SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4868 (Misses Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1524 times 
Reviewed by:lmalabed
photo

 
 
About lmalabed
Member since: 3/8/06
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/06 7:17 PM
Last Updated:6/13/07 12:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MadeByMeg said...
Hi! Some of us thought it would be fun to get all Bay Area sewists together and plan something fun. I created a meet-up for us to put some events together. If you're interested, join here: http://www.meetup.com/Bay-Area-Sewists/
1/11/12 7:28 PM
AnneM said...
Looks like you got good results. I didn't realized this had pockets; you can't tell from the pattern picture. Picking the correct size is often difficult. Compare the finished garment measurements (sometimes it's printed, sometimes you have to measure the pattern pieces yourself) to your measurements; the pattern should be slightly larger than you (for ease). That helps in starting out with the correct size. I also like to make a muslin - a quick mock-up of the garment in cheap fabric to see if it will work for me. Yours is so cute, I hope you are able to take it in a little & wear it.
6/16/07 4:40 PM
Marji said...
I love the fabric combination you used. I too find that fitting a halter from a Big4 pattern is a real hassle. I don't think it's you, I think that they are not drafted well. Sorry the fit isn't what you'd hoped. The dress on the form is really cute.
6/15/07 12:31 PM
melgosews said...
Imalabed, congrats on getting sewing again! I have this pattern cut out from last summer (and now can't find it), but I had to take in my muslin a lot up top too! Make a duct tape dummie and most of your fitting issues will be much easier to deal with! Keep it up!
6/15/07 7:34 AM
candyo said...
I have this one cut out and am putting off making it. I think with this style there's just so many opportunities for things to go wrong or not fit right. You may want to consider something with less detail to build your confidence until you feel comfortable in your abilities again.
6/14/07 9:13 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Cute fabric combination and very helpful review. There are many of us that struggle so it helps to read a review like this so we know we aren't the only ones having problems. Despite it you made a fun dress!
6/13/07 3:25 PM
Lori V said...
Cute dress, fitting is a tough one.
6/13/07 2:30 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Quickly. I just got done with a McCalls dress and felt the same way....The instrustions were lacking, they missed a step in the instructions and I had to do a modification because of the fit under the armpit. The pattern used elastic in a casing. Did not work. I ended up darting it and it turned out a lot nicer.
6/13/07 2:27 PM
Peggy L said...
Cute dress! Most of us have more trouble fitting that sewing. I can see your picture.
6/13/07 1:36 PM
lmalabed said...
I'm having trouble getting pictures to upload. I'll keep trying.
6/9/06 7:58 PM
jnamcd said...
I missed this review before. Sorry the dress didn't turn out as you had hoped, but from the picture, it looks really cute!
6/9/06 4:35 PM
wvsher said...
Great review -- photo doesn't show up for me either, though.
6/5/06 9:59 PM
BeckyW said...
Sounds really cute, but I can't see your picture.
6/5/06 9:33 AM
Peggy said...
this is just darling..great job
6/4/06 9:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

No Pattern Used Kilt

photo
by: craigrama

Review
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8663

photo
by: lydianmode

Review