Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: V8113 (Formal Gown) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 2440 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo
About Sew it seamsstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/06 3:17 PM
Last Updated:5/27/06 10:31 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Anne Frances said...
That is just gorgeous! I love the beading and the flounce and your DD looked stunning. Congratulations
5/16/06 3:50 PM
Peggy L said...
Debe - what an absolutely gorgeous dress. The details are so pretty - thanks for sharing. Your daughter certainly made a beautiful bride!
5/16/06 3:58 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a gorgeous dress and daughter! How neat you were able to make her dress for the big day. I will remember to always buy the bra first for a formal gown! ;-)
5/16/06 4:02 PM
BeckyC said...
The dress and your DD are absolutely beautiful! The beading is such a quiet touch of elegance on the dress. What an incredible gift of love you gave her for her wedding.
5/16/06 4:11 PM
Sew Little Thyme said...
You did a wonderful job! Your DD looked so beautiful. I am sure that her big day was made even more special knowing that her mother made her gown! Can't wait to see the other pictures! Again great job!!!
5/16/06 4:11 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful bride and dress. Your beading is wonderful on the dress. What a special dress for you to have done for your dd.
5/16/06 4:13 PM
2BSewing said...
Absolutely beautiful! You did a wonderful job...love the beading details.
5/16/06 4:15 PM
JDpenelope said...
Just beautiful -- both your daughter and your labor of love.
5/16/06 4:16 PM
kira said...
Beautiful!!! What a wonderful dress and lovely daughter. Congrats!!
5/16/06 4:25 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Fabulouso-o-o-o-o! Love everything about it. I know how much time and energy you put into this Debe, and the it shows. The dress is absolutely lovely and your daughter is a beautiful bride. I'm surprised (and really sorry) you had problems with the NuBra. I've never used the featherlite version, but I've worn the the regular version to outdoor concerts in the middle of a Texas summer and even then didn't have problems with the adhesive.
5/16/06 4:28 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
OMG she is gorgeous and the dress in knock out!
5/16/06 4:42 PM
Elemenopeo said...
absolutely stunning. Love the added flounce and beading. Simple elegance.
5/16/06 4:45 PM
sew2little said...
Stunning bride in a fabulous dress!
5/16/06 5:04 PM
jnamcd said...
Absolutly Beautiful! Both the dress and your daughter!
5/16/06 5:06 PM
Kay Romo said...
You did a wonderful job for DD dress.
5/16/06 5:06 PM
chriscot said...
I read this review eagerly, not just because your daughter looks so beautiful in her fabulous gown but because I have just been through the same process - my beloved daughter was married less than 2 weeks ago. I felt really emotional reading your review. There surely cannot be a more important sewing task than this and it is accompanied by such a rollercoaster of emotions. The joy of being asked, the knowledge of the complete faith of your daughter in your ability, the frustrations when alterations need so much time to resolve , the multitude of unforseen delays caused by life in general which rob you of precious time and the final high when you see your daughter ready for her wedding. Congratulations, she looks wonderful .
5/16/06 5:15 PM
Sew it seams said...
Wow! I was gone for a little while and came back to check my review and found all these wonderful comments! Thank you all! Leslie the failure of the NuBra was our fault, I'm sure. We applied it and re-applied it more than just a few times to get it to stay up there the way it did the first time she had tried it, and by then the adhesive gel just wasn't as sticky. One thing I forgot to mention- the C-cup of the NuBra is very small. It really looks like it should have been labled as a B-cup. If we had bought the next size up, it may have been more successful for her, but of course, you can't try them on. I will give the NuBra another try if I have another occasion to, for sure. (Sew it seams)
5/16/06 5:16 PM
chriscot said...

5/16/06 5:21 PM
Sew it seams said...
Yes chriscot, your comments regarding the emotional rollercoaster hits the nail on the head! I sure hope you will review your DD's gown too! (Sew it seams)
5/16/06 5:25 PM
rosephreak said...
