diane s said...
I appreciate your thorough reveiw, it was helpful with sizing and fba issuses. Your top looks wonderful and I can't wait to try this pattern.
12/1/06 10:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5057

photo
by: RadarRadia...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5061

photo
by: sewinfranc...

Review