SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 9824 (Summer jacket)

Viewed 1350 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/06 4:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ConnieBJ said...
Thanks for the lovely review - I am planning on constructing my first Marfy - I was going to do a difficult one, perhaps I will start with a less complicated pattern to begin with. It is funny that a lot of us rarely look at instruction sheets, however the absence of one makes us pattern shy(well me anyhow!) Beautiful jacket!
6/10/06 4:34 PM
MaryBeth said...
That is so pretty, Debra. Whenever I see a pattern that has simple lines like this, I think: "Oh, easy to knock off, I don't need a pattern!" but then I rarely get around to doing my intended knockoffs. Love to read about Marfy patterns, though, and glad you didn't behave like me!
6/10/06 4:35 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Debra :)))
6/10/06 5:26 PM
BjP said...
Lovely jacket! This just may make me break down and try a Marfy. I really like the double ties you used.
6/10/06 5:29 PM
Liana said...
Very cute, Debra! I love your fabric, too. This does look like a "repeater".
6/10/06 5:40 PM
bunz said...
Really pretty, Debra - and great review as always!
6/10/06 5:42 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
What a beautiful fabric you chose for this design. It's so pretty and light that it reminds me of butterfly wings. Nice job.
6/10/06 6:59 PM
SarahWeb said...
Hi Debra. I always admire your work. I am excited to see this review especially because I bought this fabric too, but then felt unsure what to do with it and how to treat it. Your review will help me with choosing a pattern (I love how this one came out) and also with working with this beautiful lace fabric. I also love the orange top you paired it with.
6/10/06 7:06 PM
drsue said...
OOOOOOHHH, so nice!
6/10/06 7:34 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice!
6/10/06 7:37 PM
Ingiepops said...
Thanks for another Marfy review, I love reading your reviews and as others have said you encourage me to buy them myself and give one a go!
6/10/06 10:41 PM
carolynw said...
Great review and your jacket looks so pretty and just right for summer. Have not sewn any Marfy patterns yet but this may be the one to get me started since I like simple designs.
6/10/06 11:00 PM
redsquid said...
Simple cut but very elegant garment! You are definitely increasing my interest in Marfy patterns....
6/11/06 0:05 AM
patsijean said...
I like this little jacket very much. It increases my interest in Marfy patterns.
6/11/06 0:18 AM
lornakismet said...
I added this to my Pattern Page, but I notice that you wrote that it has few instructions. Would you say that I as a beginner should wait a while before I try it? I like this kind of floaty garment. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/11/06 3:31 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. I have ordered a Marfy pattern but has yet to arrive. All information shared about Marfy patterns is very helpful. Love your fabric.
6/11/06 7:33 AM
CarolynGM said...
Lovely lines and fabric. A perfect light summer jacket.
6/11/06 7:52 AM
Debra H said...
To answer a question in the comments, Marfys do not have ANY written instructions...period. There are a few tips on the pre-cut pattern pieces, but English translations are quirky. For example, "stuffing along a shoulder seam means that's where a shoulder pad goes and "loose" along sleeve caps means you must ease in with gathering stitches. The pattern pieces come pre-cut with no seam allowances in one size only. But, all this aside, this would be a pretty easy pattern to do for even some beginners as long as you had a more experienced friend to help you do the pattern tracing the first time. Then, I would also do a quick test garment of the front/back pieces to see how Marfys fit on you. The good news is that once you have fit Marfy the first time, you usually apply the same revisions to other Marfys.
6/11/06 8:59 AM
slanden99 said...
The jacket looks great. I love the fabric too-perfect for this syle.
6/11/06 9:47 AM
cmarie12 said...
As usual a great job, a great review and an excellent choice of fabric!
6/11/06 10:11 AM
Nancy K said...
Great jacket, great review. I would never have thought to put that fabric with that jacket and it really works. Brava! Your added comment about the patterns being uniform in sloper is very helpfull I always find that BWOF works this way for me, but that the Hot Patterns are really quirky in their fit and for busy women, as we all are, that is just a hastle and just not worth the added effort. I keep loving what you make from Marfy and I am tempted to try one. Thanks again for a very informative review. You also make very similar adjustments to mine and that is extremely helpful.
6/11/06 11:02 AM
Re Becca said...
OH so Cute! Did you put bias trim around the front edge? It almost looks like it in the picture. This looks really comfortable. I have also found Marfy patterns to be very consistent. What you alter for one, you usually do for allof them. This saves me from always doing muslins.
6/11/06 11:43 AM
Debra H said...
I did not use bias trim along the front edge or any of the edges. I just serged and rolled under 2 times and topstitched.
6/11/06 9:32 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Gorgeous Debra. It's always a treat to see what you've made.
6/12/06 9:00 AM
Klutzy said...
Debra, thanks for letting me know about this pattern. If I ever try to sew w/o instructions it's nice to know it might come out as gorgeous as this! I could not respond to you privately because I must be a member for a week to do so. I am very frustrated with that rule and would love to know WHY someone thought it was a great idea to make newbies wait a week to ask questions!!!
10/15/06 2:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Burda 8157

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review