Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2895 (Jean Style Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1069 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Mair from CA
photo
Friend of PR
About Mair from CA
Member since: 11/1/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 5
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/06 6:33 PM
Last Updated:5/29/06 7:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
A good looking jacket. Thanks for the collar advice.
5/29/06 7:43 PM
Sewliz said...
I like those rounded edges. What a nice jacket you made! I plan to sew this pattern for fall. Thanks for the tips.
5/29/06 9:01 PM
Sherril Miller said...
What a great looking jacket. I can't wait to see it in ultrasuede. I think the wide shoulders are a common complaint about KS patterns. I have to cut at a M even though I wear an x-large.
5/29/06 9:05 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is a great looking jacket.
5/29/06 10:29 PM
Lori V said...
Nice looking jacket, I have made this KS pattern several times. I think it is a winner with all the details.
5/30/06 0:08 AM
BillieJean said...
I have this pattern in my stash and am anxious to make it. Yours looks so good on you. Would light shoulder pads fix your larger than needed shoulders? Thanks for the review, especially the suggestion about the back facing. Billie
5/30/06 7:59 AM
slanden99 said...
Nice jacket
5/30/06 12:12 PM
Levone said...
Very nice jacket. I like the rounded hem.
5/30/06 7:56 PM
Mair from CA said...
Thanks to all for the nice comments. Billie -- I think the best way to address the shoulder issue is to just cut the front and back yoke pieces along the M size lines at the shoulder, transitioning to an L going down toward the bottom of the yoke pieces, then add just a little depth to the sleeve cap to compensate, if necessary. The shoulder seams are about 1/2 inch too long on me, and this would directly address that. Shoulder pads might help, but I don't like shoulder pads in an unlined jacket, and I think you (I) would have to use pretty thick pads to make up this much extra shoulder length, which would throw off the style a bit Here's one idea: make the jacket body but carefully try it on and make your adjustments before you cut out and sew on the sleeves. Mary Beth
5/30/06 9:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Wild Ginger Curves 6 Gore Slip
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 5/31/04
Read Review

Butterick 5935 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 5935 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7202 Pattern
Burda 7202 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sewing Patterns 115
photo
Review by Gatorbunny on 2/27/14
Read Review

Salme Loose Fitting Pleated T-shirt Digital Pattern
Salme Loose Fitting Pleated T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light Black
PerfectFuse Light Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us