SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8339 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1489 times 
Reviewed by:regine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About reginestar
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/06 1:32 PM
Last Updated:6/12/06 1:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
regine said...
Hi Helen, If anything the pattern may be a bit small but not too big. If I would want to wear it closed it is tight but I never close the bottons. Thanks for your comment.
6/14/06 8:32 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Regine, I think you've done a beautiful job with this. To me though, the jacket looks a little big for you through the shoulders and even the sleeves. I wonder whether you really are a size 12 or maybe a combination 10/12???
6/14/06 3:34 AM
Annika said...
Great job! This is a lovely jacket. I also take my better projects to a tailor to have buttonholes put in...they have the proper equipment and the skills - my own buttonholes always look a little too funky to me. :)
6/13/06 9:35 AM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely Jacket, I like the pocket treatment, much better than patch pockets. The buttonholes are a great idea, wonder if there is a tailor in my city that would do buttonholes.
6/13/06 6:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice looking jacket.
6/13/06 5:11 AM
martinanne said...
It looks beautiful on you!
6/13/06 3:53 AM
Levone said...
Your jacket looks great!
6/12/06 9:02 PM
BSYMPLS said...
Very nice jacket. Congratulations!
6/1/06 7:02 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty.
5/31/06 11:18 AM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful jacket - would love to see it on you, when it's finished!
5/31/06 10:29 AM
regine said...
Thanks for your comments, fuzzygalore. I have noted your advice about the sleeve. The material is actually wool and I am hope that with good steaming the problem will be resolved. Other wise I have two choices, live with the bad sleeves or redo them!!!
5/31/06 7:47 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Very nice jacket, and the pockets look great. I totally agree with you that welt pockets are more business-like than patch... Next time, you might try making sure the undercollar is cut about 1/8" (2mm) smaller than the top collar in all directions except along the neck. It's easy to fit them together as you sew, and that alone ensures that you won't have any untoward rolling of the seam to the outside. You might like the understitching to make sure all the same, but things will lie flatter in general.

One thing I see though is that you had some trouble easing the seam into the armhole - you don't say what your fabric is, but I'd guess it's not 100% wool? That'd make easing harder from lack of elasticity. Next time, perhaps take a small horizontal tuck out of the sleeve cap to reduce its height? You can check the length of both side of that seam against each other to make sure you don't have too much extra in the sleeve. Most jacket patterns, especially Burda, assume wool and so will have more ease than you can cope with in other fabrics.
5/31/06 3:41 AM

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-104

photo
by: mollymolly

Review