SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Elizabeth Lee Sunrise Designs> 302 (Nursing Classics (girl top))

Viewed 1185 times 
Reviewed by:JenSews2
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JenSews2star
CA USA
Member since: 2/21/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/06 7:23 PM
Last Updated:6/13/06 7:23 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mon-petite said...
very cute!!
6/13/06 7:36 PM
lornakismet said...
Jen, when I clicked onto the camera icon a blue question mark came up -- but no garment. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/14/06 1:26 AM
JenSews2 said...
Lorna, I just checked and the photo came up for me. I checked on another computer too and made sure I wasn't logged into my yahoo account. Please try again!
6/14/06 2:09 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Hey, I have this one but had not sewn it up ... THis looks like a nice summer dress ensemble. Did this one run true to size or was it large like the other EL patterns? Do you think the dress would work in a woven if not made for nursing?
6/14/06 8:32 AM
JenSews2 said...
Lorna, this ran large like the other E. Lee patterns (at least in the women's size). It is a pullover dress. The pattern does say a rayon would work. It needs to flow so it hugs your curves otherwise it looks like a tent. When I made my version for the wedding it was a silky woven. It went over my head and it looked "ok", but it didn't have enough give to pull aside for nursing. I was making this right AFTER the baby was born and the wedding was when the baby was 1 month old. Needless to say, my adjustments weren't all thought out that well due to lack of sleep. It may have worked if I lowered the nursing openings.
6/14/06 10:26 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty and well constructed. Love the color, too.
6/14/06 10:45 AM
leeny said...
Jen, what a great idea to use this as a tee-shirt pattern. Much faster and easier than a traditional pattern, with just the two pieces. I have made view 2, the women's nursing version in rayon a few times, and a cotton knit one time. In the rayon, the drape is *terrific*. Had lots of compliments on it, even from strangers (one lady in Costco actually ran up to me gushing to ask me about it--nice, but a little wierd). Means so much in those post-partum weeks, to feel somewhat attractive (I gain a lot of weight during my pregnancies, usually 40-45 pounds). The ties allow me to keep wearing them even after losing lots of weight (yes, with my last two I've lost all my pregnancy weight plus 10 pounds more--don't hate me--nursing at least one year per baby, exercise and an intolerance in my babies of my eating wheat, sugar and dairy [aka most desserts and breads:(] make it possible). The knit one is a bit stiffer, less drapey, no compliments on that one that I recall, except maybe when my mom and daughters wore their matching dresses together with me. A very light or slinky knit might drape better. I have worn them thru month four of my two pregnancies since making them by adjusting the tie in the back. The rayon ones, which I made almost four years ago, are fading and showing wear, since I have worn them more than anything I own since sewing them, nursing or not! I have view 1 (no nursing openings) cut in a matte jersey right now, with enough (I hope) extra width in the bodice so I can wear it to term with my current pregnancy. Just need to get the right presser foot to sew on the matte jersey & it should be done soon. This is probably my all-time favorite pattern. Also made my mom view 1, and two of my daughters view 4. Very easy to sew!
12/29/06 6:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Kwik Sew 3779

photo
by: dixiediy

Review
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now