SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6429 (Misses' Knit Dress)

56 more reviews
Viewed 2405 times 
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seamsstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/06 7:58 PM
Last Updated:5/17/06 8:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susan C said...
That looks really pretty. I like the lace tank underneath.
5/17/06 8:31 PM
Johsews said...
Gorgeous dress- can't wait to see you in it! For some reason the closest Joann's NEVER has this pattern in stock- they offered to order it for me and let me pay $5 shipping! No thank you...
5/17/06 8:33 PM
Jennifer Young said...
Beautiful dress, Debe! It's always nice to see variations on a pattern, so thank you for sharing your review. Yes, I think this one is a winner; it's high on my list now!
5/17/06 8:44 PM
jemgirlca said...
Love it! I need to get this one made up.
5/17/06 9:02 PM
Diane E said...
Debe, I love your dress! I can't wait to see a picture of you in it. I know what you mean about the neckline and your lace tank is a lovely solution. I am just now making this dress myself, after having had the pattern in my collection for a couple of years. I've got everything done but setting in the sleeves and finishing the hem and I can tell it's going to be a winner. As one of the prior reviewers mentioned, the skirt is so swirly. Great choice for the rehearsal dinner!
5/17/06 9:07 PM
Penny Carlson said...
You know what? This looks like a dress version of Christine Jonson's Princess Wrap Top, which is also very flattering.
5/17/06 9:13 PM
JenSews2 said...
I am itching to make this dress, but just don't know what fabric to use. It is calling to me :) . Yours looks great. I am also concerned about the low neckline...what would you do to raise it on the next one (other than add a cami?). Also...does the top just run big? you mentioned going down a size in the top?
5/17/06 10:08 PM
Lori V said...
First off, no, not tired of your reviews, they are wonderful. Your dress is beautiful, this is a gotta have dress. Thanks for the great review and can't wait to see your picture.
5/17/06 10:23 PM
brrmm said...
Your dress is really lovely!! I particularly like the drape of the fabric and the "swirly" skirt. Thanks for the review.
5/17/06 10:31 PM
jr said...
Debe, your dress looks great....very classy!
5/17/06 10:53 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thank you! Jen, To raise the neckline, next time I will draw the neckline on each side with a little less of a curve which will raise the V for me. I don't know that the top runs large - I think it may be that my fabric is heavy and it feels a little wide in the shoulders. I wear a 12 in patterns for wovens, but sometimes going down a size in the knits gives me a better fit in the shoulder area. Normally I would use a 14 from the waist down, but again, because of the knit, the 12 is a good fit for me there.
5/17/06 11:16 PM
drsue said...
Looks terrific. One day I must try this pattern.
5/17/06 11:36 PM
JDpenelope said...
Your slinky version of this pattern is great. Thanks for the tips; anxious to see photos of you in the dress, too.
5/18/06 1:44 AM
gaby said...
Fabulous! Love the cami underneath. This dress is on my to-do list.
5/18/06 3:27 AM
SewingSusan said...
Lovely choice of fabric and accessories. Great job!
5/18/06 7:53 AM
MarilynB said...
Your dress is elegant. I love the back view, too.
5/18/06 8:40 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful dress. I have this pattern waiting in the wings also. I hope you still have your MOB dress to review.
5/18/06 8:46 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Debe that dress is soooo beautiful! BTW congrats on your daughters wedding - I enjoyed the dress thread!
5/18/06 9:00 AM
umjudis said...
Just another comment to tell you I never tire of reviews on the same pattern. I think it's fun to see all the different interpretations of it. The dress is lovely. That lace cami really dressed it up. I have been thinking of making this for myself for a wedding in July. Thanks for the inspiration.
5/18/06 10:51 AM
Tailypo said...
I never get tired of reading reviews for this dress. As soon as I get over my fear of knits, this little number is going to be mine! Yours is elegant and beautiful.
5/18/06 11:12 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I think I am going to have to break down and buy this pattern! I can see it as a nice top as well and I have powerdry coming!
5/18/06 11:50 AM
Tiner W said...
I love this dress! I don't care how many times I see it made up. I just love it! Yours is great!
5/18/06 4:13 PM
Tini said...
this is awesome! Very inspiring....
5/18/06 4:15 PM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful ! !
5/18/06 4:30 PM
AnneM said...
Very pretty. I think I likve the back view even more than the front, with the nice draping.
5/18/06 4:33 PM
CarolynGM said...
Pretty and feminine. I love the lace peeking out.
5/18/06 7:11 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous dress Debe! This pattern has been on my wish list for ages-I think it's time to buy it!
5/18/06 7:36 PM
carolynw said...
That's so nice and elegant - will have to add this pattern to my stash!!
5/18/06 7:56 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad you are posting again. Lovely dress.
5/18/06 8:18 PM
Heatherrique said...
Yours looks great! The classic surplice/wrap knit dress!
6/30/06 10:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 99383-1001

photo
by: julliams

Review
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now
McCall's 8990

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review