SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4868 (Misses Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1524 times 
Reviewed by:lmalabed
photo

 
 
About lmalabed
Member since: 3/8/06
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/06 7:17 PM
Last Updated:6/13/07 12:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy said...
this is just darling..great job
6/4/06 9:17 PM
BeckyW said...
Sounds really cute, but I can't see your picture.
6/5/06 9:33 AM
wvsher said...
Great review -- photo doesn't show up for me either, though.
6/5/06 9:59 PM
jnamcd said...
I missed this review before. Sorry the dress didn't turn out as you had hoped, but from the picture, it looks really cute!
6/9/06 4:35 PM
lmalabed said...
I'm having trouble getting pictures to upload. I'll keep trying.
6/9/06 7:58 PM
Peggy L said...
Cute dress! Most of us have more trouble fitting that sewing. I can see your picture.
6/13/07 1:36 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Quickly. I just got done with a McCalls dress and felt the same way....The instrustions were lacking, they missed a step in the instructions and I had to do a modification because of the fit under the armpit. The pattern used elastic in a casing. Did not work. I ended up darting it and it turned out a lot nicer.
6/13/07 2:27 PM
Lori V said...
Cute dress, fitting is a tough one.
6/13/07 2:30 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Cute fabric combination and very helpful review. There are many of us that struggle so it helps to read a review like this so we know we aren't the only ones having problems. Despite it you made a fun dress!
6/13/07 3:25 PM
candyo said...
I have this one cut out and am putting off making it. I think with this style there's just so many opportunities for things to go wrong or not fit right. You may want to consider something with less detail to build your confidence until you feel comfortable in your abilities again.
6/14/07 9:13 PM
melgosews said...
Imalabed, congrats on getting sewing again! I have this pattern cut out from last summer (and now can't find it), but I had to take in my muslin a lot up top too! Make a duct tape dummie and most of your fitting issues will be much easier to deal with! Keep it up!
6/15/07 7:34 AM
Marji said...
I love the fabric combination you used. I too find that fitting a halter from a Big4 pattern is a real hassle. I don't think it's you, I think that they are not drafted well. Sorry the fit isn't what you'd hoped. The dress on the form is really cute.
6/15/07 12:31 PM
AnneM said...
Looks like you got good results. I didn't realized this had pockets; you can't tell from the pattern picture. Picking the correct size is often difficult. Compare the finished garment measurements (sometimes it's printed, sometimes you have to measure the pattern pieces yourself) to your measurements; the pattern should be slightly larger than you (for ease). That helps in starting out with the correct size. I also like to make a muslin - a quick mock-up of the garment in cheap fabric to see if it will work for me. Yours is so cute, I hope you are able to take it in a little & wear it.
6/16/07 4:40 PM
MadeByMeg said...
Hi! Some of us thought it would be fun to get all Bay Area sewists together and plan something fun. I created a meet-up for us to put some events together. If you're interested, join here: http://www.meetup.com/Bay-Area-Sewists/
1/11/12 7:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 3956

photo
by: Byrdie

Review
New Look 6123

photo
by: Sue Anfang

Review
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now