SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Elizabeth Lee Sunrise Designs> 302 (Nursing Classics (girl top))

Viewed 1187 times 
Reviewed by:JenSews2
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JenSews2star
CA USA
Member since: 2/21/04
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/06 7:23 PM
Last Updated:6/13/06 7:23 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
leeny said...
Jen, what a great idea to use this as a tee-shirt pattern. Much faster and easier than a traditional pattern, with just the two pieces. I have made view 2, the women's nursing version in rayon a few times, and a cotton knit one time. In the rayon, the drape is *terrific*. Had lots of compliments on it, even from strangers (one lady in Costco actually ran up to me gushing to ask me about it--nice, but a little wierd). Means so much in those post-partum weeks, to feel somewhat attractive (I gain a lot of weight during my pregnancies, usually 40-45 pounds). The ties allow me to keep wearing them even after losing lots of weight (yes, with my last two I've lost all my pregnancy weight plus 10 pounds more--don't hate me--nursing at least one year per baby, exercise and an intolerance in my babies of my eating wheat, sugar and dairy [aka most desserts and breads:(] make it possible). The knit one is a bit stiffer, less drapey, no compliments on that one that I recall, except maybe when my mom and daughters wore their matching dresses together with me. A very light or slinky knit might drape better. I have worn them thru month four of my two pregnancies since making them by adjusting the tie in the back. The rayon ones, which I made almost four years ago, are fading and showing wear, since I have worn them more than anything I own since sewing them, nursing or not! I have view 1 (no nursing openings) cut in a matte jersey right now, with enough (I hope) extra width in the bodice so I can wear it to term with my current pregnancy. Just need to get the right presser foot to sew on the matte jersey & it should be done soon. This is probably my all-time favorite pattern. Also made my mom view 1, and two of my daughters view 4. Very easy to sew!
12/29/06 6:20 PM
wvsher said...
Very pretty and well constructed. Love the color, too.
6/14/06 10:45 AM
JenSews2 said...
Lorna, this ran large like the other E. Lee patterns (at least in the women's size). It is a pullover dress. The pattern does say a rayon would work. It needs to flow so it hugs your curves otherwise it looks like a tent. When I made my version for the wedding it was a silky woven. It went over my head and it looked "ok", but it didn't have enough give to pull aside for nursing. I was making this right AFTER the baby was born and the wedding was when the baby was 1 month old. Needless to say, my adjustments weren't all thought out that well due to lack of sleep. It may have worked if I lowered the nursing openings.
6/14/06 10:26 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Hey, I have this one but had not sewn it up ... THis looks like a nice summer dress ensemble. Did this one run true to size or was it large like the other EL patterns? Do you think the dress would work in a woven if not made for nursing?
6/14/06 8:32 AM
JenSews2 said...
Lorna, I just checked and the photo came up for me. I checked on another computer too and made sure I wasn't logged into my yahoo account. Please try again!
6/14/06 2:09 AM
lornakismet said...
Jen, when I clicked onto the camera icon a blue question mark came up -- but no garment. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/14/06 1:26 AM
mon-petite said...
very cute!!
6/13/06 7:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1332

photo
by: miausiau

Review
McCall's 6550

photo
by: PAMomof3

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

More Info
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

More Info