SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6429 (Misses' Knit Dress)

57 more reviews
Viewed 2407 times 
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seamsstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/06 7:58 PM
Last Updated:5/17/06 8:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susan C said...
That looks really pretty. I like the lace tank underneath.
5/17/06 8:31 PM
Johsews said...
Gorgeous dress- can't wait to see you in it! For some reason the closest Joann's NEVER has this pattern in stock- they offered to order it for me and let me pay $5 shipping! No thank you...
5/17/06 8:33 PM
Jennifer Young said...
Beautiful dress, Debe! It's always nice to see variations on a pattern, so thank you for sharing your review. Yes, I think this one is a winner; it's high on my list now!
5/17/06 8:44 PM
jemgirlca said...
Love it! I need to get this one made up.
5/17/06 9:02 PM
Diane E said...
Debe, I love your dress! I can't wait to see a picture of you in it. I know what you mean about the neckline and your lace tank is a lovely solution. I am just now making this dress myself, after having had the pattern in my collection for a couple of years. I've got everything done but setting in the sleeves and finishing the hem and I can tell it's going to be a winner. As one of the prior reviewers mentioned, the skirt is so swirly. Great choice for the rehearsal dinner!
5/17/06 9:07 PM
Penny Carlson said...
You know what? This looks like a dress version of Christine Jonson's Princess Wrap Top, which is also very flattering.
5/17/06 9:13 PM
JenSews2 said...
I am itching to make this dress, but just don't know what fabric to use. It is calling to me :) . Yours looks great. I am also concerned about the low neckline...what would you do to raise it on the next one (other than add a cami?). Also...does the top just run big? you mentioned going down a size in the top?
5/17/06 10:08 PM
Lori V said...
First off, no, not tired of your reviews, they are wonderful. Your dress is beautiful, this is a gotta have dress. Thanks for the great review and can't wait to see your picture.
5/17/06 10:23 PM
brrmm said...
Your dress is really lovely!! I particularly like the drape of the fabric and the "swirly" skirt. Thanks for the review.
5/17/06 10:31 PM
jr said...
Debe, your dress looks great....very classy!
5/17/06 10:53 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thank you! Jen, To raise the neckline, next time I will draw the neckline on each side with a little less of a curve which will raise the V for me. I don't know that the top runs large - I think it may be that my fabric is heavy and it feels a little wide in the shoulders. I wear a 12 in patterns for wovens, but sometimes going down a size in the knits gives me a better fit in the shoulder area. Normally I would use a 14 from the waist down, but again, because of the knit, the 12 is a good fit for me there.
5/17/06 11:16 PM
drsue said...
Looks terrific. One day I must try this pattern.
5/17/06 11:36 PM
JDpenelope said...
Your slinky version of this pattern is great. Thanks for the tips; anxious to see photos of you in the dress, too.
5/18/06 1:44 AM
gaby said...
Fabulous! Love the cami underneath. This dress is on my to-do list.
5/18/06 3:27 AM
SewingSusan said...
Lovely choice of fabric and accessories. Great job!
5/18/06 7:53 AM
MarilynB said...
Your dress is elegant. I love the back view, too.
5/18/06 8:40 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful dress. I have this pattern waiting in the wings also. I hope you still have your MOB dress to review.
5/18/06 8:46 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Debe that dress is soooo beautiful! BTW congrats on your daughters wedding - I enjoyed the dress thread!
5/18/06 9:00 AM
umjudis said...
Just another comment to tell you I never tire of reviews on the same pattern. I think it's fun to see all the different interpretations of it. The dress is lovely. That lace cami really dressed it up. I have been thinking of making this for myself for a wedding in July. Thanks for the inspiration.
5/18/06 10:51 AM
Tailypo said...
I never get tired of reading reviews for this dress. As soon as I get over my fear of knits, this little number is going to be mine! Yours is elegant and beautiful.
5/18/06 11:12 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I think I am going to have to break down and buy this pattern! I can see it as a nice top as well and I have powerdry coming!
5/18/06 11:50 AM
Tiner W said...
I love this dress! I don't care how many times I see it made up. I just love it! Yours is great!
5/18/06 4:13 PM
Tini said...
this is awesome! Very inspiring....
5/18/06 4:15 PM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful ! !
5/18/06 4:30 PM
AnneM said...
Very pretty. I think I likve the back view even more than the front, with the nice draping.
5/18/06 4:33 PM
CarolynGM said...
Pretty and feminine. I love the lace peeking out.
5/18/06 7:11 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous dress Debe! This pattern has been on my wish list for ages-I think it's time to buy it!
5/18/06 7:36 PM
carolynw said...
That's so nice and elegant - will have to add this pattern to my stash!!
5/18/06 7:56 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad you are posting again. Lovely dress.
5/18/06 8:18 PM
Heatherrique said...
Yours looks great! The classic surplice/wrap knit dress!
6/30/06 10:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

StyleArc Holiday Hollie jacket

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now