A gorgeous dress. Love the rolled and beaded hem on the flounce. Your DD looks beaming and beautiful - as she should. Congratulations.
5/16/06 5:38 PM
SewingSkater said...
Breathtaking! What an elegant dress! I love the veil too, did you make that as well? Congrats on a success!
5/16/06 5:57 PM
Patti B said...
What a stunning gown and beautiful bride. You must have been beaming during the wedding knowing that you had created a masterpiece for your DD. Wow.
5/16/06 6:12 PM
Elona said...
Debe, your gown for your DD--and those made by the other mothers here--just fills me with awe. I have only a son, and thus will probably never be involved with such a project (as far as I know), but what a marvelous thing to do for and with your daughter!
5/16/06 6:28 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I love the rich, simple elegance of your daughter's wedding dress.
5/16/06 7:54 PM
carolynw said...
This is simply awesome. What a truly beautiful dress - you must have been so proud. Beautiful gown - beautiful daughter - God Bless!! Did this for my DDIL and know know how much work has to go into turning out something this so totally perfect - congratulations!! I still remember all my the goose bumps and hidden tears as my DDIL entered the Church to the Wedding March - Soooo beautiful.
5/16/06 9:01 PM
kwpanthermom said...
You've made a stunning gown for your stunning daughter! The design is PERFECT for her, and your workmanship and artistry in the beading and adding the flounce is just wonderful! This gown should be in a wedding magazine! And I was honored to be your "sounding board" because following your thought processes on the bodice fitting was teaching ME fitting techniques, too!
5/16/06 10:27 PM
kirianth said...
A review worth waiting for! The dress looked lovely on her. Good to know all these things about the pattern!
5/17/06 2:06 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations to both you and your DD. I'm certain no one but you noticed that little wrinkle. She looked lovely.
5/17/06 5:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
A beautiful daughter in a beautiful dress.Your hard work really paid off. It is a beautiful dress.
5/17/06 5:26 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Congratulations on a beautiful job and on the wedding! Your DD looks so lovely. What a wonderful gift! -Ann
5/17/06 8:42 AM
nicegirl said...
Beautiful job! DD looks radiant on her wedding day!
5/17/06 9:02 AM
Em's Summer said...
That is beautiful! Your daughter looked stunning! Congratulations!
5/17/06 10:11 AM
countrybug said...
Debe, another beautiful piece. Love the dress, the bride is beautiful. I love the simplicity of the dress and the simple beading to dress it up a little bit. Beautiful!!
5/17/06 10:22 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely! Such beautiful beading. What an incredible gift for your daughter.
5/17/06 12:44 PM
mrspenguin said...
Congratulations on your daughter's marriage AND the dress. Both are lovely.
5/17/06 3:14 PM
els said...
Congratulations you made a gorgeous elegant wedding dress for a beautiful daughter.
5/17/06 6:39 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Absolutely stunning!
5/17/06 11:43 PM
StitchQueen101 said...
Wow! The perfect gift from Mom to daughter on her Special day! What a treasure! You did an awesome job! It's simply fantastic!
5/18/06 3:04 AM
jemgirlca said...
Wow, your dress is gorgeous!!
5/27/06 10:46 PM
cmarie12 said...
Wow! What a wonderful gift to your daughter. The dress is absolutely beautiful and full of amazing details. Thank you for sharing it with us!
5/28/06 1:14 AM
casken said...
very stunning and great shot!
5/28/06 1:54 AM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful DD beautiful dress. Thank you for sharing your labour of love with us.
5/28/06 2:53 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your new pictures at the lake are breathtakingly beautiful. The scenery is lmost as beautiful as the bride and her dress.
5/28/06 8:39 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!
5/28/06 11:13 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Very pretty...
5/1/07 4:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Burda 8807
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 2/23/04
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PR Member's Pattern Yoshimi\'s Tiered Skirt
photo
Review by jannw on 6/19/11
Read Review

McCalls 6569 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6569 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us