SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8209 (Pants faced waist)

2 more reviews
Viewed 2182 times 
Reviewed by:BeckyC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BeckyCstar
MN USA
Member since: 5/8/04
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/06 8:45 AM
Last Updated:5/17/06 10:33 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BeckyC said...
Big Sis -- I love the idea of stitching down the facing and adding a piece of elastic to give a snugger fit at the waist. I've made a few pairs of these now and after wearing them they do stretch out at the waist and could definitely use that elastic. Thanks for the idea! And yes, I'm going to narrow down the legs too -- the width is great for sandals with a little heel in the summer, but not as graceful with loafers in the fall.
11/17/06 10:25 AM
Big Sis said...
I just made these pants. I like the fit but thought the legs were a little full. Next time I will taper them a bit. I did not need to make any alterations, but I did top stitch the facing down and slipped a soft piece of wide elastic through the resulting casing. It does not gather, just hugs my waist a bit snugger. Next time I am going to make the view with the buttons on the legs. I love pants with a faced waist.
11/16/06 4:34 PM
Stacy1 said...
I am working on these right now and I'm having a little trouble finding the right size, but other than that I love this pattern. I, too, like pants with a smooth front and a side zip.
8/26/06 11:55 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your pants. Even the muslin is better than a lot of RTW.
5/18/06 4:17 PM
PixieCat said...
Your pants look wonderful on you!
5/18/06 3:51 PM
countrybug said...
very nice pants. Great fit. They look great on you.
5/18/06 10:15 AM
slanden99 said...
Nice pants
5/18/06 9:50 AM
BillieJean said...
These look absolutely perfect. I don't know how they could fit better! Billie
5/18/06 6:55 AM
Jan B. said...
Fit looks great from the front. Thanks for your helpful review.
5/17/06 11:52 PM
BeckyC said...
Susan C -- Yes, the excess fabric is seen below the crotch, but the dart I took was above the crotch. Don't ask me how this works, but it does. I just did what my friend and Peggy Sagers told me to do and it worked. Maybe someday I'll understand. Nicegirl512 -- I can't take credit for the term "Diaper Butt" -- Peggy Sagers used it in the seminar. It was a fun seminar!
5/17/06 3:54 PM
nicegirl said...
Those are nice pants! Good job! PS: I call that Penguin Crotch. Glad to know I'm not the only one who has come up with a name for that dreaded phenomenon.
5/17/06 2:52 PM
Tarawebster said...
Becky I think you are being too hard on yourself. To me it looks like you've achieved an excellent fit both in the front and the back. I have this pattern and you've inspired me to pull it out and put in on the 'to make' list for the summer wardrobe. Beautiful! Recently I made a pair of yet to be reviewed Burda trousers, my first Burda pants, and I am now another convert. The fit was so good, with hardly any adjustments. As soon as they get hemmed I'll review them. Enough about me though..this is your review. You did a great job, thank you, it was a very helpful review.
5/17/06 1:00 PM
Susan C said...
I think your pants look great. Regarding the fix for "diaper butt". It appears the gathering is at or below crotch level. Did you do the dart higher or actually on the leg? Thanks for any ino
5/17/06 11:39 AM
BeckyC said...
"Diaper Butt" is basically the same as "Clown Butt" excess fabric under the rear. I edited my review to show a picture of "Diaper Butt".
5/17/06 10:36 AM
Em's Summer said...
Thanks for sharing what you learned about pants fitting! Great review...and great pants!
5/17/06 9:59 AM
redhead said...
What is the "diaper butt" thing?
5/17/06 9:43 AM
Patti B said...
Wow, do those fit great! I see many more in your future. Lucky you to have a chance to be fitted by Peggy.
5/17/06 9:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3013

photo
by: Elaray

Review
Other That Darn Kat

photo
by: quitereaso...

Review
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now