SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2006-110 (Empire Waist Dress)

Viewed 1285 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/06 2:12 AM
Last Updated:6/13/06 2:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Lovely photo and a gorgeous dress.
6/14/06 5:30 PM
dvazz said...
Beautiful! I hadn't thought to leave off the sleeves. I like it much better that way. Very classy and it looks great on you!
6/14/06 11:21 AM
Nancy K said...
Nice job and it is flattering on you. I shy away from empire waists because of a D cup, but you look very good in it.
6/14/06 9:30 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely summery dress. Looks good on you!
6/14/06 5:12 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice dresss - you are looking very summery. Here is Aus, it is verrry cold and our heater has gone on the blink :( Oh and the shoes - very nice match!
6/13/06 5:20 PM
Ann Smith said...
SewingRookie, I think fit is key in an empire waist line. The seam needs to be placed just right and the fullness below the seam needs to be very drapey. Without these right the effect is "maternal" to say the least. I'm sorry you had so much trouble. Turning the tubes can be very frustrating and depends somewhat on the fabric. Some fabrics just don't want to do it. Keep trying.
6/13/06 4:20 PM
SewingRookie said...

6/13/06 4:14 PM
SewingRookie said...
this dress was quick? not for me! it took me a gazillion years! i did both the dress and the shirt. keep in mind that this was the 5th and 6th (4th and 5th?) patterns i have ever done, so i thought i would never do them right. the dress i ruined because i cut the seam allowance too much. i could NOT turn the tie and loops out so instead, i folded it over after sewing and just did a lazy "designer stitch" over it so you could not tell it was not turned out (my fabric was the right side either way). i think you made a good decision not to make the sleeves puffy because it made me look larger in the shoulders and i am a very small person. the shirt turned out okay, but the main complaint is that it made me look 20 pounds heavier than i really am. i had to shorten it for a petite fit and ... i don't know... i think this is intended for taller people or something. i'm going to try to alter it when i am not so lazy to slim myself down. i would not sew this project again. i felt it was a lot of work for something that didn't fit completely right... but again, i am a novice that took on more than i could chew. btw, you look fabulous in this dress!
6/13/06 4:13 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Looks very pretty on you - esp with the lace up espadrilles.
6/13/06 1:14 PM
Diane E said...
Ann, what a pretty dress. You look lovely in it. I like your sleeveless version. Also, thanks for the heads-up on the too- wide shoulders.
6/13/06 12:01 PM
sewbehind said...
Ann, this dress looks very nice on you. Heads will turn! I must echo the comments on the garden. Beautiful!
6/13/06 10:49 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Girlfriend, you are fabulous. Love it!
6/13/06 10:43 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely dress, beautiful work!
6/13/06 10:07 AM
Sew Little Thyme said...
Very nice! I was going to make the top but now I might have to make the dress too! Love it love it!
6/13/06 9:44 AM
Hilary said...
Your dress is beautiful!! It's very flattering, and now I want this issue even more! Maybe I can make a respectable copy from something I already have...(but I really want this issue!) LOL. Thanks for the review!
6/13/06 9:18 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Ann, your dress turned out great! Very pretty, feminine. Love the colors on you!
6/13/06 9:05 AM
MaryBeth said...
Curving the side seams to match worked perfectly! This style looks so comfortable and pulled together for casual summer. Very nice results!
6/13/06 8:57 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks lovely.
6/13/06 8:53 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Gorgeous dress, Anne as always!
6/13/06 7:36 AM
Lisette said...
Beautiful dress, I love your garden.
6/13/06 7:17 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your changes really made this style work for you. Lovely dress!
6/13/06 7:16 AM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely Anne, like the matching shoes. Wish I could wear empireline clothes, but sadly they only emphisis my figure faults :-( Love your garden as well.
6/13/06 6:08 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Ann :)) I specially like the very extreme shot. Thanks for another great review.
6/13/06 3:49 AM
appleC said...
Woo, you look so lovely in that dress! Great fabric choice too! I have the same wide shoulder problem with Burda patterns.
6/13/06 2:47 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Very, very nice - I'm going to make this too - love the fabric - and you look great in the pictures !
6/13/06 2:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: wizechyld

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now