Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7885 (Sandra Betzina Today's fit) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 2074 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/06 3:05 AM
Last Updated:5/8/06 5:17 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LorelleD said...
Lovely jacket. It looks great on you. I really like the frog closure and the neckline.
5/8/06 3:11 AM
moushka said...
Wow, Anne! Another winning pattern/fabric combo. You look smashing and your work is, as always, impeccable. Thanks for a great review.
5/8/06 3:35 AM
Skye said...
Absolutely love it! Great fabric and I agree the style has a lengtheningand very flattering. Yet another pattern to look out for next time vogue is on sale. Looks fab Ann
5/8/06 4:03 AM
Peggy L said...
This turned out beautifully. Wonderful choice of fabrics and frogs.
5/8/06 5:19 AM
jlg said...
What a striking, elegant jacket. It looks fabulous on you.
5/8/06 5:32 AM
kodjal said...
I love the fabric combination you have used and the frogs top it off great! Nice jacket, looks stunning!
5/8/06 5:56 AM
CarolynGM said...
You are right -- it is a very slimming style. I wish I had your stash! It's amazing what you were able to pull together for this very striking top.
5/8/06 6:56 AM
Lori V said...
Lovely jacket, it looks beautiful on you.
5/8/06 7:14 AM
BeckyC said...
This is a very elegant jacket on you. I think it is very slenderizing with the vertical lines. This pattern is great. Thank you for the great tips on the sizing.
5/8/06 7:18 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very pretty! How cool to use SB fabric for your SB pattern.
5/8/06 7:37 AM
Lisette said...
Your jacket is very elegant and it suits you perfectly.
5/8/06 7:38 AM
PKPudlin said...
A stunning outfit! and you are right - it is very slenderizing! One to add to my wish list, I see! Thanks for a great review!
5/8/06 8:36 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Lovely. You always manage to put the right fabric with the right embellishment for the right pattern. You've done it again.
5/8/06 8:40 AM
Susan Dryer said...
Attractive and flattering outfit, Ann. Just FYI the current Belle Armoire features an selection on fabric collage for clothing, and this pattern is one chosen by the author for several spectacular and yet wearable garments. It's worth taking a look.
5/8/06 9:11 AM
Patti B said...
Wow; spectacular jacket! Glad to hear about the lack of fitting issues in the pattern too.
5/8/06 9:45 AM
ChrisK said...
What a fabulous jacket Ann. Yours looks so much nicer that the one on the envelope.
5/8/06 9:46 AM
Penny Carlson said...
As per Susan, this pattern is actually on the cover. Ann, it's beautiful. Will you use it as a top or a jacket? I like this pattern, but not sure how I would use it (so it's just sitting in my most-likely-to-use pile).
5/8/06 10:09 AM
KarmenG said...
Really stunning on you! Looks better on you than in the pattern photos!
5/8/06 10:16 AM
Rhoda K said...
Ditto all above comments! Very classy.
5/8/06 10:28 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I thought the pattern photo was not very flattering; your outfit is the very opposite! It looks fabulous...and I think I'll have to get this one after all ;)
5/8/06 10:39 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
What an elegant outfit! Just stunning.
5/8/06 11:51 AM
mamacita said...
A very beautiful outfit!
5/8/06 12:05 PM
elizajo said...
Your beautiful jacket inspires me to try another SB pattern and go scrounging in vintage shops for lovely closures!
5/8/06 12:18 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Very nice!
5/8/06 12:56 PM
Elona said...
Just lovely, Ann!
5/8/06 1:05 PM
twinmama said...
Very inspiring!
5/8/06 2:26 PM
bunz said...
Really gorgeous on you! She does do a good job on her patterns.
5/8/06 3:35 PM
Elemenopeo said...
WoW! That is absolutely wonderful on you. Love the fabrics you used and the frogs.
5/8/06 3:56 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow! This looks so stunning - and you look great in it!
5/8/06 4:18 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I just love easy patterns that turn out to look beautiful. Yorus is the perfect example of the latter.
5/8/06 4:55 PM
carolynw said...
As usual you have turned out a wonderful looking outfit - thanks for a great review and I will certainly add this to my "must have" patterns.
5/8/06 4:56 PM
SueV said...
Beautiful! Love your style and workmanship.
5/8/06 5:21 PM
PhyllisC said...
Ann - your fabrics are always so beautiful... you must have the most incredible stash!
5/8/06 5:25 PM
Carolyndh said...
This will no doubt be a very classic pattern! I know after seeing your design that I will want to buy this pattern the next time Vogue is on sale. Carolyndh
5/8/06 5:45 PM
Hilary said...
What a great jacket!! I love the fabric and the frog closures-how cool that you got it from SB herself :o)
5/8/06 5:47 PM
StitchQueen101 said...
That's just FANTABULOUS!!!!
5/8/06 5:48 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely jacket, Ann.
5/8/06 7:03 PM
jlongo said...
Dear Ann, I have had this pattern for a while and the picture on the envelope makes it look quite fitted. I was hesitant...but your jacket looks great and you look so nice in it...this is why I love Pattern Review! Thank you for sharing all your sewing...also, I am a huge Sandra fan, I can't believe you bought fabric from her! I think I would have slept with it under my pillow!! LOL
5/8/06 7:29 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful everything Ann :))))
5/8/06 7:58 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Ann, lovely! Don't you love it when you find something in your stash that matches a new purchase so well!
5/8/06 8:23 PM
MareeAlison said...
Ann - the Jacket is stunning on you. Well done.
5/9/06 1:43 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow! I really like this jacket. The fabric choice was great and yes it is slenderizing! I am all for that.
5/9/06 6:52 AM
AnneM said...
Nice look, nice fabric. In fact, much nicer than the pattern drawing would indicate.
5/9/06 7:54 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Perfect marriage of fabric, pattern, and great workmanship! Looks beautiful on you.
5/9/06 1:09 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: this is fantastic combination of fabrics and pattern. Love the pre-ruched "touch". Another beautiful addition to your astounding wardrobe.
5/9/06 2:51 PM
mrspenguin said...
beautiful job.
5/9/06 3:22 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Always delightful t see Ann's creations - she has an eye for marrying fabric and pattern plus what looks good on her.
5/9/06 4:48 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty jacket Ann and you look gorgeous wearing it!
5/9/06 7:10 PM
sheck said...
Very nice and I can tell that you are pleased, too.
5/10/06 9:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Simplicity 2207
photo
Review by sarah0725 on 5/17/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2444
photo
Review by DKG on 12/27/11
Read Review

McCalls 5431 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 5431 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6897 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6897 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us