SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2895 (Jean Style Jacket)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1079 times 
Reviewed by:Mair from CA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mair from CA
Member since: 11/1/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 5
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/06 6:33 PM
Last Updated:5/29/06 7:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mair from CA said... (5/30/06 9:49 PM) Reply
Thanks to all for the nice comments. Billie -- I think the best way to address the shoulder issue is to just cut the front and back yoke pieces along the M size lines at the shoulder, transitioning to an L going down toward the bottom of the yoke pieces, then add just a little depth to the sleeve cap to compensate, if necessary. The shoulder seams are about 1/2 inch too long on me, and this would directly address that. Shoulder pads might help, but I don't like shoulder pads in an unlined jacket, and I think you (I) would have to use pretty thick pads to make up this much extra shoulder length, which would throw off the style a bit Here's one idea: make the jacket body but carefully try it on and make your adjustments before you cut out and sew on the sleeves. Mary Beth
Levone said... (5/30/06 7:56 PM) Reply
Very nice jacket. I like the rounded hem.
slanden99 said... (5/30/06 12:12 PM) Reply
Nice jacket
BillieJean said... (5/30/06 7:59 AM) Reply
I have this pattern in my stash and am anxious to make it. Yours looks so good on you. Would light shoulder pads fix your larger than needed shoulders? Thanks for the review, especially the suggestion about the back facing. Billie
Lori V said... (5/30/06 0:08 AM) Reply
Nice looking jacket, I have made this KS pattern several times. I think it is a winner with all the details.
Mary Stiefer said... (5/29/06 10:29 PM) Reply
This is a great looking jacket.
Sherril Miller said... (5/29/06 9:05 PM) Reply
What a great looking jacket. I can't wait to see it in ultrasuede. I think the wide shoulders are a common complaint about KS patterns. I have to cut at a M even though I wear an x-large.
Sewliz said... (5/29/06 9:01 PM) Reply
I like those rounded edges. What a nice jacket you made! I plan to sew this pattern for fall. Thanks for the tips.
CatherineN said... (5/29/06 7:43 PM) Reply
A good looking jacket. Thanks for the collar advice.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-116A

photo
by: freya008

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Pattern Details