Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8209 (Pants faced waist) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2173 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:BeckyC
photo
Friend of PR
About BeckyCstar
MN USA
Member since: 5/8/04
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/06 8:45 AM
Last Updated:5/17/06 10:33 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Wow, do those fit great! I see many more in your future. Lucky you to have a chance to be fitted by Peggy.
5/17/06 9:17 AM
redhead said...
What is the "diaper butt" thing?
5/17/06 9:43 AM
Em's Summer said...
Thanks for sharing what you learned about pants fitting! Great review...and great pants!
5/17/06 9:59 AM
BeckyC said...
"Diaper Butt" is basically the same as "Clown Butt" excess fabric under the rear. I edited my review to show a picture of "Diaper Butt".
5/17/06 10:36 AM
Susan C said...
I think your pants look great. Regarding the fix for "diaper butt". It appears the gathering is at or below crotch level. Did you do the dart higher or actually on the leg? Thanks for any ino
5/17/06 11:39 AM
Tarawebster said...
Becky I think you are being too hard on yourself. To me it looks like you've achieved an excellent fit both in the front and the back. I have this pattern and you've inspired me to pull it out and put in on the 'to make' list for the summer wardrobe. Beautiful! Recently I made a pair of yet to be reviewed Burda trousers, my first Burda pants, and I am now another convert. The fit was so good, with hardly any adjustments. As soon as they get hemmed I'll review them. Enough about me though..this is your review. You did a great job, thank you, it was a very helpful review.
5/17/06 1:00 PM
nicegirl said...
Those are nice pants! Good job! PS: I call that Penguin Crotch. Glad to know I'm not the only one who has come up with a name for that dreaded phenomenon.
5/17/06 2:52 PM
BeckyC said...
Susan C -- Yes, the excess fabric is seen below the crotch, but the dart I took was above the crotch. Don't ask me how this works, but it does. I just did what my friend and Peggy Sagers told me to do and it worked. Maybe someday I'll understand. Nicegirl512 -- I can't take credit for the term "Diaper Butt" -- Peggy Sagers used it in the seminar. It was a fun seminar!
5/17/06 3:54 PM
Jan B. said...
Fit looks great from the front. Thanks for your helpful review.
5/17/06 11:52 PM
BillieJean said...
These look absolutely perfect. I don't know how they could fit better! Billie
5/18/06 6:55 AM
slanden99 said...
Nice pants
5/18/06 9:50 AM
countrybug said...
very nice pants. Great fit. They look great on you.
5/18/06 10:15 AM
PixieCat said...
Your pants look wonderful on you!
5/18/06 3:51 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your pants. Even the muslin is better than a lot of RTW.
5/18/06 4:17 PM
Stacy1 said...
I am working on these right now and I'm having a little trouble finding the right size, but other than that I love this pattern. I, too, like pants with a smooth front and a side zip.
8/26/06 11:55 PM
Big Sis said...
I just made these pants. I like the fit but thought the legs were a little full. Next time I will taper them a bit. I did not need to make any alterations, but I did top stitch the facing down and slipped a soft piece of wide elastic through the resulting casing. It does not gather, just hugs my waist a bit snugger. Next time I am going to make the view with the buttons on the legs. I love pants with a faced waist.
11/16/06 4:34 PM
BeckyC said...
Big Sis -- I love the idea of stitching down the facing and adding a piece of elastic to give a snugger fit at the waist. I've made a few pairs of these now and after wearing them they do stretch out at the waist and could definitely use that elastic. Thanks for the idea! And yes, I'm going to narrow down the legs too -- the width is great for sandals with a little heel in the summer, but not as graceful with loafers in the fall.
11/17/06 10:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Stretch & Sew 1560 Dress
photo
Review by MelC on 2/29/08
Read Review

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Designs 5010 Tango Skirt
photo
Review by NancyDaQ on 6/25/06
Read Review

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7069 Pattern
Burda 7069 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4722 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Butterick 4722 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us